Browse all books

Books with title Loser

  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli

    Paperback (HarperCollins, May 1, 2018)
    From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.
    U
  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli, Steve Buscemi, HarperAudio

    Audiobook (HarperAudio, Dec. 31, 2007)
    Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip". Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero".
  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli

    eBook (HarperCollins, Oct. 13, 2009)
    From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen. Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.
    U
  • Loser

    Ellie Storm

    eBook (, Aug. 11, 2020)
    It only took one night to change her life. A night that she doesn’t remember. Jordan Taylor was trying to stay in the shadows of her prestigious private school as she finished her senior year, but when she fainted at work and woke up the next day surrounded by police officers, she knew things would never be the same. Already labeled as an outcast, Jordan must team up with people she doesn’t trust and do the unthinkable to clear her name.
  • Loser

    Andrew Donkin, Jerry Spinelli, Giovanni Rigano, Paolo Lamanna

    Library Binding
    From the author of STARGIRL, a powerful novel of a young boy who is like all kids, yet unlike all kids. Loser is unique, a one-off, a touching and powerful book about the pull of individuality over the need to fit in...Donald Zinkoff has a problem. And it isn't just his name. Though, having a name beginning with Z does cause him lots of problems, not least making him last to be called for everything. Donald's main problem is his happiness; his enthusiasm -- particularly for school where he arrives early every day. His happiness leads to laughter -- loud laughter. It sometimes gets him into trouble at school. It sometimes gives people the wrong impression. His classmates think he is bonkers, a bit of a problem, a loser. But Donald is blissfully unaware of this. He thinks when they cheer and jeer him, that they like him. He thinks when they don't pick him for their team, oh well, maybe tomorrow. Donald is the eternal optimist -- a delight. Throughout his school life there are people that
  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli

    Paperback (Scholastic Book Services, Aug. 16, 2003)
    Donald Zinkoff is one of the greatest kids you could ever hope to meet. He laughs easily, he likes people, he loves school, he tries to rescue lost girls in blizzards, he talks to old ladies. The only problem is, he's a loser. Until fourth grade, Zinkoff's uncontrollable giggling in class, sloppy handwriting, horrible flute playing, bad grades, clumsiness, and ineptitude at sports go largely unnoticed. When he blows a race for his team, however, his transition to loserdom is complete: "[Loser] is the word. It is Zinkoff's new name. It is not in the roll book." Fortunately, he doesn't really notice. As he did in Stargirl, Newbery Medal-winning author Jerry Spinelli again explores the cruelty of a student body and how it does and doesn't affect one student, pure of spirit. Presumably if Loser makes one child view a "different kid" as a three-dimensional character, Spinelli will consider his book successful.
    U
  • LOSER

    Dipen Ambalia

    eBook (Fingerprint, Aug. 29, 2012)
    What’s common between outsourcing and Christopher Columbus’s discovery of America?How are arranged marriages related to the Software Development Life Cycle?For you to command better appraisals, what should’ve your parents named you?Why does your Project Manager always give you a new task just when you’re about to sign off for the day?Why are dumb, attractive software engineers always sent onsite?In Life Of a Software EngineeR (LOSER), author Dipen Ambalia offers some hilarious answers to these questions and more, having struggled through years of terrible appraisals, dumb instructions, Bell Curves and belles’ curves.
  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, May 7, 2002)
    There are winners everywhere .... The sidewalks. The backyards. The alleyways. The playgrounds ...Except for Zinkoff. Zinkoff never wins.But Zinkoff doesn't notice. Neither do the other pups.Not yet.Zinkoff is like all kids -- running, playing, riding his bike. Hoping for snow days, wanting to be his dad when he grows up.Zinkoff is not like the other kids -- raising his hand with all the wrong answers, tripping over his own feet, falling down with laughter over a word like "Jabip." The kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it.Once again, Newbery Medal-winning author Jerry Spinelli uses great wit and humor to create the unique story of Zinkoff as he travels from first through sixth grades. Loser is a touching book about the human spirit, the importance of failure, and how any name can someday be replaced with "hero."
    U
  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli

    Library Binding (Perfection Learning, July 29, 2003)
    Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip." Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."
    U
  • Loser

    John Tell

    language (, Jan. 9, 2018)
    Bypassing overide.
  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli

    Hardcover (HarperCollins Childrens Books, Aug. 16, 2002)
    Loser by Jerry Spinelli in a Read-Aloud Large Print Special Edition larger size book
    U
  • Loser

    Jerry Spinelli

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, May 7, 2002)
    There are winners everywhere .... The sidewalks. The backyards. The alleyways. The playgrounds ...Except for Zinkoff. Zinkoff never wins.But Zinkoff doesn't notice. Neither do the other pups.Not yet.Zinkoff is like all kids -- running, playing, riding his bike. Hoping for snow days, wanting to be his dad when he grows up.Zinkoff is not like the other kids -- raising his hand with all the wrong answers, tripping over his own feet, falling down with laughter over a word like "Jabip." The kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it.Once again, Newbery Medal-winning author Jerry Spinelli uses great wit and humor to create the unique story of Zinkoff as he travels from first through sixth grades. Loser is a touching book about the human spirit, the importance of failure, and how any name can someday be replaced with "hero."
    U