Browse all books

Books with title The Clever Princess

  • The Water Princess

    Susan Verde, Georgie Badiel, Peter H. Reynolds

    Hardcover (G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers, Sept. 13, 2016)
    Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime Book Box – a children’s subscription that inspires a love of reading.Based on supermodel Georgie Badiel’s childhood, a young girl dreams of bringing clean drinking water to her African villageWith its wide sky and warm earth, Princess Gie Gie’s kingdom is a beautiful land. But clean drinking water is scarce in her small African village. And try as she might, Gie Gie cannot bring the water closer; she cannot make it run clearer. Every morning, she rises before the sun to make the long journey to the well. Instead of a crown, she wears a heavy pot on her head to collect the water. After the voyage home, after boiling the water to drink and clean with, Gie Gie thinks of the trip that tomorrow will bring. And she dreams. She dreams of a day when her village will have cool, crystal-clear water of its own.Inspired by the childhood of African–born model Georgie Badiel, acclaimed author Susan Verde and award-winning author/illustrator Peter H. Reynolds have come together to tell this moving story. As a child in Burkina Faso, Georgie and the other girls in her village had to walk for miles each day to collect water. This vibrant, engaging picture book sheds light on this struggle that continues all over the world today, instilling hope for a future when all children will have access to clean drinking water.
    L
  • The Water Princess

    Susan Verde, Georgie Badiel, Yetide Bodaki, Weston Woods Studios Inc

    Audible Audiobook (Weston Woods Studios Inc, Sept. 1, 2018)
    A young girl dreams of bringing clean drinking water to her African village. As a child in Burkina Faso, Georgie and the other girls in her village had to walk for miles each day to collect water. This vibrant, engaging story sheds light on this struggle that continues all over the world today, instilling hope for a future when all children will have access to clean drinking water.
  • The Water Princess

    Susan Verde, Peter H. Reynolds

    Paperback
    This is a new book, not read, not used.
    L
  • The Water Princess

    Susan Verde, Georgie Badiel, Peter H. Reynolds

    eBook (G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers, Sept. 13, 2016)
    Based on supermodel Georgie Badiel’s childhood, a young girl dreams of bringing clean drinking water to her African villageWith its wide sky and warm earth, Princess Gie Gie’s kingdom is a beautiful land. But clean drinking water is scarce in her small African village. And try as she might, Gie Gie cannot bring the water closer; she cannot make it run clearer. Every morning, she rises before the sun to make the long journey to the well. Instead of a crown, she wears a heavy pot on her head to collect the water. After the voyage home, after boiling the water to drink and clean with, Gie Gie thinks of the trip that tomorrow will bring. And she dreams. She dreams of a day when her village will have cool, crystal-clear water of its own.Inspired by the childhood of African–born model Georgie Badiel, acclaimed author Susan Verde and award-winning author/illustrator Peter H. Reynolds have come together to tell this moving story. As a child in Burkina Faso, Georgie and the other girls in her village had to walk for miles each day to collect water. This vibrant, engaging picture book sheds light on this struggle that continues all over the world today, instilling hope for a future when all children will have access to clean drinking water.
    L
  • The Coven Princess

    Lily Luchesi

    eBook (CHBB Publishing, Feb. 28, 2018)
    Your blood does not define you.Harley Torrance's parents were killed in a home invasion when she was three. Adopted by a nice couple, Harley begins to develop strange powers. At fourteen she brews a potion so strong it gains the attention of the Coven King, and changes her world forever.She's not human, she's a witch.Now a part of the magical community, Harley must learn to control her powers lest the Darkness already in her blood overcomes her. Can she dampen her lust for power in order to stop the Dark from taking over the Coven and killing everyone in their way?
  • The Clever Princess

    Selene Venus

    language (, June 13, 2014)
    The Clever Princess is a great starter book for young girls as the it breaks the norm of typical fairytales where princesses are rescued by princes. In this story, the princess uses her wit and resourcefulness to save herself..and the prince!
  • The Tower Princess

    Shonna Slayton

    eBook (Amaretto Press, Feb. 26, 2018)
    A princess in a tower. A prince hidden at birth. Together, they'll tear down walls.The townspeople call her the Tower Princess, but Gressa's life is no fairy tale. She's never understood why she's been separated from the rest of the kingdom, but now that she's older the pieces are coming together.For too long she's been trapped in her brother's scheme to find a way through the magical wall dividing their kingdom in two. She doesn't expect any help from the prince to the south, even if he did manage to bumble his way to her rescue.If she could pick anyone to form an alliance, it would be the squire she watches train from her window; he shows promise. But, confined to her tower, there's nothing she can do...or is there? One day a hole opens up in the Dividing Wall and with it, a chance for Gressa to change everything.The Tower Princess is the first book in the Lost Fairy Tales series, a collection of loosely-connected stand-alone novels. If you like classic fairy-tale stories and sweet romance, then you'll love Gressa and Manny's desperate quest for rescuing their kingdom.
  • The Princess Curse

    Merrie Haskell

    Paperback (HarperCollins, May 28, 2013)
    Merrie Haskell’s middle-grade fantasy novel Princess Curse is an imaginative retelling of the fairy tales The Twelve Dancing Princesses and Beauty and the Beast. In the fifteenth-century kingdom of Sylvania, the prince offers a fabulous reward to anyone who cures the curse that forces the princesses to spend each night dancing to the point of exhaustion. Everyone who tries disappears or falls into an enchanted sleep. Thirteen-year-old Reveka, a smart, courageous herbalist’s apprentice, decides to attempt to break the curse despite the danger. Unravelling the mystery behind the curse leads Reveka to the Underworld, and to save the princesses, Reveka will have to risk her soul. Princess Curse combines magic, suspense, humor, and adventure into a story perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine.
    X
  • The Cloud Princess

    Khoa Le

    Hardcover (Insight Kids, June 14, 2016)
    The exciting story of a princess who lives happily in the clouds, but wants to discover the world beneath her. Down to Earth she goes in search of adventure . . . until something unexpected happens.Cloud Princess lives high in the sky, together with Miss Sun and Miss Moon, but she wants to discover what life on Earth is like. So one day she drifts down to Earth and sees the cars and the flowers and the people that live there. Unfortunately, sinking down to Earth sparks a curious change in her—she begins to turn into water! She dashes back to her home in the sky, but loved Earth so much that she visits every Spring—and brings the rain along with her.
    M
  • The Paper Princess

    Elisa Kleven

    Paperback (Puffin Books, May 1, 1998)
    A gust of wind sends a paper princess flying. "Wait! I didn't finish you," cries the little girl who made her. "I'll finish myself," calls the princess, and the wind carries her away, over a meadow and a river, to a carnival and a town, until finally she finds her way home. "Elisa Kleven's mixed-media collages are a kaleidoscope of color and activity, encompassing a vast, multiracial cast of happy people?" (Publishers Weekly). "The best book yet from this talented author/illustrator, and one that children will love." —School Library Journal, starred reviewElisa Kleven's award-winning picture books include her own Ernst and The Lion and the Little Red Bird, the illustrations for Abuela, by Arthur Dorros, and her most recent book for Dutton, The Puddle Pail. She lives near San Francisco, California.
    O
  • The Princess of Cleves

    Madame de Lafayette

    eBook (Digireads.com Publishing, Jan. 1, 2014)
    First published anonymously in 1678, Madame de Lafayette is generally believed to be the author behind "The Princess of Cleves." Set between October 1558 and November 1559 at the royal court of Henry II of France, the novel is concerned with Mademoiselle de Chartres, a sheltered heiress who is brought to the court by her mother to find her a proper husband. This soon to be princess will find herself caught between her duty as a wife and her untimely love for another man. "The Princess of Cleves" is one of the great classics of French literature, known for its remarkable historical accuracy. The novel which is not only highly evocative of a past era marked a major turning point in world literature. Up to then novels had been highly romanticized whereas "The Princess of Cleves" is noted for having a highly realistic plot with deeply introspective characters.
  • The Princess Curse

    Merrie Haskell

    eBook (HarperCollins, Sept. 6, 2011)
    Twelve princesses suffer from a puzzling (if silly) curse, and anyone who ends it will win a reward. Reveka, a sharp-witted and irreverent apprentice herbalist, wants that reward. But her investigations lead to deeper mysteries and a daunting choice—will she break the curse at the peril of her own soul?