Browse all books

Books with title Monkey Time

  • Monkey

    Wu Ch’êng-ên, Kenneth Williams, Arthur Waley - translator, Naxos AudioBooks

    Audible Audiobook (Naxos AudioBooks, Oct. 2, 2015)
    Considered one of China's great classical novels, Wu Ch'êng-ên's Journey to the West was translated by Arthur Waley in abridged form as Monkey in 1942 and has delighted English readers ever since. It is a riveting adventure story about a priest's quest to obtain holy Buddhist scriptures for the Tang emperor; joining him on this rollicking journey: Sandy, Pigsy, and the mischievous monkey king, Sun Wukong, whose flying cloud and magic cudgel are never far from his infamous deeds. Waley's accessible rendition of Wu Ch'êng-ên's novel has become a classic in its own right: Gods, demons, and disobedient monkey spirits all come alive in this entertaining work.
  • Monkey Time

    Michael Hall

    Hardcover (Greenwillow Books, Feb. 26, 2019)
    Can you catch a minute? A monkey chases a minute in the rainforest in this clever, funny, and informational story about the concept of time from Michael Hall, the New York Times–bestselling and acclaimed author of Red: A Crayon’s Story. An excellent choice to share during homeschooling. It's a fun way to learn basic concepts of telling time.Monkey Time stars a silly monkey and sixty minutes, and it is perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Waiting Is Not Easy! and anyone learning about how time passes. Look for surprises in the pictures on every page! Meet monkey. Monkey is very curious about the brightly colored—and very tasty-looking—minutes on the minute tree in his forest. But can he catch one before it disappears?Playful, educational, and entertaining, this brightly illustrated book reinforces simple counting skills while introducing children to basic concepts about time, how time passes, and how time is measured. With illustrations full of engaging animals and a call-and-response text, and loads of rhythm, repetition, and humor, this is a great choice for family and story-time sharing. Includes three pages of facts reinforcing the math concepts and describing the rainforest friends introduced in the story.
    L
  • Monkey

    Penny Little, Mary McQuillan

    Board book (Disney-Hyperion, )
    Is your child a little monkey one day and a piggie the next? What better way to get in character than to put on a plush headband with ears, and clip on a furry tail! These unique dress-up play sets are just right for sparking young imaginations-and at just the right price.
    K
  • Monkey

    Jeff Stone

    Paperback (Yearling, Sept. 12, 2006)
    At 11-years-old, Malao is the youngest of the Five Ancestors. Master of the monkey fighting style, he’s curious and quick, fast and fun-loving. But now, with the destruction of the temple and the deaths of his older brothers and Grandmaster, Malao the fun-loving monkey is forced to face things he’d rather not. As he grapples with these new and unwelcome feelings, Malao has an encounter with a dangerous band of bandits, is adopted by a troop of monkeys commanded by a one-eyed albino, and hears tantalizing rumors of a mysterious recluse called the Monkey King, who is said to act, and look, a lot like him. . . .From the Hardcover edition.
    R
  • Monkey

    Caroline Arnold, Richard Hewett

    language (StarWalk Kids Media, Sept. 22, 2013)
    A fascinating view of the day-to day life of this distinctive monkey, both in captivity and in the wild, Monkey examines the physical characteristics and social behaviors that all monkeys share, as well as those that are unique to the mangabeys. Illustrated with forty lively, full-color photographs, Monkey is a delightful introduction to this nimble inhabitant of the African rainforest.
    R
  • Monkey

    Jeff Stone

    Hardcover (Random House Books for Young Readers, Sept. 27, 2005)
    At 11-years-old, Malao is the youngest of the Five Ancestors. Master of the monkey fighting style, he’s curious and quick, fast and fun-loving. But now, with the destruction of the temple and the deaths of his older brothers and Grandmaster, Malao the fun-loving monkey is forced to face things he’d rather not. As he grapples with these new and unwelcome feelings, Malao has an encounter with a dangerous band of bandits, is adopted by a troop of monkeys commanded by a one-eyed albino, and hears tantalizing rumors of a mysterious recluse called the Monkey King, who is said to act, and look, a lot like him. . . .
    U
  • Monkey & Me

    Emily Gravett

    Board book (Pan Macmillan UK, )
    Monkey and me, Monkey and me, Monkey and me, We went to see... A little girl and her toy monkey love imitating different animals, everything from jumping like kangaroos to waddling like penguins! Open this book and play along with them. Can you guess what animal they are now?
  • Monkey

    Ann B Smith, Antoni Bazia, Steven Niem

    Paperback (CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, Aug. 18, 2015)
    When Bazia began to retell a traditional central African folk tale called The Monkey’s Heart to young people, we knew we had found a very special way to talk about good and evil, friendship and courage. Project Bazia decided to lengthen this Monkey’s tale because Monkey is a very special fellow. Curious about the world, clever in survival, and kind to others, Monkey journeys up the Nile and meets other animals whose personalities will entertain and instruct you about the strengths and weaknesses of human hearts. Our illustrator, Steven Niem, hopes that his drawings will deepen your connection to the lessons in this fable. Steven was born in Sudan and now resides in San Diego, California.
    S
  • Monkey & Me

    Emily Gravett

    Paperback (Two Hoots, Jan. 11, 2018)
    None
  • Time & Money

    Learning Horizons

    Paperback (Learning Horizons, June 15, 2006)
    Time & money skill builder's great practice for school tests!
    J
  • Monkey

    Wu Ch'Eng-En, Arthur Waley

    Paperback (Penguin Classics, March 1, 1994)
    Monkey depicts the adventures of Prince Tripitaka, a young Buddhist priest on a dangerous pilgrimage to India to retrieve sacred scriptures accompanied by his three unruly disciples: the greedy pig creature Pipsy, the river monster Sandy and Monkey. Hatched from a stone egg and given the secrets of heaven and earth, the irrepressible trickster Monkey can ride on the clouds, become invisible and transform into other shapes skills that prove very useful when the four travellers come up against the dragons, bandits, demons and evil wizards that threaten to prevent them in their quest. Wu Ch'eng-en wrote Monkey in the mid-sixteenth century, adding his own distinctive style to an ancient Chinese legend, and in so doing created a dazzling combination of nonsense with profundity, slapstick comedy with spiritual wisdom.
  • Monkey

    Jessica Headey Gandolfi

    Hardcover (Austin Macauley, Aug. 30, 2019)
    This book is a story about an orphan. It is a magical tale of connection and trust, but most importantly, LOVE. Monkey is an orphan. He is an orphan with a dream, a wish, and a belief in magic. Monkey has a burning desire, to love and be loved. Amelia is a little girl with a dream, a wish and who also believes in magic. She has a twin brother, Samuel, a loving mummy, and a wonderful gift. She has so much love to give, it shines out of her eyes like sparkly moonbeams; it is a gift that is destined for someone very special. Their worlds collide at a funfair in a leafy suburb of London, and the magic begins. Will Amelia and Monkey make each other's wishes come true?
    L