Browse all books

Books with title Exactly the Opposite

  • Exactly the Opposite

    Tana Hoban

    Paperback (Greenwillow Books, Aug. 25, 1997)
    Brilliant photographs present a world of possible opposites. "Beautiful, elegantly composed, nourishing to eye and mind."--Kirkus Reviews. "Another winner from an artist with a seemingly unlimited imagination."--Horn Book.
    C
  • Exactly the Opposite

    Tana Hoban

    Hardcover (Greenwillow Books, Sept. 24, 1990)
    Open or close, front or back, empty or full? Take a look at opposites you might notice walking city streets, biking by the sea, or even relaxing in your own backyard, and decide for yourself.
    C
  • The Exact Opposite of Okay

    Laura Steven

    eBook (Electric Monkey, March 8, 2018)
    A hilarious, groundbreaking young adult novel for anyone who's ever called themselves a feminist . . . and anyone who hasn't. For fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer. Izzy O'Neill here! Impoverished orphan, aspiring comedian and Slut Extraordinaire, if the gossip sites are anything to go by . . .Izzy never expected to be eighteen and internationally reviled. But when explicit photos involving her, a politician's son and a garden bench are published online, the trolls set out to take her apart. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off - but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It's the Exact Opposite of Okay. Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read. For readers of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo.'Funny, unapologetic and shameless in the best possible way, this is a YA heroine (and book) that you've never seen before' - Louise O'Neill, award-winning author of Asking for It'This book will make you laugh out loud, nod in agreement, cringe with recognition, and stand up and cheer. I adored it' - Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones'I LOVED this book! A really smart, relevant and switched-on exploration of teen sexuality, gender and slut-shaming' - Katherine Woodfine, bestselling author of The Sinclair's Mysteries Laura Steven is an author, journalist and screenwriter from the northernmost town in England. She has an MA in Creative Writing and works at a non-profit organisation supporting women in the creative arts. Her TV pilot, Clickbait, was a finalist in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission. The Exact Opposite of Okay is her first book for young adults.
  • The Opposite

    Tom Macrae, Elena Odriozola

    Paperback (Andersen Press, June 26, 2007)
    A little boy wakes up one morning to see The Opposite sitting on his ceiling. This impish creature manages to ensure that whatever the little boy says, the opposite will be true. The little boy tries to rectify everything as it goes wrong, but the mess in the kitchen and the classroom soon gets him into trouble.It takes some very quick thinking, and a clever twist for him to be able to get rid of The Opposite once and for all!
  • The Exact Opposite of Okay

    Laura Steven

    eBook (Electric Monkey, March 8, 2018)
    A hilarious, groundbreaking young adult novel for anyone who's ever called themselves a feminist . . . and anyone who hasn't. For fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer. Izzy O'Neill here! Impoverished orphan, aspiring comedian and Slut Extraordinaire, if the gossip sites are anything to go by . . .Izzy never expected to be eighteen and internationally reviled. But when explicit photos involving her, a politician's son and a garden bench are published online, the trolls set out to take her apart. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off - but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It's the Exact Opposite of Okay. Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read. For readers of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo.'Funny, unapologetic and shameless in the best possible way, this is a YA heroine (and book) that you've never seen before' - Louise O'Neill, award-winning author of Asking for It'This book will make you laugh out loud, nod in agreement, cringe with recognition, and stand up and cheer. I adored it' - Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones'I LOVED this book! A really smart, relevant and switched-on exploration of teen sexuality, gender and slut-shaming' - Katherine Woodfine, bestselling author of The Sinclair's Mysteries Laura Steven is an author, journalist and screenwriter from the northernmost town in England. She has an MA in Creative Writing and works at a non-profit organisation supporting women in the creative arts. Her TV pilot, Clickbait, was a finalist in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission. The Exact Opposite of Okay is her first book for young adults.
  • Exactly the Opposite

    Tana Hoban

    Library Binding (Paw Prints, Oct. 16, 2008)
    Open or close, front or back, empty or full? Take a look at opposites you might notice walking city streets, biking by the sea, or even relaxing in your own backyard, and decide for yourself.
  • The Exact Opposite of Okay

    Laura Steven

    Hardcover (HarperTeen, June 11, 2019)
    “Laura Steven simultaneously destroyed the patriarchy and made me laugh so hard I choked. I will protect Izzy O'Neill with my life.” —Becky Albertalli, author of SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDABitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave, and necessary read for fans of Louise O’Neill and Jennifer Mathieu. Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend, an aspiring comedian, and a person who believes that milk shakes and Reese’s peanut butter cups are major food groups. But after she’s caught in a compromising position with the son of a politician, it seems like everyone around her is eager to give her a new label: slut.Izzy is certain that the whole thing will blow over and she can get back to worrying about how she doesn’t reciprocate her best friend Danny’s feelings for her and wondering how she is ever going to find a way out of their small town. Only it doesn’t. And while she’s used to laughing her way out of any situation, as she finds herself first the center of high school gossip and then in the middle of a national scandal, it’s hard even for her to find humor in the situation.Izzy may be determined not to let anyone else define who she is, but that proves easier said than done when it seems like everyone has something to say about her.
  • Opposite, the

    Tom MacRae, Elena Odriozola

    Hardcover (Peachtree Pub Co Inc, Sept. 30, 2006)
    When Nate woke up in the morning, The Opposite was standing on his ceiling staring down at him. From that moment on, Nate’s day turned upside down in the most extraordinary way.When Nate poured milk on his cereal—something he is usually good at—The Opposite happened. Milk splashed everywhere and made a big mess. When he started to draw a very good picture of an elephant at school, The Opposite happened. Paint went everywhere, except on his paper. But when Nate comes up with a brilliant plan to beat The Opposite at its own game, things start looking up again.Tom MacRae’s funny story about how a resourceful young protagonist cleverly triumphs over a nefarious nemesis will appeal to young readers. Illustrator Elena Odriozola’s distinctive line drawings capture the humor and simplicity of the story.
    L
  • Exactly the Opposite

    Tana Hoban

    School & Library Binding (San Val, Aug. 15, 1997)
    None
    B
  • Exactly the Opposite

    Tana Hoban

    Library Binding (Greenwillow Books, Sept. 24, 1990)
    Brilliant photographs present a world of possible opposites. "Beautiful, elegantly composed, nourishing to eye and mind."--Kirkus Reviews. "Another winner from an artist with a seemingly unlimited imagination."--Horn Book.
    C
  • The Opposite

    Tom Macrae

    Hardcover (Andersen Press, April 26, 2006)
    A playful look at “opposites” from this exciting new picture book author and acclaimed illustrator.A little boy wakes up one morning to see The Opposite sitting on his ceiling. This impish creature manages to ensure that whatever the little boy says, the opposite will be true. The little boy tries to rectify everything as it goes wrong, but the mess in the kitchen and the classroom soon gets him into trouble. It takes some very quick thinking, and a clever twist, for him to be able to get rid of the Opposite once and for all!
    L
  • Exactly the Opposite

    Tana Hoban

    Hardcover (Greenwillow Books, Sept. 24, 1990)
    Open or close, front or back, empty or full? Take a look at opposites you might notice walking city streets, biking by the sea, or even relaxing in your own backyard, and decide for yourself.
    C