Browse all book lists

[Grades 3-4] Great Books to Read in June

14 Books
Save in Readling App
It's summer! June is a month full of celebrations. From World Environment Day (June 5), D-Day Invasion Anniversary (June 6) to World Oceans Day (June 8), and we will definitely celebrate with our wonderful fathers for Father's Day.

Booklists with The Same Tags

  • Summer Pony

    Jean Slaughter Doty, Ruth Sanderson

    eBook (Random House Books for Young Readers, Dec. 10, 2008)
    Ginny has always dreamed of having her very own pony, so when her parents agree to rent her a pony for the summer, Ginny is thrilled! But when Mokey arrives, she is shaggy, dirty, and half-starved–not at all what Ginny had in mind. Can Ginny still have the summer of her dreams?
    O
  • My Papi Has a Motorcycle

    Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña

    Hardcover (Kokila, May 14, 2019)
    A celebration of the love between a father and daughter, and of a vibrant immigrant neighborhood, by an award-winning author and illustrator duo.When Daisy Ramona zooms around her neighborhood with her papi on his motorcycle, she sees the people and places she's always known. She also sees a community that is rapidly changing around her. But as the sun sets purple-blue-gold behind Daisy Ramona and her papi, she knows that the love she feels will always be there.With vivid illustrations and text bursting with heart, My Papi Has a Motorcycle is a young girl's love letter to her hardworking dad and to memories of home that we hold close in the midst of change.
    O
  • Darth Vader and Friends

    Jeffrey Brown

    Hardcover (Chronicle Books, April 28, 2015)
    In this funny and sweet new book in the bestselling Darth Vader™ series, Eisner Award–winning author Jeffrey Brown offers an intimate look at the friendships between best pals in the Star Wars universe, from Darth Vader and the Emperor to Leia and her Ewok pals, Han and Chewie, C-3PO and R2-D2, the bounty hunters, and other favorite characters. Jealousy, birthday parties, lightsaber battles, sharing, intergalactic rebellion and more all come into play as Brown's charming illustrations and humor irresistibly combine the adventures of our friends in a galaxy far, far away with everyday events closer to home.© and TM Lucasfilm Ltd. Used Under Authorization
    P
  • Camp

    Kayla Miller

    Paperback (HMH Books for Young Readers, April 23, 2019)
    From New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller comes a graphic novel about venturing off to summer camp for the first time and stepping out of one's comfort zone, navigating new experiences, and the satisfaction of blazing your own trails.Olive and Willow are happy campers!Or are they? Olive is sure she’ll have the best time at summer camp with her friend Willow – but while Olive makes quick friends with the other campers, Willow struggles to form connections and latches on to the only person she knows – Olive. It’s s’more than Olive can handle! The stress of being Willow's living security blanket begins to wear on Olive and before long…the girls aren’t just fighting, they may not even be friends by the time camp is over. Will the two be able to patch things up before the final lights out?The New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller has created an emotional and honest story about navigating new experiences, learning to step outside one’s comfort zone, and the satisfaction of blazing your own trails.Looking for more of Olive’s adventures? Check out the companion books Click and Act.
    P
  • It's Mine!

    Leo Lionni

    Paperback (Dragonfly Books, March 19, 1996)
    Four time Caldecott Honor winner Leo Lionni's beloved tale about three young frogs learning to work together.Three selfish frogs live together on an island in the middle of Rainbow Pond. All day long they bicker: It’s mine! It’s mine! It’s mine! But a bad storm and a big brown toad help them realize that sharing is much more fun. With characteristic clarity, simplicity and exuberance, Leo Lionni makes it possible for kids to see themselves through the antics of others who share our world.
    P
  • The Winter Solstice

    Ellen Jackson, Jan Davey Ellis

    Paperback (First Avenue Editions TM, Aug. 1, 2003)
    The winter solstice―the shortest day of the year―marks the beginning of the coldest, darkest season. Discover the scientific reasons for this phenomenon and learn how cultures past and present have celebrated it.
    Q
  • The Lemonade War

    Jacqueline Davies

    Paperback (HMH Books for Young Readers, May 4, 2009)
    Family, fairness, and…lemonade?This first installment in the award-winning Lemonade War series follows a battling brother-sister duo as they start competing businesses, gather savvy marketing tips, tackle practical math, learn business terms, and dig into a good old sibling rivalry. When Evan Treski finds out that his younger sister is skipping third grade and joining his fourth-grade class, he is not happy. The last thing he wants is Jessie showing him up with her perfect grades, and he definitely doesn’t need her help getting his lemonade stand up and running…even if the business side of things has got him confused. Jessie doesn’t understand why Evan won’t team up with her, but she’s got a plan to set up her own lemonade stand to prove her worth. Now if she can just figure out how to attract customers as easily as Evan can, she’ll be able to show him what he’s missing.Can these siblings do it all on their own, or will they need each other after all? And will their lemonade war ever end? Brimming with ideas for making money at any business, definitions of business terms, charts, diagrams, and even math problems, this fresh, funny, emotionally charged novel explores how arguments can escalate beyond anyone’s intent—and the unique rivalry (and partnership) that comes with having siblings.Check out for more information on The Lemonade War Series, including sequels The Lemonade Crime, The Bell Bandit, and The Candy Smash.
    S
  • The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

    Jeanne Birdsall

    Paperback (Yearling, March 13, 2007)
    This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look! This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures. The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget. Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
    T
  • Wishtree

    Katherine Applegate

    Hardcover (Feiwel & Friends, Sept. 26, 2017)
    Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime Book Box – a children’s subscription that inspires a love of reading.An Amazon Top 20 Children's Books of 2017The New York Times-bestselling story of kindness, friendship, and hope. Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with a crow named Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this wishtree watches over the neighborhood.You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experience as a wishtree is more important than ever.Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, this is Katherine Applegate at her very best―writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.This book has Common Core connections.
    T
  • Earth & How It Works

    DK Publishing

    Hardcover (DK CHILDREN, March 15, 1993)
    Full-color illustrations--including aerial views, panoramic reconstructions, and cross-section drawings--describe the varied forces that continue to shape the face of planet Earth.
    Y
  • How the World Works: A Hands-On Guide to Our Amazing Planet

    Christian Dorion, Beverley Young

    Hardcover (Templar, Feb. 23, 2010)
    You can make science fun for your adventurous kid with How the World Works. No droning text here - more like pop-ups, flaps to lift, tabs to pull, wheels to turn... your kid'll hardly know they're reading and learning.Make your family outdoor shenanigans even more fun with Ruckus Ready toys and outside games from Play Outdoors. Made for kids of all ages....
    N
  • Time of Wonder

    Robert McCloskey

    Paperback (Puffin Books, June 15, 1989)
    Winner of the Caldecott Medal! For fans of Blueberries for Sal, One Morning in Maine, and Make way for Ducklings."Out on the islands that poke their rocky shores above the waters of Penobscot Bay, you can watch the time of the world go by, from minute to minute, hour to hour, from day to day . . ." So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal. The spell of rain, the gulls and a foggy morning, the excitement of sailing, the quiet of the night, the sudden terror of a hurricane, and, in the end, the peace of the island as the family packs up to leave are shown in poetic language and vibrant, evocative pictures.
    M
  • Caterpillar Summer

    Gillian McDunn

    Hardcover (Bloomsbury Children's Books, April 2, 2019)
    This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget."An engaging, honest book." --Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of The War That Saved My Life"A beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up.”--Kate Messner, author of Breakout and The Seventh WishCat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond--Cat is one of the few people who can keep Chicken happy. When he has a "meltdown" she’s the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She’s the one who knows what Chicken needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat has been the glue holding her family together.But even the strongest glue sometimes struggles to hold. When a summer trip doesn’t go according to plan, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they never knew. For the first time in years, Cat has the opportunity to be a kid again, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken or strained relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another’s shoes.An Indies Introduce PickA Parents Best Book of the YearA Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the YearAn Amazon Best Book of the Year
    W
  • The I Hate to Read Book

    Jimmy Huston

    Hardcover (Cosworth Publishing, Dec. 6, 2016)
    Reading is not for everybody, but everybody has to read. This is a light-hearted look at reading dislikes and difficulties. The I Hate to Read Book pokes fun at teachers, parents, and others who push readers (young and old) who don't want to be pushed. For once, give them a book that they'll enjoy. And, it's short.
    L