• [Grades 3-4] Tremendous Books About Turtles and Tortoises

    15 Books 15 Book Votes 488 Views
  • 1

    The Turtle

    Cynthia Rylant, Preston McDaniels

    Paperback (Beach Lane Books, Feb. 1, 2006)
    Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant brings the peaceful sounds, sights, and characters of the coast vividly to life in the fourth book of the Lighthouse Family series, in which the family rescues a trapped turtle.A thick fog has found its way up north to the lighthouse family, surrounding the cliffs and waters below. Always ready to lend a hand, the lighthouse siblings Whistler and Lila help Seabold guide small ships to land. As they overlook the foggy waters, they hear a distant voice echoing from the rocks below. Who could it be? Using only a rope and their hearts to guide them, Seabold, Lila, and Whistler make their way down the side of the cliff. And what they discover will help them weather even the thickest fog—a new friend.
    O
  • 1

    Esio Trot

    Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake

    Paperback (Puffin Books, Jan. 22, 2009)
    From the bestselling author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The BFG! Mr. Hoppy is in love with his neighbor, Mrs. Silver; but she is in love with someone else—Alfie, her pet tortoise. With all her attention focused on Alfie, Mrs. Silver doesn’t even know Mr. Hoppy is alive. And Mr. Hoppy is too shy to even ask Mrs. Silver over for tea. Then one day Mr. Hoppy comes up with a brilliant idea to get Mrs. Silver's attention. If Mr. Hoppy's plan works, Mrs. Silver will certainly fall in love with him. After all, everyone knows the way to a woman’s heart is through her tortoise.
    S
  • 1

    The Little Island

    Margaret Wise Brown, Leonard Weisgard

    Paperback (Dragonfly Books, Oct. 1, 1993)
    Children’s book icon Margaret Wise Brown – writer of the cherished classic Goodnight Moon – and Caldecott Medal-winner Leonard Weisgard bring young readers an enduring picture book about the magic of nature. Winner of the 1947 Caldecott Medal, this beautifully moving story centers around a little island in the midst of the wide ocean, and the curious kitten who comes to visit. As the seasons pass, the island and the creatures who call it home witness an ever-changing array of sights, smells, and sounds – proving that, no matter how small, we are all an important part of the world.
    O
  • 1

    One Tiny Turtle: Read and Wonder

    Nicola Davies, Jane Chapman

    Paperback (Candlewick, June 14, 2005)
    "Simple, lyrical words and bright, acrylic doublepage pictures convey the astonishing facts about the loggerhead sea turtle. . . . A powerful nature story for a young audience." — BooklistFar, far out at sea lives one of the world's most mysterious creatures, the loggerhead turtle. For thirty years she swims the oceans, wandering thousands of miles as she searches for food. Then, one summer night, she lands on a beach to lay her eggs — the very same beach where she herself was born. Nicola Davies's lyrical text offers fascinating information about the journey of the tiny, endangered loggerhead, while charming paintings by Jane Chapman vividly illustrate one turtle's odyssey.
    N
  • 1

    Follow the Moon Home: A Tale of One Idea, Twenty Kids, and a Hundred Sea Turtles

    Philippe Cousteau, Deborah Hopkinson, Meilo So

    Hardcover (Chronicle Books, April 5, 2016)
    "Delivers an eloquent environmental message while demonstrating how kids can change the world through teamwork and perseverance." — School Library JournalA triumphant story of environmental activism, community, and friendship: Acclaimed activist Philippe Cousteau and renowned author Deborah Hopkinson team up to offer a story of the powerful difference young people can make in the world. Meet Viv, who has a new home and a new school by the sea and follow her as she finds her way in a new place and helps bring together a whole community to save the sea turtles of the South Carolina coast.• Explores various important themes like activism, philanthropy, volunteerism, and more• Features gorgeous watercolor illustrations that are colorful and engaging• Includes a "Letter to Young Activists" from the author as well as resources to learn more about sea turtles.• Meilo So is the esteemed illustrator of many books, including Water Sings Blue. Philippe Cousteau is an award-winning television host, producer, author, speaker, philanthropist, and social entrepreneur. Deborah Hopkinson is the author of many award-winning nonfiction books for young readersFans of Manfish and Water Sings Blue will also enjoy the inspiring storyline and stunning illustrations in Follow the Moon Home.• Great family and classroom read-aloud book• Books for kids ages 4-6 • Children's picture books for kindergarten through third grade
    N
  • 1

    The Foolish Tortoise

    Richard Buckley, Eric Carle

    Board book (Little Simon, March 10, 2009)
    Last published in 1998, this classic story whimsically illustrated by Eric Carle returns with a fresh new cover design. Children and adults alike will enjoy this jubilant tale of a tortoise on a journey of self-discovery!
    N
  • 1

    Sea Turtles

    Gail Gibbons

    Hardcover (Holiday House, Sept. 1, 1995)
    The characteristics and lifestyles of the eight different kinds.
    O
  • 1

    Owen & Mzee: The True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

    Isabella Hatkoff, Craig Hatkoff, Paula Kahumbu, Peter Greste

    Hardcover (Scholastic Press, Feb. 1, 2006)
    The amazing true story of the orphaned baby hippo and 130-year-old giant turtle whose remarkable friendship touched millions around the world.The inspiring true story of two great friends, a baby hippo named Owen and a 130-yr-old giant tortoise named Mzee (Mm-ZAY). When Owen was stranded after the Dec 2004 tsunami, villagers in Kenya worked tirelessly to rescue him. Then, to everyone's amazement, the orphan hippo and the elderly tortoise adopted each other. Now they are inseparable, swimming, eating, and playing together. Adorable photos e-mailed from friend to friend quickly made them worldwide celebrities. Here is a joyous reminder that in times of trouble, friendship is stronger than the differences that too often pull us apart.
    R
  • 1

    Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories

    Dr. Seuss

    Hardcover (Random House Books for Young Readers, April 12, 1958)
    Dr. Seuss presents three modern fables in the rhyming favorite Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories. The collection features tales about greed (“Yertle the Turtle”), vanity (“Gertrude McFuzz”), and pride (“The Big Brag”). In no other book does a small burp have such political importance! Yet again, Dr. Seuss proves that he and classic picture books go hand in hand.
    O
  • 1

    Turtles

    Anita Baskin-Salzberg, Allen Salzberg

    Paperback (Franklin Watts, March 1, 1998)
    Describes different kinds of turtles, tortoises, and sea turtles and the endangered status of some species
    S
  • 1

    The Sea Turtle Mystery

    Gertrude Chandler Warner, Anthony VanArsdale

    Hardcover (Albert Whitman & Company, April 1, 2019)
    The Aldens are spending spring break on a beach, but they aren't just soaking up the sun. They’re protecting an endangered species! Their job is to mark sea turtle nests so the eggs can be moved to a safe place to hatch, but someone is digging up the eggs without permission. Can the Boxcar Children figure out what’s going on and help save the sea turtles?
    O
  • 1

    The Turtle of Oman

    Naomi Shihab Nye

    Paperback (Greenwillow Books, May 3, 2016)
    Praised by the Horn Book as “both quiet and exhilarating,” this novel by the acclaimed poet and National Book Award Finalist Naomi Shihab Nye follows Aref Al-Amri as he says goodbye to everything and everyone he loves in his hometown of Muscat, Oman, as his family prepares to move to Ann Arbor, Michigan. This book was awarded a 2015 Middle East Book Award, was named a Notable Book by the American Library Association, and includes extra material by the author. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Aref does not want to leave Oman. He does not want to leave his elementary school, his friends, or his beloved grandfather, Sidi. He does not want to live in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where his parents will go to graduate school. His mother is desperate for him to pack his suitcase—but he refuses. Finally, she calls Sidi for help. But rather than pack, Aref and Sidi go on a series of adventures. They visit the camp of a thousand stars deep in the desert, they sleep on Sidi’s roof, they fish in the Gulf of Oman and dream about going to India, they travel to the nature reserve to watch the sea turtles. At each stop, Sidi finds a small stone that he later slips into Aref’s suitcase—mementos of home.This accessible, exquisite novel shines with gentle humor and explores themes of moving, family, nature, and immigration. Naomi Shihab Nye has created what Kirkus called “a warm and humorous peek at the profound and mundane details of moving from one country to another—a perfect pick for kids on the move.” Features black-and-white spot art and decorations by Betsy Peterschmidt.
    W
  • 1

    Leatherback Sea Turtles

    Jody Sullivan Rake

    language (Capstone Press, Dec. 21, 2015)
    Leatherback sea turtles face one of their lives’ biggest challenges as soon as they’re hatched. Crawling out of their eggs on the sandy shore, they hurry to the sea in a race to escape those who see them as a tasty meal. If they survive and thrive, they can grow longer than an adult male is tall and weigh as much as a small car! Learn more about these amazing animals, including where they live, what they eat, the many challenges they face in their lives, and what you can do to help.
    R
  • 1

    Galapagos George

    Jean Craighead George, Wendell Minor

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, April 8, 2014)
    This is the story of the famous Lonesome George, a giant tortoise who was the last of his species, lived to be one hundred years old, and became known as the rarest creature in the world. His story gives us a glimpse of the amazing creatures inhabiting the ever-fascinating Galápagos Islands.Renowned naturalist and bestselling author of the Newbery Medal-winning Julie of the Wolves and the critically acclaimed Everglades Jean Craighead George once again introduces children to the wonders of the natural world in this incredible evolution story set in the Galápagos Islands. The back matter features key terms, a timeline, and further resources for research.Supports the Common Core State Standards.
    U
  • 1

    Limu: The Blue Turtle

    Kimo Armitage, Scott Kaneshiro

    Hardcover (Island Heritage Publishing, Oct. 16, 2003)
    Limu was different than all the other Hawaiian sea turtles - he was blue! But while other turtles made fun of him, Limu still had fun growing up in the sea, bodysurfing the big waves, laughing with seals and making friends big and small. Follow Limu’s adventures, as he discovers that no matter what he looks like on the outside, others like him because of the good turtle he is on the inside. Read Along CD Books Words and pictures come to life with these best-selling Island Heritage books. Each special edition includes a Read Along CD that will delight each child who follows along. Read by some of Hawai‘i’s favorite entertainers, each CD features sound effects, background music and cues to turn the page! Mini CDs are compatible standard CD
    Y