Browse all books

Books released in last month

  • Ebonwilde

    Crystal Smith

    language (HMH Books for Young Readers, June 1, 2021)
    Get ready to be swept away, seduced, and swindled in the wickedly vicious third and final installment in the Bloodleaf series that Laura Sebastian called “enchanting, visceral, and twisty.” Welcome to Ebonwilde. Come and find me. Aurelia’s last words haunted Zan. Left with the task of finding and reviving Princess Aurelia, Zan sets off on his own adventure to find her and return the gift she sacrificed for him—her life. But not all is what it seems, and Ebonwilde is more dangerous than anyone can predict.
  • The Alicorn Court: A Fae Academy Shifter Paranormal Romance

    Megan Linski, Hidden Legends

    language (, June 19, 2021)
    Soulmates battle against darkness.EmmaThere was a time I thought love would last forever, but that love has turned to shadow.My friends and I are in a race against time to save the fae from a future of destruction. If we’re to survive, we must unite the six Crystals of Harmony. It’s rumored the next stone is hidden deep within the Alicorn Court-- a secret fae society that’s more myth than reality.Transfixed by strange visions, Odette may know the location of the Alicorn Court. But if the court deems us unworthy, our mission to find them could be our last.EthanA darkness has devoured me, making my very existence a fight for my soul. Black magic is warring against the man I used to be. If I’m going to stop the demons in my head, I need Emma at my side. Otherwise, I’m doomed to a hell I won’t escape.But my actions have pushed her love aside. There’s only one way to mend things between me and my true mate. If it doesn’t work, I’ll be doomed to live as a beast forever. ***Arcanea University is thrown into chaos in the third book of the Unversity of Sorcery series. This faerie tale of fantasy, magic, and paranormal romance will leave shifters and sorceresses shocked by the ending! This is a full-length novel over 400 pages. Recommended reading age 16+.Pre-order today to experience this deadly and delicious fantasy academy series!
  • Time for School, Little Blue Truck

    Alice Schertle, Jill McElmurry

    eBook (HMH Books for Young Readers, June 29, 2021)
    Ride along to school with the #1 New York Times bestselling Little Blue Truck and meet Blue's new friend: a bright, yellow school bus. Beep-beep!
  • A War of Swallowed Stars

    Sangu Mandanna

    eBook (Sky Pony, June 1, 2021)
    “A rare gem of a sequel . . . Each page drips with action and moral complexities.” —Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire, on A House of Rage & Sorrow A prince without his kingdom. A kingdom without its princess. The destruction of the stars themselves. War is destroying the galaxy. Esmae has vanished without a trace. A terrifying, ravenous beast is devouring the stars one by one. Titania is offered a gift that may well be a curse. Alexi, the exiled prince, is asked to pay a heavy price for his mistakes. And far, far away, on a dark, mysterious planet, a sleeping god stirs awake. War or family. Pride or peace. As the end of the world draws ever closer, Esmae and Alexi must decide how far they’ll go to win—and who they’ll sacrifice along the way. Celebrated author Sangu Mandanna promises a gripping conclusion to the Celestial Trilogy in A War of Swallowed Stars.
  • Orpheus Girl

    Brynne Rebele-Henry

    Paperback (Soho Teen, June 1, 2021)
    In her debut novel, award-winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the Orpheus myth as a love story between two teenage girls who are sent to conversion therapy after being caught together in an intimate moment.Abandoned by a single mother she never knew, 16-year-old Raya—obsessed with ancient myths—lives with her grandmother in a small conservative Texas town. For years Raya has fought to hide her feelings for her best friend and true love, Sarah. When the two are outed, they are sent to Friendly Saviors: a re-education camp meant to “fix” them and make them heterosexual. Upon arrival, Raya vows to assume the role of Orpheus, to return to the world of the living with her love—and after she, Sarah, and the other teen residents are subjected to abusive and brutal “treatments” by the staff, Raya only becomes more determined to escape. In a haunting voice reminiscent of Sylvia Plath and the contemporary lyricism of David Levithan, Brynne Rebele-Henry weaves a powerful inversion of the Orpheus myth informed by the disturbing real-world truths of conversion therapy. Orpheus Girl is a story of dysfunctional families, trauma, first love, heartbreak, and ultimately, the fierce adolescent resilience that has the power to triumph over darkness and ignorance.CW: There are scenes in this book that depict self-harm, homophobia, transphobia, and violence against LGBTQ characters.
  • Harry Versus the First 100 Days of School

    Emily Jenkins, Pete Oswald

    Hardcover (Anne Schwartz Books, June 29, 2021)
    An acclaimed author and a #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator team up to bring us a funny, warm, and utterly winning chapter book that follows, day by day, the first hundred days in one first grader's classroom.In just one hundred days, Harry will learn how to overcome first-day jitters, what a "family circle" is, why guinea pigs aren't scary after all, what a silent "e" is about, how to count to 100 in tons of different ways, and much more. He'll make great friends, celebrate lots of holidays, and learn how to use his words. In other words, he will become an expert first grader.Made up of one hundred short chapters and accompanied by tons of energetic illustrations from bestselling illustrator of The Good Egg and The Bad Seed, this is a chapter book all first graders will relate to--one that captures all the joys and sorrows of the first hundred days of school.
    L
  • Acid for the Children: A Memoir

    Flea, Patti Smith

    Paperback (Grand Central Publishing, June 1, 2021)
    New York Times BestsellerA #1 LA Times BestsellerA USA Today BestsellerOne of NPR's "Favorite Books of 2019"With "virtuosic vulnerability" (The Atlantic), the iconic bassist and Red Hot Chili peppers co-founder pens a love letter to a youth spent wild in Los Angeles in his raw and riveting coming-of-age memoir, now in paperback.In Acid for the Children, Flea takes readers on a deeply personal and revealing tour of his formative years, spanning from Australia to the New York City suburbs to, finally, Los Angeles. Through hilarious anecdotes, poetical meditations, and occasional flights of fantasy, Flea deftly chronicles the experiences that forged him as an artist, a musician, and a young man. His dreamy, jazz-inflected prose makes the Los Angeles of the 1970s and 80s come to gritty, glorious life, including the potential for fun, danger, mayhem, or inspiration that lurked around every corner. It is here that young Flea, looking to escape a turbulent home, found family in a community of musicians, artists, and junkies who also lived on the fringe. He spent most of his time partying and committing petty crimes. But it was in music where he found a higher meaning, a place to channel his frustration, loneliness, and love. This left him open to the life-changing moment when he and his best friends, soul brothers, and partners-in-mischief came up with the idea to start their own band, which became the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Acid for the Children is the debut of a stunning new literary voice, whose prose is as witty, entertaining, and wildly unpredictable as the author himself. It's a tenderly evocative coming-of-age story and a raucous love letter to the power of music and creativity from one of the most renowned musicians of our time.
  • Fire with Fire

    Destiny Soria

    eBook (HMH Books for Young Readers, June 8, 2021)
    Raised to be fierce dragon slayers, two sisters end up on opposite sides of the impending war when one sister forms an unlikely, magical bond with a dragon in this standalone YA contemporary fantasy that's perfect for fans of Slayer and Sorcery of Thorns.
  • Reconnected

    Catherine Tinker

    eBook (Swoon Reads, June 1, 2021)
    Anne Ellison and Freddie Whitlock were best friends all through middle school, even though they never met in person. But when Anne did something unforgivable to Freddie, their friendship quickly fell apart.Four years later, Freddie comes to Anne’s town for the summer before she starts college. He’s training to be an Olympic gymnast. Anne knows that Freddie is the boy from her past—but Freddie has no idea. As Anne and Freddie start to spend more time together, Anne can’t help but fall for Freddie.Can Anne find a way her way into Freddie’s heart—while keeping her identity secret? Or will the lies she’s telling tear their relationship apart?
  • How to Wear a Sari

    Darshana Khiani, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

    eBook (Versify, June 22, 2021)
    Sparkling with voice and charm, this picture book about a fashionable kid out to prove she's not as small as everyone thinks is perfect for kids eager to grow up, and those who love to play dress-up.
  • All of Me

    Chris Baron

    Paperback (Square Fish, June 15, 2021)
    "Beautifully written, brilliant, and necessary," (Matt de la Pena, Newbery Medalist), here is a body-positive book about how a boy deals with fat-shaming. Ari has body-image issues. After a move across the country, his parents work selling and promoting his mother's paintings and sculptures. Ari's bohemian mother needs space to create, and his father is gone for long stretches of time on "sales" trips. Meanwhile, Ari makes new friends: Pick, the gamer; the artsy Jorge, and the troubled Lisa. He is also relentlessly bullied because he's overweight, but he can't tell his parents―they're simply not around enough to listen.After an upsetting incident, Ari's mom suggests he go on a diet, and she gives him a book to help. But the book―and the diet―can’t fix everything. As Ari faces the demise of his parents' marriage, he also feels himself changing, both emotionally and physically. Here is a much-needed story about accepting the imperfect in oneself and in life.
  • The Brave

    James Bird

    Paperback (Square Fish, June 1, 2021)
    Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, James Bird's middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.Collin can't help himself―he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition. Collin’s quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, a girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly. With Orenda’s help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.