• Hello

    7 Books 7 Book Votes 10 Views

Related Booklists

  • 1

    Giraffes Can't Dance

    Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees

    Board book (Cartwheel Books, March 1, 2012)
    The bestselling Giraffes Can't Dance is now a board book!Giraffes Can't Dance is a touching tale of Gerald the giraffe, who wants nothing more than to dance. With crooked knees and thin legs, it's harder for a giraffe than you would think. Gerald is finally able to dance to his own tune when he gets some encouraging words from an unlikely friend.With light-footed rhymes and high-stepping illustrations, this tale is gentle inspiration for every child with dreams of greatness.
    M
  • 1

    Rush Week

    Stephanie Prince

    Mass Market Paperback (HarperTorch, Oct. 3, 1997)
    Join Molly, Toby, Ariel, and Isabelle, four girls from four different walks of life, as they cross paths during Rush Week at Kensington College, discover that they have similar interests, and become close friends, in the first book of a new series detailing the trials and tribulations of college life. Original.
    W
  • 1

    The Reason for a Flower: A Book About Flowers, Pollen, and Seeds

    Ruth Heller

    Paperback (Puffin Books, Feb. 15, 1999)
    “[An] extravagantly beautiful creation. It is unusual in its ingenious way of teaching botany and interesting words to the littlest of readers.”—Publishers Weekly“Ms. Heller’s colors and drawings are as electrifying as ever.”—Los Angeles TimesThe reason for a flower is to manufacture seeds, but Ruth Heller shares a lot more about parts of plants and their functions in her trademark rhythmic style.
    N
  • 1

    The Giving Tree

    Shel Silverstein

    Hardcover (Harper & Row, Jan. 1, 1964)
    The Giving Tree, a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein, has been a classic favorite for generations.Since it was first published fifty years ago, Shel Silverstein's poignant picture book for readers of all ages has offered a touching interpretation of the gift of giving and a serene acceptance of another's capacity to love in return.Shel Silverstein's incomparable career as a bestselling children's book author and illustrator began with Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back. He is also the creator of picture books including A Giraffe and a Half, Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?, The Missing Piece, The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, and the perennial favorite The Giving Tree, and of classic poetry collections such as Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, Every Thing On It, Don't Bump the Glump!, and Runny Babbit.And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!
    N
  • 1

    Hi

    Anne Herbert Scott, Glo Coalson

    Hardcover (Philomel, May 12, 1994)
    Margarita joins her mother on a trip to the post office, where Margarita greets everyone she sees, until finally someone notices her.
    J
  • 1

    Hello, Universe

    Erin Entrada Kelly, Isabel Roxas

    eBook (Greenwillow Books, March 14, 2017)
    Winner of the Newbery Medal“A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.”—Washington PostNewbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—BooklistIn one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.“Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.”—School Library Journal
  • 1

    Week

    Mary Lindeen, Javier A Gonzalez

    Library Binding (Magic Wagon (Looking Glass Library), Jan. 1, 2008)
    The seven days in a week are always the same. Do you know what they are? Let’s say all the names.
    H