Browse all books

Books with title Where I Live

  • Where Do I Live?

    Neil Chesanow

    Paperback (B.E.S., Oct. 1, 1995)
    Children will gain a whole new understanding of the world we live in with this fun, first-look at geography. This engaing picture book is like a mini virtual globe for kids! Starting in their bedrooms, children will travel outside for a look around the streets of their neighborhood. Then, they'll zoom out for a bird's eye view of their town, city, suburb, and countryside. They'll move out even further for a view of the states, the country, and the different continents. The next stop is space, for an exciting look at our solar sysem and universe! From there, they'll trace their way home again. A fun mini quiz in the back lets kids show off what they've learned about where they live.
    K
  • Where Do I Live?

    Neil Chesanow

    eBook (B.E.S., Feb. 1, 2011)
    Children will gain a whole new understanding of the world we live in with this fun, first-look at geography. This engaing picture book is like a mini virtual globe for kids! Starting in their bedrooms, children will travel outside for a look around the streets of their neighborhood. Then, they'll zoom out for a bird's eye view of their town, city, suburb, and countryside. They'll move out even further for a view of the states, the country, and the different continents. The next stop is space, for an exciting look at our solar sysem and universe! From there, they'll trace their way home again. A fun mini quiz in the back lets kids show off what they've learned about where they live.
  • Where Do I Live?

    Jim O'Brien, Ben Kass, James P. O'Brien

    Audiobook (James P. O'Brien, May 15, 2015)
    Scooter the dog sees the front door is open and decides to go on an adventure. Heading up the street, he checks out a park and an ice cream truck. As the sun goes down, he looks around and realizes that he doesn't know where he lives. He tries to remember his address, but can't. So, he takes to the street to try and find his way home. Along the way he meets an interesting group of friends who teach him a few things along the way.
  • Where I Live

    Brenda Rufener

    Hardcover (HarperTeen, Feb. 27, 2018)
    Included on Bustle's list of the "27 Most Anticipated YA Contemporary Books Hitting Shelves in 2018"!"Fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon will enjoy this realistic debut novel, which brings to light heavy topics of homelessness and abuse." --School Library Journal"Where I Live is hard-hitting and real and filled with hope. It makes you want to find your voice, find your people, and tell your story." --Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the UniverseFrom debut author Brenda Rufener comes a heart-wrenching and evocative story perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Girl in Pieces, and All the Bright Places.Linden Rose has a big secret--she is homeless and living in the halls of her small-town high school. Her position as school blog editor, her best friends, Ham and Seung, and the promise of a future far away are what keep Linden under the radar and moving forward.But when cool-girl Bea comes to school with a bloody lip, the damage hits too close to home. Linden begins looking at Bea's life, and soon her investigation prompts people to pay more attention. And attention is the last thing she needs.Linden knows the only way to put a stop to the violence is to tell Bea's story and come to terms with her own painful past. Even if that means breaking her rules for survival and jeopardizing the secrets she's worked so hard to keep.
  • Where I Live

    Brenda Rufener

    eBook (HarperTeen, Feb. 27, 2018)
    Included on Bustle's list of the "27 Most Anticipated YA Contemporary Books Hitting Shelves in 2018"!“Fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon will enjoy this realistic debut novel, which brings to light heavy topics of homelessness and abuse.” —School Library Journal“Where I Live is hard-hitting and real and filled with hope. It makes you want to find your voice, find your people, and tell your story.” —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the UniverseFrom debut author Brenda Rufener comes a heart-wrenching and evocative story perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Girl in Pieces, and All the Bright Places.Linden Rose has a big secret—she is homeless and living in the halls of her small-town high school. Her position as school blog editor, her best friends, Ham and Seung, and the promise of a future far away are what keep Linden under the radar and moving forward.But when cool-girl Bea comes to school with a bloody lip, the damage hits too close to home. Linden begins looking at Bea’s life, and soon her investigation prompts people to pay more attention. And attention is the last thing she needs. Linden knows the only way to put a stop to the violence is to tell Bea’s story and come to terms with her own painful past. Even if that means breaking her rules for survival and jeopardizing the secrets she’s worked so hard to keep.
  • Where I Live

    Eileen Spinelli, Matt Phelan

    Hardcover (Dial Books, June 21, 2007)
    Diana loves where she lives. She loves the astronomy charts on her walls and the fact that she can wave to her best friend, Rose, from her very own window. And best of all, a wren has recently made its home right by her front door! When her family is forced to move, Diana wonders if she?ll ever find that same grounded and happy feeling again. This gentle and ultimately redeeming story in poems is about those secure and fulfilling friendships that happen naturally and easily when you live right next door, and the struggles of losing the comfort of a familiar place. Matt Phelan's warm and expressive illustrations perfectly complement Eileen Spinelli's tenderhearted and unique tale that reminds us that sometimes a little uprooting and change is necessary for growth.
    N
  • Where Do I Live?

    Neil Chesanow

    eBook (Barron's Educational Series, Oct. 1, 1995)
    Children will gain a whole new understanding of the world we live in with this fun, first-look at geography. This engaing picture book is like a mini virtual globe for kids! Starting in their bedrooms, children will travel outside for a look around the streets of their neighborhood. Then, they'll zoom out for a bird's eye view of their town, city, suburb, and countryside. They'll move out even further for a view of the states, the country, and the different continents. The next stop is space, for an exciting look at our solar sysem and universe! From there, they'll trace their way home again. A fun mini quiz in the back lets kids show off what they've learned about where they live.
  • Where I Live

    Eileen Spinelli, Matt Phelan

    language (Dial Books, June 21, 2007)
    Diana loves where she lives. She loves the astronomy charts on her walls and the fact that she can wave to her best friend, Rose, from her very own window. And best of all, a wren has recently made its home right by her front door! When her family is forced to move, Diana wonders if she?ll ever find that same grounded and happy feeling again. This gentle and ultimately redeeming story in poems is about those secure and fulfilling friendships that happen naturally and easily when you live right next door, and the struggles of losing the comfort of a familiar place. Matt Phelan's warm and expressive illustrations perfectly complement Eileen Spinelli's tenderhearted and unique tale that reminds us that sometimes a little uprooting and change is necessary for growth.
    N
  • Where I Live

    Eileen Spinelli, Matt Phelan

    Hardcover (Dial, June 21, 2007)
    Diana loves where she lives. She loves the astronomy charts on her walls and the fact that she can wave to her best friend, Rose, from her very own window. And best of all, a wren has recently made its home right by her front door! When her family is forced to move, Diana wonders if she’ll ever find that same grounded and happy feeling again. This gentle and ultimately redeeming story in poems is about those secure and fulfilling friendships that happen naturally and easily when you live right next door, and the struggles of losing the comfort of a familiar place. Matt Phelan’s warm and expressive illustrations perfectly complement Eileen Spinelli’s tenderhearted and unique tale that reminds us that sometimes a little uprooting and change is necessary for growth.
    N
  • Where I Live

    Bruce Larkin

    language (Wilbooks, Nov. 27, 2017)
    This is an easy reader which introduces early elementary school students to interesting facts about where animals make their homes.
    B
  • Where Will I Live?

    Rosemary McCarney

    Hardcover (Second Story Press, April 4, 2017)
    This stunning photo essay takes a look at the thousands of children around the world who have been forced to flee war, terror, hunger and natural disasters, young refugees on the move with very little left except questions. It's hard to imagine, but the images here will help unaffected children understand not only what this must feel like, but also how very lucky they are. The final message is that children, even with uncertain futures, are resilient and can face uncertainty with optimism. With images from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.
    O
  • Why We Live Where We Live

    Kira Vermond, Julie McLaughlin

    Paperback (Owlkids, Sept. 9, 2014)
    Why do you live where you do? The answer is a lot more complicated than it might seem. Why that house? Why this community? Why do cities sprout where they do? And what makes living there even possible? Geography, topography, climate, landscape, food, politics, economics, and more all play a role in how we choose the place we call home. This book takes readers on a tour of various ways humans adapt to our environments — or change them to suit our needs. It considers the big picture — we live on Earth because it has a breathable atmosphere — right down to the little things, like friendly neighbors, that simply make us happy. Why We Live Where We Live looks back in history at the transition from nomadic hunting to farming and the rise of cities following the Industrial Revolution. It also looks ahead to anticipate new concerns: how will climate change and rising water affect people who live near the ocean? Can humans survive in space? This comprehensive, cross-curricular resource will equip readers with solid background in human habitation and context about their place on the planet.Grade: 5Fountas & Pinnel: TLexile Measure: 930LCommon Core State Standards:CCSS.ELA-Literacy.L.5.4,4a,4c,6CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RF.5.3,3a,4,4a,4cCCSS.ELA-Literacy.RI.5.1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.5.2,2a,2b,2d,2e,4,7,8,9b,10
    W