Books released in this month

?

Timothy A. Cotton

The Detective in the Dooryard: Reflections of a Maine Cop

Hardcover (July 1, 2020)

Tim Cotton has been a police officer for more than thirty-years. The writer in him has always been drawn to the stories of the people he has met along the way. Dealing with the standard issue ne’er-do-wells as a patrol officer, homicide detective, polygraph examiner, and later as the lieutenant in charge of the criminal investigation division certainly provides an interesting backdrop—but more often he writes about the regular folks he encounters, people who need his help, or those who …

More
M*
Age
5-7
Grade
K-2

Rebecca Elliott

Bo the Brave: A Branches Book

Paperback (July 21, 2020)
Bo and the unicorns of Sparklegrove Forest find ways to be brave, in this magical series from the creator of the bestselling Owl Diaries series!Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow!Bo and the other unicorns of Sparklegrove Forest want to earn … More
Z*

James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts

1st Case

Hardcover (July 27, 2020)
A computer genius pulls off her greatest hack yet -- and her skill might just get her killed. Angela Hoot's government career begins with an ending. Her unorthodox programming skills get her kicked out of MIT's graduate school and into the Bureau's cyber-forensics unit. A messaging app with sophisticated tracking capabilities surfaces. Its beta users, all young women, are only identified as they turn up dead in their bedrooms. As Angela races to crack the killer's digital code, their technical … More
P*
Age
7-10
Grade
2-5

Aaron Blabey

The Bad Guys in the Dawn of the Underlord

Paperback (July 7, 2020)
"I wish I'd had these books as a kid. Hilarious!" -- Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants and Dog ManThey may look like Bad Guys, but these wannabe heroes are doing good deeds... whether you like it or not! This New York Times bestselling illustrated series is perfect for fans of Dog Man and Captain UnderpantsThe Bad Guys - sorry, Shadow Squad-G - have finally saved the world from butt-handed evil. And now it's time to celebrate! But when one … More
?

Spencer Quinn

Of Mutts and Men

Hardcover (July 7, 2020)

Spencer Quinn's Of Mutts and Men is the latest in the New York Times and USA Today bestselling series that the Los Angeles Times called “nothing short of masterful"…

When Chet the dog, “the most lovable narrator in all of crime fiction” (Boston Globe), and his partner, PI Bernie Little of the desert-based Little Detective Agency, arrive to a meeting with hydrologist Wendell Nero, they are in for a shocking sight―Wendell has come to a violent and mysterious end. What …

More
X*
Age
12+
Grade
7-12

Scott Cawthon, Andrea Waggener, Elley Cooper, Kelly Parra

Five Nights at Freddy’s: Fazbear Frights #4

Paperback (July 7, 2020)
Five Nights at Freddy's fans won't want to miss this pulse-pounding collection of three novella-length tales that will keep even the bravest FNAF player up at night...From twisted toys to gut-wrenching games, this collection of terrifying tales is unsettling enough to mess with even the most hardened Five Nights at Freddy's fans. In this volume, horror master Scott Cawthon spins three sinister novella-length stories from different corners of FNAF's canon. Each story comes complete with accompanying artwork from a fan-favorite … More
Z*
Age
12+
Grade
7+

Serena Valentino

Evil Thing

Hardcover (July 7, 2020)

Cruella De Vil is the perfect villain: stylish, witty, relentless...and possibly cursed.

From her lonely childhood, to her iconic fashion choices, to that fateful car crash (you know the one), Cruella tells all in this marvelous memoir of a woman doomed. Even the cruelest villains have best friends, true loves, and daring dreams. Now it's Cruella's turn to share hers.

This latest novel by the author of the wildly popular and darkly fascinating Villains series brings readers a …

More
L*
Age
6-8
Grade
1-3

Kyla May

Paws for a Cause: A Branches Book

Paperback (July 7, 2020)
The third book in a sweet and funny Branches series about a pug and his human, told from the pug's POV!Pick a book. Grow a reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow!When the local animal shelter can't afford new toys, it's up to Bub and his … More
?

John Byrne

Superman: The Man of Steel Vol. 1

Hardcover (July 28, 2020)
Superman is reinvented from the ground up in this omnibus collection of stories that defined the Man of Steel for decades!Following the events of Crisis on Infinite Earths, comic book superstar John Byrne reimagined Superman for a brand-new era--in bold tales collected here in omnibus format! Starting with the six-issue Man of Steel miniseries, Byrne fundamentally changed Superman's origins and propelled him into the present, including iconic encounters with Lex Luthor, Metallo, Darkseid--and The Joker! Collects Action Comics #584-593, Action … More
O*
Age
7-10
Grade
2-5

Ann M. Martin, Katy Farina

Karen's Roller Skates

Paperback (July 7, 2020) , Adapted, Full-Color edition
Another graphic novel in this fresh and fun series spin-off of The Baby-sitters Club, featuring Kristy's little stepsister!It's going to be a great weekend! Karen has new roller skates and is a very good skater. She's looking forward to trying some new tricks. But, oh no! Karen falls down and has to go to the hospital. Her wrist is broken!Karen is determined to get everyone she knows -- plus someone famous -- to sign her cast. It isn't going to … More
Z*
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

K. R. Alexander

Bury Me

Paperback (July 7, 2020)
You can't keep a dead doll down in this creepy new novel from the author of The Collector.Some dolls never die.No one ever leaves Copper Hollow. It's a town with a deadly history . . . but nobody ever talks about it.Kimberly thinks there might be something strange going on. She's not sure what - until the menacing doll appears with two words written across its clothes:BURY MEKimberly and her friends try to destroy the doll . . . but … More
?

Aneko Yusagi

The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 17

Paperback (July 14, 2020)
A return to Kizuna’s world! Now the party must face a horde of traitors?!At a request for aid from Ethnobalt, Naofumi heads back to Kizuna’s world. There he is safely reunited with Raphtalia, as well as other friends including L'Arc. They tell him that enemies, presumably a vanguard for the waves, have defeated the Heroes in this world and completely taken over. Naofumi and his party hurry to confront these foes, both to rescue the captured Kizuna and finally discover … More
Find More in Readling App

Find

Scan bar-codes and find more about a book

Browse

Browse and discover "just right" books

Log

Log and track reading progress (app only)

Know

Know reading performance (app only)