Browse all books

Books with title Home of the Brave

  • Home of the Brave

    Katherine Applegate

    Paperback (Square Fish, Dec. 23, 2008)
    Bestselling author Katherine Applegate presents Home of the Brave, a beautifully wrought middle grade novel about an immigrant's journey from hardship to hope. Kek comes from Africa. In America he sees snow for the first time, and feels its sting. He's never walked on ice, and he falls. He wonders if the people in this new place will be like the winter – cold and unkind. In Africa, Kek lived with his mother, father, and brother. But only he and his mother have survived, and now she's missing. Kek is on his own. Slowly, he makes friends: a girl who is in foster care; an old woman who owns a rundown farm, and a cow whose name means "family" in Kek's native language. As Kek awaits word of his mother's fate, he weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country. Home of the Brave is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
    X
  • Home of the Brave

    Katherine Applegate

    eBook (Feiwel & Friends, Dec. 23, 2014)
    Bestselling author Katherine Applegate presents Home of the Brave, a beautifully wrought middle grade novel about an immigrant's journey from hardship to hope. Kek comes from Africa. In America he sees snow for the first time, and feels its sting. He's never walked on ice, and he falls. He wonders if the people in this new place will be like the winter – cold and unkind. In Africa, Kek lived with his mother, father, and brother. But only he and his mother have survived, and now she's missing. Kek is on his own. Slowly, he makes friends: a girl who is in foster care; an old woman who owns a rundown farm, and a cow whose name means "family" in Kek's native language. As Kek awaits word of his mother's fate, he weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country. Home of the Brave is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
    X
  • Home of the Brave

    Katherine Applegate

    Hardcover (Paw Prints, April 9, 2009)
    None
    X
  • The Brave

    James Bird

    Hardcover (Feiwel & Friends, June 30, 2020)
    Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.Collin can't help himself―he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition. Collin’s quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, a girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly. With Orenda’s help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.
    Y
  • Tale of the Brave

    Rev. W. Awdry

    Hardcover (Golden Books, July 22, 2014)
    Gigantic roving shadows and monster-size footprints test the engines’ bravery in a brand-new Thomas & Friends movie, Tale of the Brave. Adapted from the movie, this Little Golden Book will thrill train-obsessed little boys and girls ages 2 to 5.
    J
  • Home of the Brave

    Loren Long, Phil Bildner

    language (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, April 21, 2010)
    After the rousing success in New Orleans, the Paynes face yet another crushing defeat when the Chancellor’s thugs finally steal the baseball—and kill their uncle in the process. Faced with a second funeral in as many months, Griffith, Ruby, and Graham are determined to beat the Chancellor at his own game and save their family as well as the game of baseball. Pulling into their hometown of Baltimore, the Paynes are reunited with a familiar face, and the Travelin’ Nine are tested on the field once again. Can they win without the help of their baseball? Prepare for fireworks in this final inning to the grand slam series, Sluggers!
  • Home of the Brave

    Allen Say

    eBook (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, April 30, 2002)
    In dreamlike sequences, a man symbolically confronts the trauma of his family’s incarceration in the Japanese internment camps during World War II. This infamous event is made emotionally clear through his meeting a group of children all with strange name tags pinned to their coats. The man feels the helplessness of the children. Finally, desperately he releases the name tags like birds into the air to find their way home with the hope for a time when Americans will be seen as one people—not judged, mistrusted, or segregated because of their individual heritage. Sixty years after thousands of Japanese Americans were unjustly imprisoned, the cogent prose and haunting paintings of renowned author and illustrator Allen Say remind readers of a dark chapter in America’s history.
    Z+
  • Home of the Brave

    Allen Say

    Hardcover (HMH Books for Young Readers, April 30, 2002)
    In dreamlike sequences, a man symbolically confronts the trauma of his family’s incarceration in the Japanese internment camps during World War II. This infamous event is made emotionally clear through his meeting a group of children all with strange name tags pinned to their coats. The man feels the helplessness of the children. Finally, desperately he releases the name tags like birds into the air to find their way home with the hope for a time when Americans will be seen as one people—not judged, mistrusted, or segregated because of their individual heritage. Sixty years after thousands of Japanese Americans were unjustly imprisoned, the cogent prose and haunting paintings of renowned author and illustrator Allen Say remind readers of a dark chapter in America’s history.
    Z+
  • Home of the Brave

    Katherine Applegate

    Hardcover (Feiwel & Friends, Aug. 21, 2007)
    Kek comes from Africa. In America he sees snow for the first time, and feels its sting. He's never walked on ice, and he falls. He wonders if the people in this new place will be like the winter – cold and unkind. In Africa, Kek lived with his mother, father, and brother. But only he and his mother have survived, and now she's missing. Kek is on his own. Slowly, he makes friends: a girl who is in foster care; an old woman who owns a rundown farm, and a cow whose name means "family" in Kek's native language. As Kek awaits word of his mother's fate, he weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country. Bestselling author Katherine Applegate presents a beautifully wrought novel about an immigrant's journey from hardship to hope.Home of the Brave is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
    X
  • Home of the Brave

    Katherine Applegate

    Audio CD (Listening Library, Jan. 1, 2007)
    Kek come from Africa. In America, he sees snowfor the first time and feels its sting. He's never walked on ice and he falls. He wonders if the people of this new place will be like the winter - cold and unkind. In Africa, Kek lived with his mohter, father and brother. But only he and his mother have survived, and now she's missing. Kek is on his own. Slowly, he makes friends, a girl who is in foster care, an old woman who owns a rundown farm, and a cow whose name means "family" in his native language. As Kek awaits word of his mother's fate, he weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country.
  • Home of the Brave

    Loren Long, Phil Bildner

    Hardcover (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, May 4, 2010)
    After the rousing success in New Orleans, the Paynes face yet another crushing defeat when the Chancellor’s thugs finally steal the baseball—and kill their uncle in the process. Faced with a second funeral in as many months, Griffith, Ruby, and Graham are determined to beat the Chancellor at his own game and save their family as well as the game of baseball. Pulling into their hometown of Baltimore, the Paynes are reunited with a familiar face, and the Travelin’ Nine are tested on the field once again. Can they win without the help of their baseball? Prepare for fireworks in this final inning to the grand slam series, Sluggers!
    V
  • Home of the Brave

    Loren Long, Phil Bildner

    Paperback (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, Feb. 22, 2011)
    In Blastin’ the Blues, still fearing they are being followed and even more worried they have a traitor in their midst, the team travels to New Orleans, where the magic of their ball and the music of the city create one memorable game. But like always, trouble is right around the corner and the hits keep on coming for the Payne family and all of the Travelin’ Nine!In Home of the Brave, after the rousing success in New Orleans, Griffith, Ruby, and Graham are determined to beat the Chancellor at his own game and save their family as well as the game of baseball. Pulling into their hometown of Baltimore, the Paynes are reunited with a familiar face, and the Travelin’ Nine are tested on the field once again. Can they win without the help of their baseball? Prepare for fireworks in this final inning to the grand slam series, Sluggers!
    V