Browse all books

Books with title A light in the attic

  • A Light in the Attic

    Shel Silverstein

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Jan. 1, 1981)
    From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings―a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old.A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again.Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel. Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home.And don't miss The Giving Tree and Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein, also available as ebooks!
    R
  • A Light in the Attic

    Shel Silverstein

    eBook (HarperCollins, April 7, 2020)
    NOW AVAILABLE AS AN EBOOK! From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings—a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old. This digital edition also includes twelve poems previously only available in the special edition hardcover. A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again.Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel. Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home. And don't miss these other Shel Silverstein ebooks, The Giving Tree, Where the Sidewalk Ends, and Falling Up!
    R
  • A Light in the Attic

    Shel Silverstein

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Oct. 9, 2001)
    Shel Silverstein's A Light in the Attic is now available in a special edition containing the classic hardcover book and a CD of highlights from his Grammy Award-winning album.From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings—a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old. A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again.Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel. Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home. And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!
    R
  • A Light in the Window

    Jan Karon

    Paperback (Penguin, March 15, 1996)
    In this beautifully crafted second novel in the Mitford series, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jan Karon delivers a love story that's both heartwarming and hilarious. Father Tim—Mitford's rector and lifelong bachelor—is in need of divine intervention. His attractive neighbor is tugging at his heartstrings. A wealthy widow is pursuing him with hot casseroles. And his red-haired Cousin Meg has moved into the rectory, uninvited. Only time will tell if the village parson can practice what he preaches. Filled with the miracles and mysteries of everyday life, A Light in the Window is an affirmation of what some of us already know: Life in a small town is rarely quiet. And absolutely never boring.
  • A Light in the Attic

    None

    Paperback
    ABC
  • A Light in the Attic

    Shel Silverstein

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Jan. 1, 1857)
    First printing does not look opened or read Mint hardback with dustjacket
    R
  • A Light in the Dark

    A.K. DuBoff

    eBook (BDL Press, Aug. 9, 2018)
    *2018 Nebula finalist for the Andre Norton Award!*The real invasion is about to begin. An alien fleet is coming. Elle and her friends are the Hegemony's best chance for fighting back, but they'll need to head straight into enemy territory in order to identify the Darkness' origin. The Hegemony is out of time... and the war may already be lost before it even starts. The only chance for salvation is the mysterious shard of the Master Crystal, supposedly capable of initiating a universal-scale reset. Except, no one knows what a reset of that magnitude might entail, or if it's possible. Despite the risks, no step is too extreme in the frantic fight for survival. Elle and her friends must stop the insidious alien menace before every world is consumed.The Dark Stars trilogy combines high-tech sci-fi with traditional fantasy magic, perfect for fans of Final Fantasy, Kingdom Hearts, and Xenosaga. Continue the adventure today!
  • A Light in the Attic

    Shel Silverstein

    Library Binding (HarperCollins, Oct. 7, 1981)
    From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings—a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old.A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again.Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel. Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home.And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!
    R
  • A Light in the Attic

    Shel Silverstein

    Hardcover (Harpercollins, Jan. 1, 1981)
    From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings—a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old. A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again. Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel. Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home.
    R
  • A Light in the Attic

    None

    Unknown Binding (Harper Collins, Jan. 1, 1996)
    Book
  • In The Attic

    Garry Rodgers

    eBook (DyingWords Digital & Print Media Canada, July 8, 2016)
    “I’m so terrified that psycho’s going to kill me!”Maria Dersch prophetically predicted her death at the savage hands of her ex-boyfriend, Billy Ray Shaughnessy, who hid in her attic for two and a half days with an ax before sneaking down in the dead of night, chopping Maria and her new lover to death.In The Attic is an intense, shocking, and unforgettable psychological crime thriller based on the horrific, true murder case Garry Rodgers investigated as an actual detective.It’s also told from the killer’s point of view through his lyrical, psychotic, and homicidal thoughts.In this lightning-paced, mind-twisting, psychological ride, you’re suspended in a six-day investigation and search for Billy Ray after Maria reported a violent, knife-point, sexual assault committed by him on a Friday afternoon.Over the weekend, police and friends made a frantic attempt to lock Billy Ray from the house and track him down to prevent escalation. They failed. He’d been in the attic the entire time.At 3 a.m., on Sunday morning and in the black of night, Billy Ray climbed down. He butchered Maria and her defenseless lover, committing unspeakable desecration to their bodies. Billy Ray aimlessly left the crime scene—a senseless scene sickening to the hardest of investigators—and was caught three days later, still caked with his victims’ blood.Billy Ray confessed, allowing a terrifying yet fascinating access to his psychopathic, anti-social mind—a mind diagnosed as one of the most outstanding cases of mental disorder a team of forensic psychiatrists ever saw.Here’s what readers of In The Attic are saying:“Aghast! This is one of the best written and easily the most horrifying suspense story I have read. The writing is so clear and so compelling that you are immediately drawn in. I. Could. Not. Put. This. Down.”“The author’s seamless POV transitions are genius. You’re given a disquieting look into the deeply disturbed, misogynistic psyche of a killer and the concern of a dedicated, seasoned police officer.”“As events unfolded, I found myself praying the victim would somehow survive, which is absurd, as you know going in, the story is about a double murder. Garry Rodgers’ writing is so fluid, he places you in the detective’s shoes without effort—you’re there, you’re experiencing scenes as they unfold. I’m not prone to nightmares by something I’ve read, but Garry Rodgers has succeeded where others left little, or no impact.”“Do not let the horrific and graphic nature of this novel dissuade you. This is a must-read for crime novel enthusiasts. I felt driven to finish this book in record time. True story, great writing, emotional investment. What more could you want from a title?""In my opinion, Garry Rodgers is slated to become one of the most outstanding crime writers of our time.””If you've ever read The Widow by Fiona Barton or The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, my feeling while reading In The Attic was akin to my feelings while reading Widow and Train. I don't just think it's a great read, I think it's an important story—of mental illness, abuse, and how the limitations in social services can sometimes coalesce at the wrong moment, hurting all involved.”“It sounds like a cliché, but I couldn’t put it down. I was gripped from the first sentence, and was not so much reading as inhaling the story until it was done. I took a long, cathartic shower to get my head back in my own world, so I could write sensibly about my experience as a reader of this gripping story.””No awareness that I was reading a book, but more like I
  • A Light in the Attic

    Shel Silverstein

    Library Binding (Harper and Row, Jan. 1, 1981)
    Shel Silverstein writes wonderfully funny and crazy children's poetry. His illustrations are pure enjoyment. This poetry is perfect for the reluctant reader.
    R