Browse all books

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Find similar books

Grade 4-6

Mildred D. Taylor

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Paperback (Scholastic Jan. 1, 1976) , Later Printing Edition
An ALA Notable Book, A New York times Book Review Best Children's Books, 1970-1980 Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry is a 1976 novel by Mildred D. Taylor. The novel won the 1977 Newbery Medal and is considered to be among the greatest children's novels of all time. Its sequel, Let the Circle Be Unbroken, was released in 1981. Why is the land so important to Cassie's family? It takes the events of one turbulent year-the year of the night riders and the burnings, the year a white girl humiliates Cassie in public imply because she is black-to show Cassie that having a place of their own is the Logan family's lifeblood. It is the land that gives the Logans their courage and pride-no matter how others may degrade them, the Logans possess something no one can take away. Taylor wites not with rancor or bitterness of indignities, but with pride, strength, and respect for humanity.
0590982079 / 9780590982078
3.68 oz.
6.6 x 4.1 in.

Enjoy reading Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry? You may also like these books