Browse all books

Books with title Nana in the City

  • Nana in the City

    Lauren Castillo

    Hardcover (Clarion Books, Sept. 2, 2014)
    A 2015 Caldecott Honor Book In this magical picture book, a young boy spends an overnight visit with his nana and is frightened to find that the city where she lives is filled with noise and crowds and scary things. But then Nana makes him a special cape to help him be brave, and soon the everyday sights, sounds, and smells of the city are not scary—but wonderful. The succinct text is paired with watercolor illustrations that capture all the vitality, energy, and beauty of the city.
    M
  • Nana in the City

    Lauren Castillo

    eBook (Clarion Books, Sept. 2, 2014)
    A 2015 Caldecott Honor Book In this magical picture book, a young boy spends an overnight visit with his nana and is frightened to find that the city where she lives is filled with noise and crowds and scary things. But then Nana makes him a special cape to help him be brave, and soon the everyday sights, sounds, and smells of the city are not scary—but wonderful. The succinct text is paired with watercolor illustrations that capture all the vitality, energy, and beauty of the city.
  • In the City

    Carron Brown

    Hardcover (Kane Miller Books / EDC Publishing, )
    What's it like to live in a big city? Enjoy a typical day with a family as they go about their daily routines and special outings. Shine a light behind the scenes to see the city's hidden wonders.
  • In the City

    Chris Raschka

    Hardcover (Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books, Sept. 29, 2020)
    From Caldecott Award–winning and New York Times bestselling author Chris Raschka, this tender and fun-filled picture book celebrates unexpected friendship and city life from the perspective of pigeons!How do two friends find each other? Why choose this one, not another? Are two friends just meant to be— I for you and you for me? Two pigeons fly through the city hoping to find a friend—but where do friends come from? In this brightly illustrated love letter to cities, the fine, feathered characters discover the magical, unlikely connections that happen best in the hustle and bustle of a big city.
  • In the City

    M.d. Adu-sarkodie, Nanayaw, Sr. Bunch, Terrell Lamont

    Paperback (Authorhouse, June 11, 2019)
    In the City was inspired by a song that Dr. Yawza! sang to his youngest daughter during a trip to New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival. It was early morning, and she had just woken up and was looking for her momma. From the view in the hotel room, they could look out and see and hear the hustle and bustle of the city. Surprisingly, his daughter loved the song. Thus, In the City was born.
    K
  • In The City

    Lipniewska Dominika

    Hardcover (Button Books, Sept. 1, 2019)
    Get ready to begin your journey through a bustling city. Find buildings of every size and shape, different types of transportation, busy streets, parks, playgrounds, and zoos. Celebrate the vibrant mix of people you can see, the jobs they are doing, and how they enjoy themselves. Discover quiet, calm spots and loud, crowded places, restaurants serving every kind of food, stores selling everything you can imagine, and much more.
    G
  • In The City

    Tony Wolf

    Board book (Running Press, April 13, 2005)
    More than 60 lift-the-flap features--by turns big, small, funny, and surprising-plus bright, detailed illustrations accompany this great collection of some of the first words every toddler needs to know. Preschoolers will love these interactive AMAZING GIANT BOOKS, which offer so many flaps to lift that reading the books becomes a wonderful adventure. Parents will be amazed that these durable, beautifully designed books are available at such an attractive price-far below that of many less detailed lift-the-flap books currently on the market. From the airport to the schoolyard, the department store to the factory, children will love seeing the details of the world around them.
    G
  • Cat in the City

    Julie Salamon, Jill Weber

    Hardcover (Dial Books, Sept. 4, 2014)
    A tender and beautifully illustrated debut children’s book from a New York Times bestselling teamA city savvy stray cat named Pretty Boy has always managed to make it on his own. He’s as vain as they come, and he won’t admit to being dependent on anyone. But as he discovers the pleasures of friendship, he learns that home really is where the heart is. Or, at the very least, home is where his friends are. And with friends all around New York City, Pretty Boy will always have a place to call home.The author and illustrator team who brought us the New York Times bestseller The Christmas Tree introduce an unforgettable animal adventure in the tradition of A Cricket in Times Square and The One and Only Ivan. The result is a story that will captivate readers of all ages with its warmth and wit.
    P
  • No Sex in the City

    Randa Abdel-Fattah

    eBook (Saqi Books, July 1, 2013)
    It is a truth universally acknowledged . . . Esma is a modern Muslim woman with an age-old dilemma. She is well-educated, well-travelled and has excellent taste in music, but the hunt for Mr Right leads her to a number of Mr Wrongs. Together with wild-haired Ruby, principled Lisa, and drop-dead gorgeous Nirvana, Esma forms the No Sex in the City Club. Her quest for The One (or Mr Almost-Perfect) was never going to be easy, but soon enough it takes an unexpected and thrilling detour. 'Filled with humour and honesty, Randa has lifted the veil on arranged marriages and Muslim society, and proves that finding The One isn't easy for anyone, regardless of religion.' Kate Forster, author of The Perfect Location 'An enjoyable and unusual book about finding love down the arranged marriage route. Funny, wise and moving, it is also a tribute to the fabulous power of female friendship.' Jaishree Misra, author of Secrets and Lies and Secrets and Sins 'A lot of fun … there's a great deal of enjoyment to be had reading this tale!' Shelina Janmohamed
  • In the City

    NanaYaw Adu-Sarkodie MD, Terrell Lamont Bunch Sr

    eBook (AuthorHouse, June 11, 2019)
    In the City was inspired by a song that Dr. Yawza! sang to his youngest daughter during a trip to New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival. It was early morning, and she had just woken up and was looking for her momma. From the view in the hotel room, they could look out and see and hear the hustle and bustle of the city. Surprisingly, his daughter loved the song. Thus, In the City was born.
  • Cat in the City

    Julie Salamon, Jill Weber

    eBook (Dial Books, Sept. 4, 2014)
    A tender and beautifully illustrated debut children’s book from a New York Times bestselling teamA city savvy stray cat named Pretty Boy has always managed to make it on his own. He’s as vain as they come, and he won’t admit to being dependent on anyone. But as he discovers the pleasures of friendship, he learns that home really is where the heart is. Or, at the very least, home is where his friends are. And with friends all around New York City, Pretty Boy will always have a place to call home.The author and illustrator team who brought us the New York Times bestseller The Christmas Tree introduce an unforgettable animal adventure in the tradition of A Cricket in Times Square and The One and Only Ivan. The result is a story that will captivate readers of all ages with its warmth and wit.
  • In the city

    Susana Pasternac

    Paperback (Scholastic, March 15, 1994)
    None
    C