Books released in this month

S*
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Leslie C. Youngblood

Forever This Summer

Hardcover (Aug. 4, 2020)
Georgie has no idea what to expect when she, Mama, and Peaches are plopped down in the middle of nowhere--AKA Bogalusa, Louisiana. G-baby wants to help out at the famous family diner that once served celebrities like the Jackson 5 and the Supremes, but with restaurateur Great Aunt Elvie needing help remembering day-to-day things, everyone is too busy to show G-baby the ropes.G-baby makes friends with Markie, a foster kid under Aunt Elvie's care, who has a short arm caused … More
?

Douglas Waller

Lincoln's Spies: Their Secret War to Save a Nation

Paperback (Aug. 18, 2020)
This major addition to the history of the Civil War is a “fast-paced, fact-rich account” (The Wall Street Journal) offering a detailed look at President Abraham Lincoln’s use of clandestine services and the secret battles waged by Union spies and agents to save the nation—filled with espionage, sabotage, and intrigue. Veteran CIA correspondent Douglas Waller delivers a riveting account of the heroes and misfits who carried out a shadow war of espionage and covert operations behind the Confederate battlefields. Lincoln’s … More
?

Chris Ferrie, Veronica Goodman

ABCs of Economics

Board book (Aug. 1, 2020)

Chris Ferrie's bestselling scientific series is expanding!

It only takes a small spark to ignite a child's mind! The ABCs of Economics introduces babies (and grownups!) to a new economic concept for each letter of the alphabet. From asymmetric, business cycle, and capital, all the way to zero sum. It's never too early to become an economist!

With scientific and mathematical information from an expert, this is the perfect book for enlightening the next generation of geniuses.

More
N*
Age
5-8
Grade
K-3

Laura Perdew, Katie Mazeika

Water-Walking, Sidewinding, and Other Remarkable Reptile Adaptations

Hardcover (Aug. 13, 2020)

A full-color, nonfiction picture book about how reptiles adapt to their environments to survive and thrive in the natural world! A lizard that walks on water? A snake that slithers sideways? These are animal adaptations!

In Water-Walking, Sidewinding, and Other Remarkable Reptile Adaptations, children ages 5 to 8 learn how and why the green basilisk lizard runs on the water’s surface, along with the very good reasons sidewinder snakes move the way they do. Explore these reptile adaptations and more …

More
H*
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Dennis Schatz, Davide Bonadonna, Christian Keitzmueller

Uncover a T.Rex

Hardcover (Aug. 25, 2020)
This fascinating 3-D presentation provides the reader with an in-depth, hands-on exploration of an awe-inspiring T. rex.In Uncover a T.Rex, a fascinating three-dimensional presentation allows in-depth, hands-on exploration of the most fearsome dinosaur that ever prowled the earth. This unique “model” can be deconstructed and rebuilt layer by layer, system by system, just by turning the page, so the reader can see how each part of the T. rex’s body is connected to the others. By combining a 3-D model … More
M*
Age
5-7
Grade
K-2

Rebecca Elliott

Eva in the Spotlight: A Branches Book

Library Binding (Aug. 4, 2020) , Library edition
It's Eva Wingdale's time to shine!Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow!Treetop Owlementary is putting on a play! Eva and her friends can't wait to try out for parts, learn their lines, and build the sets! But when Sue gets cast … More
P*
Age
5-8
Grade
K-3

Laura Perdew, Katie Mazeika

Spit Nests, Puke Power, and Other Brilliant Bird Adaptations

Paperback (Aug. 13, 2020)

A nonfiction picture book that explores the amazing adaptations that keep certain species of bird alive and soaring!

Not all birds build nests with sticks and have good manners. Some construct nests with their own saliva, while others use vomit as a defense!

Sound strange? In Spit Nests, Puke Power, and Other Brilliant Bird Adaptations, curious kids ages 5 to 8 discover many of the unique adaptations of birds. Stories of these brilliant adaptations cultivate deeper discussions about the crucial …

More
O*
Age
5-8
Grade
K-3

Laura Perdew, Katie Mazeika

Sunscreen, Frogsicles, and Other Amazing Amphibian Adaptations

Hardcover (Aug. 13, 2020)

A nonfiction picture book about the fabulous adaptations that keep amphibians alive and thriving in their unique habitats!

How do sunscreen and mucus help amphibians survive?

In Sunscreen, Snot Homes, and Other Amazing Amphibian Adaptations, kids ages 5 to 8 discover how one frog uses sunscreen to protect itself through the dry season and how another uses its own mucus to create a cocoon. Amphibians spend part of their time on land and part in the water, so they’ve evolved …

More
O*
Age
5-8
Grade
K-3

Laura Perdew, Katie Mazeika

Anti-Freeze, Leaf Costumes, and Other Fabulous Fish Adaptations

Hardcover (Aug. 13, 2020)

A fascinating nonfiction picture book about how fish adapt to their various underwater environments!

When might a fancy leaf costume be useful for a fish? And how do fish in Antarctica keep from freezing?

In Anti-Freeze, Leaf Costumes, and Other Fabulous Fish Adaptations, children ages 5 to 8 discover some of the amazing adaptations in the world of fish! Explore underwater habitats and discover the ways fish have evolved to avoid the danger that lurks around every waving piece of …

More
U*
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Maurice Broaddus

The Usual Suspects

Paperback (Aug. 11, 2020)

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus.

Thelonius Mitchell is tired of being labeled. He’s in special ed, separated from the “normal” kids at school who don’t have any “issues.” That’s enough to make all the teachers and students look at him and his friends with a constant side-eye. (Although his disruptive antics and pranks have given him a rep too.)

When a gun is found …

More
W
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Melissa Wiley

The Nerviest Girl in the World

Hardcover (Aug. 18, 2020)
A feisty girl from a family of ranchers lands a job as a daredevil stunt girl in the early days of silent film in this adventurous and funny cross between Wild Hearts Can't Be Broken and Ramona.Pearl lives on a ranch where her chores include collecting eggs and feeding ornery ostriches. She has three older brothers, who don't coddle her at all. And she knows a thing or two about horses, too.One day, Pearl's brothers get cushy jobs doing stunts … More
?

FUNA, Sukima, Garrison Denim

I Shall Survive Using Potions! Volume 1

Paperback (Aug. 4, 2020)
"One day, the supervisor in charge of watching over Earth was taking care of a distortion, when they made a mistake that caused Kaoru Nagase to lose her physical body. Not only that, but reincarnating her into a different, less culturally-advanced world is the only thing they can offer to do for her. Not one to take this turn of events sitting down, Kaoru makes a demand: the power to create potions at any time she pleases, with whatever effect … More
Find More in Readling App

Find

Scan bar-codes and find more about a book

Browse

Browse and discover "just right" books

Log

Log and track reading progress (app only)

Know

Know reading performance (app only)