Browse all books

Books with title The Haunter

  • The Haunting

    Joan Lowery Nixon

    Mass Market Paperback (Laurel Leaf, Sept. 12, 2000)
    For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Haunting from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. The walls whisper. The ceilings shriek. No one can survive a night of terror inside Graymoss. The old plantation house has been in Lia’s family since the Civil War, but it’s been possessed for generations by a malicious spirit, and Lia’s family has always stayed far away. Now her parents have decided to move into Graymoss, and Lia must either change their minds or chase away the horror lurking inside the old house. Using clues from her great-great-grandmother’s diary and an old copy of Favorite Tales of Edgar Allan Poe, Lia must discover what—or who—the evil wants. “Nixon creates a spooky setting fairly dripping in atmosphere, then spins an ever-tightening thread of tension.” –Kirkus Reviews “A book that will please mystery fans…[and a] plot [that] keeps readers guessing until the end.” –School Library Journal “Nixon has woven a tale that grabs and holds her readers…It’s a really fun read!” –VOYA “A page-turner that will satisfy mystery and ghost story fans.” –Booklist
    Z
  • The Haunted Halls

    Jason Tharp, J. B. Rose

    eBook (Scholastic Inc, July 31, 2018)
    It's Halloween at Happy Tails School and Peachy and Keen want to uncover what's really making that "Ooooo" noise coming from the locker rooms and write about it for Purrfect9. But when they sneak into school after hours, they discover something they weren't quite ready for. Could Happy Tails School be home to a spooky ghost or is there some other explanation for all of that spooky singing?
  • The Haunting

    Rodman Philbrick, Lynn Harnett

    Paperback (Open Road Media Teen & Tween, March 27, 2018)
    A vacation house has a terrifying past—one that only the children know about Jason, his little sister, Sally, and his parents plan to spend the summer in the perfect seaside vacation home. But as soon as Jason steps onto the porch, icy air grips him, and he feels the stare of an invisible being. Although he can’t explain it, he knows that in this house, children are not welcome. Jason soon meets Steve, a friendly kid who teases him about the so-called haunted house and the witch who used to live there. Jason tries to ignore him, but he’s pretty sure there’s truth to the spooky tale. Especially when he meets the pale figure of a child in the house . . .The Haunting is the first book of the chilling House on Cherry Street trilogy from prolific wife-and-husband coauthors Lynn Harnett and Rodman Philbrick, the Newbery Honor Award–winning author of Freak the Mighty.
    T
  • The Happy Hunter

    Roger Duvoisin

    Hardcover (Enchanted Lion Books, Oct. 11, 2016)
    One fine day, Mr. Bobbin dons his hunting outfit and heads into the forest. Fully equipped and ready, he's forgotten one thing––that he's a hunter, as well as a vegetarian, who cannot hunt because of his great love of animals. Curiously, this is a true story. When first published in 1961, the real happy hunter had been "hunting" for 25 years.Roger Duvoisin was born in Switzerland and came to the US in 1925. He wrote and illustrated forty books, and illustrated over 100 more by other authors. He received the Caldecott Medal in 1947 for White Snow, Bright Snow and a Caldecott Honor in 1966 for Hide and Seek Fog.
    N
  • The Hunter

    L.J. Smith

    Mass Market Paperback (Simon Pulse, March 1, 1994)
    When Jenny Thorton and her friends open the mysterious white box given to her by Julian, they discover a mysterious game and enter a house of horrors full of their worst nightmares. Original.
    Z+
  • The Haunting

    Joan Lowery Nixon

    eBook (Delacorte Books for Young Readers, Dec. 18, 2007)
    For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Haunting from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. The walls whisper. The ceilings shriek. No one can survive a night of terror inside Graymoss. The old plantation house has been in Lia’s family since the Civil War, but it’s been possessed for generations by a malicious spirit, and Lia’s family has always stayed far away. Now her parents have decided to move into Graymoss, and Lia must either change their minds or chase away the horror lurking inside the old house. Using clues from her great-great-grandmother’s diary and an old copy of Favorite Tales of Edgar Allan Poe, Lia must discover what—or who—the evil wants. “Nixon creates a spooky setting fairly dripping in atmosphere, then spins an ever-tightening thread of tension.” –Kirkus Reviews “A book that will please mystery fans…[and a] plot [that] keeps readers guessing until the end.” –School Library Journal “Nixon has woven a tale that grabs and holds her readers…It’s a really fun read!” –VOYA “A page-turner that will satisfy mystery and ghost story fans.” –Booklist
    W
  • The Hunter

    Jan Wahl, Tim Jessell

    Hardcover (Creative Editions, Aug. 21, 2018)
    As a hunter sets out early one morning, he is greeted by the sights and sounds of autumn in the forest. Leaves rustle. A rabbit darts out. Finches fly overhead. When he comes across the deer he has been seeking, the hunter watches. He waits. And then he does something unexpected. Weaving a story of quiet reverence for nature as the artwork imbues the wooded scenes with a lifelike interplay of light and shadow, The Hunter captures the radiance of a perfect fall day.
    N
  • The Hunter

    Mary Casanova, Ed Young

    Hardcover (Atheneum Books for Young Readers, Sept. 1, 2000)
    Hai Li Bu is a good hunter, but not even he can find enough food for his village when the drought comes. The people grow thin and weak, the children rarely laugh -- but worst of all, they begin to argue and stop listening to one another. Out on a hunt one day, Hai Li Bu saves a small snake from the beak of a crane. He is surprised to learn that he has rescued the daughter of the Dragon King of the Sea. The Dragon King offers Hai Li Bu the reward of his choice. Hai Li Bu asks only to know the language of animals. Then he can be a better hunter for his village. His wish is granted with a provision: He must never reveal the secret of his gift to anyone. Hai Li Bu's people are saved from famine, but when he hears from the animals that a flood is coming that will destroy everything in his village, the people do not listen to him. "You ask us to leave our homes. How can we know what you say is true?" a village elder asks him. Now Hai Li Bu is faced with a terrible choice: to let the people of his village die in the flood or to reveal his secret, knowing the dire consequences for himself. Caldecott Medal and Honor-winner Ed Young's magnificent illustrations bring this poignant traditional folktale to life.
    P
  • The Haunted Car

    R. L. Stine

    Library Binding (Turtleback, April 28, 2015)
    FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. The original series from the Master of Fright--now a major motion picture in theaters August 7, 2015! The original books featuring the scariest creatures from the Goosebumps movie, in theaters August 7th, 2015! Mitchell Moinian tried to do some homework. But he kept jumping up and going to his bedroom window to peer down at the car. A street light made the chrome bumpers sparkle and the sleek blue body glow. Mitchell couldn't resist. He had to sit in the car. Holding his breath, he crept down the stairs and out the front door. He stepped around to the driver's side of the car and grabbed the handle. ""Go ahead,"" a voice whispered. ""Climb in."" Mitchell had no idea how scary this ride was going to be.
    S
  • The Haunted Tower

    Susannah Leigh

    Paperback (Edc Pub, April 1, 1989)
    -- Action packed stories of mystery and adventure interwoven with puzzles to solve-- Great fun for kids to read and decipher
    L
  • The Hunter

    Anne Schraff

    language (Saddleback Educational Publishing, July 10, 2017)
    High school baseball star, Greg Naylor, gets on the wrong side of his co-worker, Adam Lewis. Then some bad things start to happen. Is Adam the one who’s causing all the trouble? Or is it the ex-con who burglarized the Naylors’ house ten years ago?
  • The Haunter of the Dark

    Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    Paperback (Independently published, Dec. 31, 2019)
    The story takes place in Providence, Rhode Island and revolves around the Church of Starry Wisdom. The cult uses an ancient artifact known as the Shining Trapezohedron to summon a terrible being from the depths of time and space.The Shining Trapezohedron was discovered in Egyptian ruins, in a box of alien construction, by Professor Enoch Bowen before he returned to Providence, Rhode Island in 1844. Members of the Church of Starry Wisdom in Providence would awaken the Haunter of the Dark, an avatar of Nyarlathotep, by gazing into the glowing crystal. Summoned from the black gulfs of chaos, this being could show other worlds, other galaxies, and the secrets of arcane and paradoxical knowledge; but he demanded monstrous sacrifices, hinted at by disfigured skeletons that were later found in the church. The Haunter of the Dark was banished by light and could not cross a lighted area.