Browse all books

Books in I Can Read Book 1 series

  • Amelia Bedelia

    Peggy Parish, Fritz Siebel

    Paperback (HarperCollins, Dec. 26, 2012)
    Learn to read with the classic Amelia Bedelia! Ever since Amelia Bedelia made her debut in 1963, young readers have been laughing out loud at the antics of this literal-minded but charming housekeeper. From dressing the chicken to drawing the drapes, Amelia Bedelia does exactly what Mr. and Mrs. Rogers tell her to do. If things get a bit mixed up, well, that's okay. When Amelia Bedelia is involved, everything always turns out perfectly in the end! This Level 2 I Can Read is perfect for kids who read on their own but still need a little help."No child can resist Amelia [Bedelia] and her literal trips through the minefield of the English language—and no adult can fail to notice that she's usually right when she's wrong."—The New York Times Book Review
    L
  • The Berenstain Bears: Gone Fishin'!

    Mike Berenstain

    Paperback (HarperCollins, April 22, 2014)
    Take a fishing trip with Papa, Brother, Sister, and Honey in this lively addition to the classic New York Times bestselling Berenstain Bears series. Papa can’t wait to use his fancy new gear on a fishing trip with his cubs. But Brother, Sister, and Honey prefer to fish with their bamboo poles and bent pins. Can the cubs’ simple tools be any match for Papa’s shiny new gear?The Berenstain Bears: Gone Fishin’! is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.
    J
  • Super Wings: A Super First Day

    Steve Foxe

    Paperback (HarperCollins, July 2, 2019)
    Super Wings is the hit preschool series now airing on Universal Kids and Netflix!Jett is on a mission when he meets a young Kenyan boy and is tasked with getting him to school on time. But oh no! There has been a big storm, and they need to save the frightened animals that have been stranded before it’s too late. This looks like a job for the Super Wings Build-It Buddies!Beginning readers will love this My First I Can Read, which is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and gorgeous illustrations. Based on the hit preschool series on Netflix and Universal Kids, this My First I Can Read is perfect for shared reading with a child.
    N
  • Super Wings: Lost Stars

    Steve Foxe

    Paperback (HarperCollins, July 2, 2019)
    Super Wings is the hit preschool series now airing on Universal Kids and Netflix!When Jett visits a girl who loves the stars, he is surprised to discover that one of her favorite constellations has vanished. It looks like a trip into space with the Galaxy Wings is the only way to fix the problem and save the stars!Beginning readers will love this My First I Can Read, which is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and gorgeous illustrations. Based on the hit preschool series on Netflix and Universal Kids, this My First I Can Read is perfect for shared reading with a child.
    H
  • My Favorite Spooky Stories Box Set: 5 Silly, Not-Too-Scary Tales!

    Various

    Paperback (HarperCollins, July 26, 2016)
    The five gently spine-tingling, funny stories in this Level Two I Can Read box set are sure to delight early readers. Titles include:Flat Stanley and the Haunted House Monster School: First Day Frights In A Dark, Dark Room and Other Scary Stories Happy Haunting, Amelia Bedelia Lulu Goes to Witch School This is a Level Two I Can Read box set, geared for kids who read on their own but still need a little help.
    K
  • The Fat Cat Sat on the Mat

    Nurit Karlin

    Paperback (HarperCollins, July 17, 1998)
    This funny rhyming story starring a big orange tabby cat helps kids learn to read! Fat Cat Sat on the Mat is a proven winner—welcome at home and in the classroom, as it makes kids laugh.The fat cat sat on the mat. "Get off!" said the rat. But the fat cat just sat. Will the rat get the fat cat off the mat? Enjoy reading this silly story aloud for maximum effect!Find out if rat can get cat off the mat in this funny, phonetic Level One I Can Read that's perfect for kids learning to sound out words and sentences. With repeating sounds and words, beginning readers will grow their reading confidence as they laugh about the cat and the rat and their sibling-style squabble.
    G
  • Pinkalicious: Fairy House

    Victoria Kann

    Paperback (HarperCollins, Jan. 22, 2013)
    Readers can watch Pinkalicious and Peterrific on the funtastic PBS Kids TV series Pinkalicious & Peterrific!A magical Pinkalicious I Can Read story from New York Times bestselling author Victoria Kann: Pinkalicious is convinced that the fairies live in her garden. Pinkalicious prepares by making sure the fairies have a pinkerrific place to stay. Welcome, fairies!Pinkalicious: Fairy House is a Level One I Can Read adventure and is carefully crafted using short sentences, familiar words, and simple concepts for children eager to read on their own.
    J
  • Fancy Nancy: JoJo and the Twins

    Jane O'Connor, Robin Preiss Glasser

    Paperback (HarperCollins, Nov. 6, 2018)
    Fancy Nancy’s little sister JoJo returns in her very own adventure! JoJo is helping Mommy and Daddy with the new twins. But they look the same! How will JoJo tell the twins apart? JoJo’s plan will keep you laughing.Beginning readers will love this My First I Can Read that is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and charming illustrations.From the beloved New York Times bestselling author-illustrator team Jane O’Connor and Robin Preiss Glasser, Fancy Nancy: JoJo and the Twins is a My First I Can Read, perfect for shared reading with a child.
    G
  • Danny and the Dinosaur Go to Camp

    Syd Hoff

    Paperback (HarperCollins Publishers, May 2, 1998)
    Readers first fell in love with Danny and his prehistoric pal in the I Can Read classic Danny and the Dinosaur, created by Syd Hoff in 1958. Now the popular pair are together again in an adventure sure to please beginning readers and happy campers alike.Danny's going to camp––and he's taking the dinosaur! Whether he’s racing, rowing, or hiking, this gigantic camper is a huge hit! Danny and the Dinosaur Go to Camp is a Level One I Can Read book that is perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.
    H
  • Penny and Her Marble

    Kevin Henkes

    Paperback (Greenwillow Books, Aug. 27, 2013)
    Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the third I Can Read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans of Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum. This I Can Read book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.When Penny spots a marble in Mrs. Goodwin's front yard, she picks it up, puts it in her pocket, and takes it home. It's a beautiful marble—it's big, shiny, blue, smooth, and fast, and Penny loves it. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Penny and Her Marble was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss. Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. Penny and Her Marble is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. Don't miss Penny's newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!
    J
  • A Bargain for Frances

    Russell Hoban, Lillian Hoban

    Paperback (HarperCollins, Feb. 18, 2003)
    A classic I Can Read story, starring Frances, America's favorite badger.Frances and Thelma are friends—most of the time. . .Thelma always seems to get Frances into trouble. When she tricks Frances into buying her tea set, it's the last straw. Can Frances show her that it's better to lose a bargain than lose a friend?This classic story is a Level Two I Can Read, geared for kids who read on their own but still need a little help. Whether shared at home or in a classroom, the engaging stories, longer sentences, and language play of Level Two books are proven to help kids take their next steps toward reading success.
    K
  • Clark the Shark: Tooth Trouble, No. 1

    Bruce Hale, Guy Francis

    Paperback (HarperCollins, Dec. 30, 2014)
    Don’t shed a tear, 'cause there’s nothing to fear!Clark the Shark has a loose tooth and needs to visit the dentist. But he's heard that the dentist is scarier than a box of blue whales! Uh-oh, and oh no! Can Clark find a way to stay cool when it comes to tooth trouble? Beginning readers will be entertained and reassured by this clever, funny twist on a dentist visit in this I Can Read story featuring their favorite boisterous shark. The back matter also includes fun, bite-sized facts about shark teeth!With colorful illustrations from Guy Francis and lively text from Bruce Hale, this Level One I Can Read is perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.
    L