Browse all books

Books released in this month

  • Paranormal Academy Book 4: Spells and Pixie Dust

    Jody Morse, Jayme Morse

    language (, Jan. 31, 2021)
    Full summary coming soon.
  • Out of Time

    Geronimo Stilton

    eBook (Scholastic Paperbacks, Jan. 5, 2021)
    Geronimo travels through time to Alexander the Great, Cleopatra, Francis Drake, and a young Mozart.
  • Because of the Rabbit

    Cynthia Lord

    Paperback (Scholastic Inc., Jan. 5, 2021)
    Newbery Honor-winning author Cynthia Lord has written a sensitive and accessible book about the challenges of fitting in when you know you're a little different.On the last night of summer, Emma tags along with her game warden father on a routine call. They're supposed to rescue a wild rabbit from a picket fence, but instead they find a little bunny. Emma convinces her father to bring him home for the night.The next day, Emma starts public school for the very first time after years of being homeschooled. More than anything, Emma wants to make a best friend in school.But things don't go as planned. On the first day of school, she's paired with a boy named Jack for a project. He can't stay on topic, he speaks out of turn, and he's obsessed with animals. Jack doesn't fit in, and Emma's worried he'll make her stand out.Emma and Jack bond over her rescue rabbit. But will their new friendship keep Emma from finding the new best friend she's meant to have?Newbery Honor-winning author Cynthia Lord has written a beautiful and sensitive book about being different and staying true to yourself.
  • Chick and Brain: Smell My Foot!

    Cece Bell

    Paperback (Candlewick, Jan. 5, 2021)
    A Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor BookFrom Newbery Honor winner Cece Bell comes an offbeat, pitch-perfect storybook for beginning readers that will have them in fits of giggles.“Maybe your foot smells good. Maybe your foot smells great. But I will not smell your foot until you say PLEASE.”Meet Chick and Brain. And their friend Spot. Chick likes to follow the rules. Brain might not be as smart as he looks. And Spot just wants to eat lunch. In a graphic reader loaded with verbal and visual humor, Cece Bell offers a comical primer on good manners gone awry. Simple, silly, and perfectly suited for its audience, this tale of Chick and Brain’s constant misunderstandings and miscommunications proves once again that Cece Bell is a master at meeting kids where they are.
  • Clean Getaway

    Nic Stone

    Paperback (Yearling, Jan. 5, 2021)
    From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a timely middle-grade road-trip story through landmarks of the Civil Rights movement and the map they lay for contemporary race relations.How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.What Not to Bring:A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual.Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with this New York Times bestseller and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included."Truly a delight." -Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Newbery Medal winner Bud, Not Buddy
  • City of the Plague God

    Sarwat Chadda

    eBook (Disney Hyperion, Jan. 5, 2021)
    Thirteen-year-old Sikander Aziz has to team up with the hero Gilgamesh in order to stop Nergal, the ancient god of plagues, from wiping out the population of Manhattan in this adventure based on Mesopotamian mythology.
  • Scars Like Wings

    Erin Stewart

    Paperback (Ember, Jan. 12, 2021)
    Relatable, heartbreaking, and real, this is a story of resilience--the perfect novel for readers of powerful contemporary fiction like Girl in Pieces and Every Last Word.Before, I was a million things. Now I'm only one. The Burned Girl.Ava Lee has lost everything there is to lose: Her parents. Her best friend. Her home. Even her face. She doesn't need a mirror to know what she looks like--she can see her reflection in the eyes of everyone around her. A year after the fire that destroyed her world, her aunt and uncle have decided she should go back to high school. Be "normal" again. Whatever that is. Ava knows better. There is no normal for someone like her. And forget making friends--no one wants to be seen with the Burned Girl, now or ever. But when Ava meets a fellow survivor named Piper, she begins to feel like maybe she doesn't have to face the nightmare alone. Sarcastic and blunt, Piper isn't afraid to push Ava out of her comfort zone. Piper introduces Ava to Asad, a boy who loves theater just as much as she does, and slowly, Ava tries to create a life again. Yet Piper is fighting her own battle, and soon Ava must decide if she's going to fade back into her scars . . . or let the people by her side help her fly.
  • Court of Swans

    Melanie Dickerson

    eBook (Thomas Nelson, Jan. 5, 2021)
    From New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson comes a reimagining of the Wild Swans—the first book in a new series of fairy-tale retellings set in medieval England!Delia lives a quiet life as the daughter of an earl in late 14th-century England, but that peace is shattered when her seven brothers are betrayed by their father and falsely arrested. Meanwhile, with the Peasants’ Revolt threatening the peace of the kingdom, the king is executing anyone who had anything to do with the uprising. Delia is terrified her brothers will be next, the youngest of whom is only ten years old.Delia infiltrates the palace as a lady-in-waiting for the new queen so she can be near her brothers in the Tower of London and help them escape. When she runs into Sir Geoffrey, the guard captain who arrested her brothers, she hates him—until she discovers he has been secretly carrying food to her brothers in their prison cell. Trapped into obeying the orders of his king, Sir Geoffrey is the oldest son of an earl whose estate has been seized by the king and his treacherous advisers. His first mission as captain was to arrest seven brothers for treason, but he had no idea that the brothers were so young or that their sister would be so feisty and beautiful.In a court where everyone is eager to backstab anyone else to get what they want, Geoffrey must right this wrong for Delia and her brothers—and keep them all from losing their heads to this execution-prone king.
  • Focused

    Alyson Gerber

    Paperback (Scholastic Inc., Jan. 5, 2021)
    Following Braced, which had three starred reviews, comes a story of a girl caught between her love of chess and her ADHD.Clea can't control her thoughts. She knows she has to do her homework . . . but she gets distracted. She knows she can't just say whatever thought comes into her head . . . but sometimes she can't help herself. She knows she needs to focus . . . but how can she do that when the people around her are always chewing gum loudly or making other annoying noises?It's starting to be a problem-not just in school, but when Clea's playing chess or just hanging out with her best friend. Other kids are starting to notice. When Clea fails one too many tests, her parents take her to be tested, and she finds out that she has ADHD, which means her attention is all over the place instead of where it needs to be.Clea knows life can't continue the way it's been going. She's just not sure how you can fix a problem that's all in your head. But that's what she's going to have to do, to find a way to focus.In a starred review, Booklist called Alyson Gerber's first novel, Braced, "a masterfully constructed and highly empathetic debut about a different kind of acceptance." With Focused, she explores even further how, when life gives you a challenge, the best way to face it is with an open mind, an open heart, and the open support of the people around you.
  • TBH #7: TBH, No One Can EVER Know

    Lisa Greenwald

    eBook (Katherine Tegen Books, Jan. 12, 2021)
    With a Valentine’s Day dance, snooping parents, and way too many secrets, these four BFFs have a lot to deal with in the seventh book in this hilarious series told entirely in text messages, emojis, and passed notes, perfect for fans of Invisible Emmie and the Dork Diaries series. It’s no secret that Victoria’s mom can be OTT overprotective! But lately her anxiety has been too much to handle. So even though Victoria is helping plan the school’s Valentine’s Day dance, she might not be allowed to go!To be honest, she’s going to need lots of help from her BFFs to mend this mother-daughter relationship—and it may mean sharing her most embarrassing secret ever! The question is: Can you take back a secret once you’ve shared it?
  • The Diamond Bearer's Ring

    Lorena Angell

    language (Fantasy Books Publishing, LLC, Jan. 31, 2021)
    Book seven of The Unaltered series. Calli’s impulsive decision to break communications with the Diamond Bearers leaves her unable to call for help when captured by the mysterious Spellcaster, Vita. She must find a way to escape and help Chris, who's heart won't last much longer under the stress of the new diamond. The ring Chris gave Calli holds a possible solution if she can only figure out how to wield its power in time—a power seen through her previous visions of the impending cosmic blast about to hit Portland, Oregon..
  • Welcome to Your Period!

    Yumi Stynes, Dr. Melissa Kang, Jennifer Latham

    Paperback (Walker Books US, Jan. 12, 2021)
    This frank, funny guide to getting your period gives preteens all they need to master—and even celebrate!—menstruation.Getting your period for the first time can be mortifying, weird, and messy—and asking questions about it can feel even worse. But it doesn’t have to be that way. This taboo-free guide is packed with honest advice and big-sisterly wisdom on all the things girls need to know: from what cramps feel like to whether you can feel blood coming out, to what you should do if your pad leaks onto your clothes. Welcome to Your Period includes case studies, first-person accounts, questions from real teens, and answers from health journalist Yumi Stynes and adolescent health specialist Melissa Kang, MD. Cheerful illustrations keep the tone fun, and help with how-tos on different period supplies. There are even suggestions for throwing a first-period party. With its inclusive, body-positive message, pocket size, and reassuring vibe, this must-have menstruation manual will make girls feel not only normal but proud.