Browse all books

Books with title Violet the Pilot

  • Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    Paperback (Puffin Books, Sept. 13, 2016)
    Violet is a science-loving girl inventor with a flair for the air! Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Rosie Revere, Engineer will love this classic underdog story by two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist Steve Breen.By the time she's two years old, Violet Van Winkle can engineer nearly any appliance in the house. And by eight she's building elaborate flying machines from scratch—mind-boggling contraptions such as the Tubbubbler, the Bicycopter, and the Wing-a-ma-jig. The kids at school tease her, but they have no idea what she's capable of. Maybe she could earn their respect by winning the blue ribbon in the upcoming Air Show. Or maybe something even better will happen—something involving her best-ever invention, a Boy Scout troop in peril, and even the mayor himself!"An engaging story of a spunky girl who follows her dreams . . . Violet is a terrific role model."--School Library Journal
    N
  • Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    Hardcover (Dial Books, March 13, 2008)
    By the time she?s two years old, Violet Van Winkle can fi x nearly any appliance in the house. And by eight she?s building elaborate fl ying machines from scratch?mind-boggling contraptions such as the Tubbubbler, the Bicycopter, and the Wing-a-ma-jig. The kids at school tease her, but they have no idea what she?s capable of. Maybe she could earn their respect by winning the blue ribbon in the upcoming Air Show. Or maybe something even better will happen?something involving her bestever invention, a Boy Scout troop in peril, and even the mayor himself! A classic underdog story full of humor and sweetness and retro pizzazz, Violet the Pilot is both endearing and adorable. It?ll fl y right into your heart.
    K
  • Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    eBook (Dial Books, March 13, 2008)
    By the time she?s two years old, Violet Van Winkle can fi x nearly any appliance in the house. And by eight she?s building elaborate fl ying machines from scratch?mind-boggling contraptions such as the Tubbubbler, the Bicycopter, and the Wing-a-ma-jig. The kids at school tease her, but they have no idea what she?s capable of. Maybe she could earn their respect by winning the blue ribbon in the upcoming Air Show. Or maybe something even better will happen?something involving her bestever invention, a Boy Scout troop in peril, and even the mayor himself! A classic underdog story full of humor and sweetness and retro pizzazz, Violet the Pilot is both endearing and adorable. It?ll fl y right into your heart.
  • The Pilot

    Michael Cole

    eBook (Severed Press, Feb. 4, 2019)
    Led by former Navy SEAL Victor Seymour, an elite team of mercenaries are sent by the CIA to rescue hostages, and secure data from an under siege top-secret island facility. But upon arrival, they discover ravaged military equipment, a mass grave, and a platoon of hostile forces already in retreat. As the team investigates, they uncover the secret that the island has contained for centuries.For the first time, modern man will come face-to-face with a being from beyond the stars. A member of a deadly intergalactic invasive species, the beast is ravenous, cunning, lacking emotion or empathy. With his team dwindling, Seymour must fight to keep the beast from leaving the island, and to save humanity from the terrifying extraterrestrial known as The Pilot.
  • The Pilot

    Michael Cole

    Paperback (Severed Press, Feb. 8, 2019)
    Led by former Navy SEAL Victor Seymour, an elite team of mercenaries are sent by the CIA to rescue hostages, and secure data from an under siege top-secret island facility. But upon arrival, they discover ravaged military equipment, a mass grave, and a platoon of hostile forces already in retreat. As the team investigates, they uncover the secret that the island has contained for centuries.For the first time, modern man will come face-to-face with a being from beyond the stars. A member of a deadly intergalactic invasive species, the beast is ravenous, cunning, lacking emotion or empathy. With his team dwindling, Seymour must fight to keep the beast from leaving the island, and to save humanity from the terrifying extraterrestrial known as The Pilot.
  • Violet the Pilot

    aa

    Hardcover (Dial Books, Aug. 16, 1994)
    None
  • Violet The Pilot

    Steve Breen

    Library Binding (Turtleback Books, Sept. 13, 2016)
    FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. Determined to show her classmates what an amazing inventor she is, Violet Van Winkle decides to take part in the big air show and win a ribbon with her own invention, but when a perilous event involving the Boy Scout troop occurs, Violet jumps into action and surprisingly ends up becoming the hero of the whole town!
    N
  • Violet the Pilot In Canada

    Bettina Jenkins Bathe, Barbara Fortin

    Paperback (Trafford Publishing, Oct. 18, 2004)
    Violet the Pilot in Canada loves adventures, airplanes and different countries. She always has her three devoted friends with her -- Beaver, Ladybug and Butterfly. In her first book Violet is flying a floatplane in Kenora, Ontario while on a fishing expedition. From every book sold, the author will donate $1.00 to the Heart and Stroke Foundation on behalf of her father Cliff Jenkins. Visit www.violetthepilot.com for more information
    N
  • The Pilot

    William Jessop

    language (William Jessop, May 20, 2013)
    Ben Jennings, an Australian boy, is coming to the end of his year long stay in England. After the ordeal endured during the first few weeks of his visit here, he is enjoying friendships made when he first found he was being haunted by the ghost of a boy who had died and was hidden in the cottage that he and his parents were renting.Ben is not looking forward to leaving those close friends, especially the beautiful and mystic Flicky, his girlfriend.When the youngsters discover that a cottage, situated in a remote place and being renovated by the father of one of them is also haunted, this time by a modern ghost, Ben finds he is unwittingly drawn to the centre of this fresh mystery by the fact the ghost has the same Australian accent as himself. It seems impossible an Aussie ghost should be haunting this old but newly modernised cottage in the heart of rural England.In seeking to solve this problem, the small group of friends suffer terrifying and puzzling experiences. These are made worse by rumours of the haunting coming to the attention of the media, both in the local press and with an unfriendly television reporter.
  • Violet the Pilot Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    Paperback (Dial Books, March 13, 2008)
    None
  • Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    Paperback (Puffin Books, Aug. 16, 2008)
    None