Books released in this month

?

Randall Kenan

If I Had Two Wings: Stories

Hardcover (Aug. 4, 2020)

Mingling the earthy with the otherworldly, these ten stories chronicle ineffable events in ordinary lives.

When Randall Kenan’s first collection was published, the New York Times called it “nothing short of a wonder-book.” Now, with inventiveness seasoned by maturity and shot through with humor, Kenan riffs on appetites of all kinds, on the eerie persistence of history, on unstoppable losses and unexpected salvations.

In Kenan’s fictional territory of Tims Creek, North Carolina, an old man rages in his nursing home, …

More
M*
Age
3-7
Grade
PK-2

Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain

Grandparents are Great!

Hardcover (Aug. 4, 2020)
Show Grandma and Grandpa some love with this Berenstain Bears book that includes two heartwarming stories!Brother and Sister Bear love to spend time with Gramps and Gran! Children ages three to seven will adore this hardcover Berenstain Bears book, which features two humorous stories and a unique die-cut cover! It's perfect for lap reading when Grandma or Grandpa come to visit!Week at Grandma'sBrother and Sister enjoy a fun-filled week with Gran and Gramps.Homework HassleBrother Bear seeks advice from Gramps and … More
?

Matthew Reilly

The Secret Runners

Hardcover (Aug. 18, 2020)
You can't buy your way out of the end of the world in this edge-of-your-seat adventure from an internationally bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Marie Lu, Rick Yancey, and Justina Ireland!Rich vs. Poor. Life vs. Death.When Skye Rogers and her twin brother, Red, move to Manhattan, rumors of a coming global apocalypse are building. But the ultra-wealthy young elites at their prestigious school keep partying like there's no tomorrow--while the city around them starts to fall apart.Then Skye and … More
?

Shana Silver

The Con Code

Hardcover (Aug. 25, 2020)

A teen forger and thief forms a criminal crew from her high school friends (and crush) to perform a series of heists leading to the location of her missing mother in this action-packed contemporary YA novel. By day, seventeen-year-old Fiona Spangler runs small cons for her ritzy prep-school classmates: getting them out of tests and forging fake hall passes. But by night, Fiona joins her dad on riskier heists: stealing back the clue-filled forgeries her mom scattered across the country …

More
W*
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Michelle Harrison

A Pinch of Magic

Hardcover (Aug. 4, 2020)
A spellbinding middle grade fantasy about three sisters—adventurous Betty, curious Charlie, and proper Fliss—who go on a quest to break the curse that’s haunted their family for generations. All Betty Widdershins wants is an adventure—one that takes her far away from Crowstone, the gloomy island where she’s always lived. But instead of an adventure, Betty and her sisters, Fliss and Charlie, are given of a set of magical objects, each with its own powers: a scruffy carpet bag, a set … More
W*
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Pam Pollack, Meg Belviso, Who HQ, Jake Murray

Who Was Celia Cruz?

Paperback (Aug. 4, 2020)
How did a working-class girl from Cuba become a symbol of artistic freedom for Cuban Americans and the "Queen of Salsa"? Find out in this addition to the Who HQ library!Although her family and friends know her as Úrsula Hilaria Celia de la Caridad Cruz Alfonso, the world refers to her simply as Celia Cruz. Starting her career in 1950, Celia grew increasingly popular as the new lead singer of the Cuban band Sonora Matancera. Her exceptional vocal range and … More
G*
Age
5-7
Grade
K-2

Ladybird

Underwater Forests - BBC Earth Do You Know...? Level 3

Paperback (Aug. 1, 2020) , None edition
These BBC Earth titles focus on the core subject of biology, with themes mapped to the Cambridge Primary Science curriculum framework, and are illustrated with stills from the iconic BBC Earth TV series. These readers are a fun supplementary resource for teachers and parents to use in the classroom or at home, with questions, facts, and additional activities to encourage exploration and curiosity. The Ladybird Do You Know? graded readers series comprises a range of nonfiction STEM titles for young … More
?

Phil Robertson

The Theft of America’s Soul: Blowing the Lid Off the Lies That Are Destroying Our Country

Paperback (Aug. 4, 2020)

It’s time to take back what the devil has stolen and put God back into our culture. The Theft of America’s Soul is a prophetic wake-up call for all who desire to see our nation thrive, challenging readers to exchange these ten lies for truths that will bring peace of mind, harmony, and prosperity back to our country—an invitation to experience the life-giving, peace-filling, wholly-transforming love of God.

Phil Robertson, patriarch of A&E’s Duck Dynasty and one of the most …

More
?

Suleika Jaouad

Between Two Kingdoms: A Memoir of a Life Interrupted

Hardcover (Aug. 18, 2020)
A searing, deeply moving memoir of illness and recovery that traces one young woman’s journey from diagnosis to remission and, ultimately, a road trip of healing and self-discovery.In the summer after graduating from college, Suleika Jaouad was preparing, as they say in commencement speeches, to enter “the real world.” She had fallen in love and moved to Paris to pursue her dream of becoming a war correspondent. The real world she found, however, would take her into a very different … More
J*
Age
3-8
Grade
PK-3

Robert Munsch, Michael Martchenko

Seeing Red

Paperback (Aug. 4, 2020)

What is the secret behind Arie's red hair?

Alex is dying to know why Arie's hair is so red. So he asks him if there if there is a secret to it all, or better yet, something he can do to turn his own black hair red?

Soon he's following Arie's good advice and consuming daily doses of tomatoes and ketchup. But when he finds himself drinking hot sauce to, you know, set the colour, Alex starts to suspect that …

More
?

Vicky Skinner

All Our Worst Ideas

Hardcover (Aug. 11, 2020)

When Amy, on her way to becoming valedictorian of her graduating class and getting accepted to her dream school, gets dumped by her long-term boyfriend, she takes a job at a record store to ease the pain. She needs a distraction, badly.

Oliver, Amy’s record store co-worker, isn’t so sure about Amy―his complete opposite―but what he is sure of is his decision not to go to college. He just can’t figure out how to tell his mother.

As they work …

More
?

Patricia Forde

The Last Lie

Hardcover (Aug. 1, 2020)
"Originally published as Mother Tongue in 2019 in Ireland by Little Island Books." More
Find More in Readling App

Find

Scan bar-codes and find more about a book

Browse

Browse and discover "just right" books

Log

Log and track reading progress (app only)

Know

Know reading performance (app only)