Browse all books

Books released in this month

  • A Squirrelly Situation: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet

    Jacqueline Kelly

    Paperback (Square Fish, Sept. 1, 2021)
    Featuring the charming characters from Newbery Honor Book award-winning author Jacqueline Kelly's young readers' series, A Squirrelly Situation: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet When Travis finds an abandoned baby squirrel, he brings him home and names him Fluffy. But Mother isn’t so sure that Fluffy is such a great family pet―and neither is Thud, the cat. Will Fluffy be able to steer clear of these two and find a home in the Tate household?
    O
  • Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw

    Gina Loveless, Andrea Bell

    Paperback (Andrews McMeel Publishing, Sept. 7, 2021)
    Robin Loxley, the 5th grade outlaw of Nottingham Elementary, tells all! From Epic! Originals comes a comic-inspired illustrated novel series that treats growing up as an adventure.Fifth grade has just started, and the school bully, Nadia, already rules recess with an unfair Playground Tax. Robin refuses to be pushed around, but all she can think about is winning back her best friend, Mary Ann, after a disastrous fallout over the summer. To do so, she will have to stand up to Nadia, face the wrath of Assistant Principal Johnson, and become a legendary outlaw at Nottingham Elementary—all while forming a merry band of new friends along the way.
    Q
  • More Deadly Than War: The Hidden History of the Spanish Flu and the First World War

    Kenneth C. Davis

    Paperback (Square Fish, Sept. 1, 2021)
    A Washington Post Best Children’s Book of the Month, More Deadly Than War from New York Times bestselling author Kenneth C. Davis explores the hidden history of the Spanish influenza pandemic during World War I.2018 marked the 100th anniversary of the worst disease outbreak in modern times: the Spanish flu, a story even more relevant today. This dramatic narrative, told through the stories and voices of the people caught in the deadly maelstrom, explores how this vast, global epidemic was intertwined with the horrors of World War I―and how it could happen again. Complete with photographs, period documents, modern research, and firsthand reports by medical professionals and survivors, More Deadly Than War provides captivating insight into a catastrophe that transformed America in the early twentieth century.A Junior Library Guild Selection!“An important history―and an important reminder that we could very well face such a threat again.”―Deborah Blum, New York Times bestselling author of The Poison Guide: One Chemist’s Single-Minded Crusade for Food Safety at the Turn of the Twentieth Century “In an age of Ebola and Zika, this vivid account is a cautionary tale that will have you rushing to wash your hands for protection.”―Karen Blumenthal, award-winning author of Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights
    Y
  • Young Captain Nemo

    Jason Henderson

    Paperback (Square Fish, Sept. 1, 2021)
    Armed with his wits, his friends, and his Nemotech submarine, a twelve-year-old descendant of Jules Verne’s famous antihero is determined to help make the ocean a safer place one adventure at a time in Jason Henderson's Young Captain Nemo, first in a new middle-grade series. Gabriel Nemo is not your typical 12-year-old. A descendant of the famous Captain Nemo, he spent the first years of his life living in obscurity, isolated in his parents’ peaceful underwater research lab. But with his older sister off following in their ancestor’s footsteps, sinking whalers and running away from vengeful navies, Gabriel decides it’s time to forge his own path, and use his Nemotech legacy for good. Armed only with his wits, his friends, and his Nemotech submarine, Gabriel embarks on a series of daring rescues and exciting undersea battles. But when Gabriel’s sister suddenly appears with proof of previously undiscovered sea creatures―giant beasts inhabiting wrecked war planes and ships―Gabriel and his new friends must face their biggest and most dangerous mission ever!
    W
  • The Matriarcas: Demon Caves of Embras Isle

    Alisa Valdes

    Paperback (Month9Books, LLC, Sept. 7, 2021)
    In a world decimated by disease, wisdom and scientific knowledge amassed by previous civilizations has been nearly forgotten and the once-promised bright future our forefathers wanted for us is long gone. In this new dark age, most of the population live in stone age-like conditions. Maricela Paz, a fifteen-year-old girl growing up in a backward fishing village on an island modeled after Cuba, reluctantly prepares for The Feast of Fifteens where she will be auctioned off to theHhidalgos and forced into concubinage. But Maricela is not like the other girls who obey and keep silent for fear of punishment. When she disobeys her father, she is sentenced to capital punishment. But Marciela manages to escape to the mysterious Island of Embras, where she meets Dunia, the 400-year-old Matriarca and keeper of the last library of books and scientific knowledge from more civilized times. Staring down the rotting mouth of a bleak future, Marciela must accept and embrace her truth. It wasn't an accident, her landing there. Marciela is the new Matriarca, who will restore the old civilization and bring balance back to the world. Empowered and in control, Marciela sets a course for home to make right the long-since wrongs imposed upon the women and girls of her village. Lord help anyone who gets in her way.
  • 1, 2, 3, Pull!

    Emily Arnold McCully

    Hardcover (Holiday House, Sept. 7, 2021)
    Meet Min--a girl with the brain power to make a machine and outwit a bully too! Perfect for first-grade readers.Ann and Bess don't want Min in their show. But when a tree falls on their outdoor stage, only Min can figure out how to move the tree. She gathers some logs, a chain, a rope, a pulley, and a hook and builds a crane. The show can go on--with Min in it, of course!This is the third book to feature Min, the girl engineer in 3, 2, 1, Go! and Min Makes a Machine. The award-winning I Like to Read® series focuses on guided reading levels A through G, based upon Fountas and Pinnell standards. Acclaimed author-illustrators--including winners of Caldecott, Theodor Seuss Geisel, and Coretta Scott King honors--create original, high quality illustrations that support comprehension of simple text and are fun for kids to read with parents, teachers, or on their own!
    F
  • 1, 2, 3, Pull!

    Emily Arnold McCully

    eBook (Holiday House, Sept. 7, 2021)
    Meet Min--a girl with the brain power to make a machine and outwit a bully too! Perfect for first-grade readers.Ann and Bess don't want Min in their show. But when a tree falls on their outdoor stage, only Min can figure out how to move the tree. She gathers some logs, a chain, a rope, a pulley, and a hook and builds a crane. The show can go on--with Min in it, of course!This is the third book to feature Min, the girl engineer in 3, 2, 1, Go! and Min Makes a Machine. The award-winning I Like to Read® series focuses on guided reading levels A through G, based upon Fountas and Pinnell standards. Acclaimed author-illustrators--including winners of Caldecott, Theodor Seuss Geisel, and Coretta Scott King honors--create original, high quality illustrations that support comprehension of simple text and are fun for kids to read with parents, teachers, or on their own!
    I
  • The Peculiar Haunting of Thelma Bee

    Erin Petti, Kris Aro McLeod

    Paperback (Mighty Media Junior Readers, Sept. 7, 2021)
    Ghost-story lover and debut author Erin Petti has written a quirky story for fans of The Goonies, Goosebumps, and Coraline.Eleven-year-old budding scientist Thelma Bee has adventure in her blood. But she gets more than she bargained for when a ghost kidnaps her father. Now her only clues are a strange jewelry box and the word “Return,” whispered to her by the ghost. It’s up to Thelma to get her dad back, and it might be more dangerous than she thought—there’s someone wielding dark magic, and they’re coming after her next.YOU choose the cover! Vote at thelmabee.com and enter to win a Thelma Bee gift box that includes a signed book, stickers, buttons, a Thelma Bee journal, and more!
    U
  • That's My Book! And Other Stories

    Salina Yoon

    Paperback (Bloomsbury Children's Books, Sept. 7, 2021)
    The third Duck, Duck, Porcupine book has a new trio of stories featuring loud and in-charge Big Duck, quiet and clever Little Duck, and friendly and gentle Porcupine. They use books in a whole new way, decide to throw a talent show, and play doctor. No matter what problems they get themselves into, Little Duck always finds a way to save the day!Salina Yoon's paper over board early readers are perfect for fans of bestselling series like Elephant & Piggie and Ballet Cat, giving all her picture book fans a fantastic next step for reading fun. Reviewers praise this series' comic book style artwork and engaging characters, perfect for the youngest new readers.
    H
  • The Golden Dreidel

    Ellen Kushner, Kevin Keele

    Hardcover (Charlesbridge, Sept. 14, 2021)
    A timeless story that combines Jewish folklore and holiday tradition with an unforgettable fantasy adventure.Sara wishes she celebrated Christmas. Instead, at her family's big Chanukah party, her Tante Miriam gifts her a shiny golden dreidel. Sara and her cousins are warned to be careful, for it is no ordinary dreidel. Soon Sara discovers that the dreidel is an entranced princess in disguise. Swept into a magical world, Sara uncovers her own wisdom and courage as she solves riddles and defeats demons in order to save the princess. The perfect Chanukah read!
    Q
  • The Golden Dreidel

    Ellen Kushner, Kevin Keele

    (Charlesbridge, Sept. 14, 2021)
    A timeless story that combines Jewish folklore and holiday tradition with an unforgettable fantasy adventure.Sara wishes she celebrated Christmas. Instead, at her family's big Chanukah party, her Tante Miriam gifts her a shiny golden dreidel. Sara and her cousins are warned to be careful, for it is no ordinary dreidel. Soon Sara discovers that the dreidel is an entranced princess in disguise. Swept into a magical world, Sara uncovers her own wisdom and courage as she solves riddles and defeats demons in order to save the princess. The perfect Chanukah read!
  • Dreaming of Salt Lake City: Counting Down Around the Town

    Applewood Books

    Board book (Commonwealth Editions, Sept. 14, 2021)
    In this board book for young readers, ages 2-5, we'll learn to count down from 10 to 1 while discovering mountains, botanical gardens, the Salt Flats, and more! There's so much to see―won't you join me?
    G