Browse all books

Books in Cece Loves Science series

  • Cece Loves Science

    Kimberly Derting, Shelli R. Johannes, Vashti Harrison

    Paperback (Greenwillow Books, June 9, 2020)
    Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life’s most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions. Cece’s parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask—do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun! Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer and What Do You Do with an Idea?, and for anyone who loves to learn.
    K
  • Baby Loves Science Board Boxed Set

    Ruth Spiro, Irene Chan

    Board book (Charlesbridge, Nov. 13, 2018)
    Satisfy your baby's growing curiosity about the world with big, brainy science for the littlest listeners.Accurate enough to be endorsed by an expert, yet simple enough for baby, this clever board book boxed set, complete with an adorable periodic table poster of the alphabet, introduces topics like coding, aerospace engineering, gravity, and thermodynamics, connecting each scientific idea to pieces of a baby's world. Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations and age-appropriate language encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two, as well!Includes four Baby Loves Science board books and an adorable periodic table poster of the alphabet.
    M
  • Libby Loves Science

    Kimberly Derting, Shelli R. Johannes, Joelle Murray

    Hardcover (Greenwillow Books, June 9, 2020)
    Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion to the popular Cece Loves Science, Libby and her friends are put in charge of the science booth at their school fair. There’s only one problem: No one is visiting their booth! Does everyone think science is boring? Libby and her friends use teamwork, creativity, and just a bit of chemistry to turn things around and prove that science is for everyone. Perfect for aspiring scientists, story times, classrooms, home-schooling, and fans of Andrea Beaty’s Ada Twist, Scientist. Includes a glossary and four super-fun experiments to try at home! Libby Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer and What Do You Do with an Idea? and anyone who loves to ask questions and learn about the world.
    K
  • Baby Loves Political Science: Democracy!

    Ruth Spiro, Greg Paprocki

    Board book (Charlesbridge, April 7, 2020)
    A new addition to the beloved and bestselling Baby Loves series! This cute and clever introduction to political science is accurate and simple enough for baby, and ready to teach Baby what makes a great democracy.Baby learns what it means to participate in a democracy where everyone has a voice in electing our leaders. There are many ways for all of us, including the youngest children, to participate--such as making signs and sending postcards, campaigning, attending rallies, and of course getting out the vote!
    J
  • Cece Loves Science and Adventure

    Kimberly Derting, Shelli R. Johannes, Vashti Harrison

    Hardcover (Greenwillow Books, June 4, 2019)
    Cece loves science and adventure!In this STEM-themed picture book, the second in a series, Cece and her Adventure Girls troop use science, technology, engineering, and math to solve problems and earn their camping pin.Illustrated by New York Times–bestseller Vashti Harrison, the Cece Loves Science books are perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and anyone who enjoys asking questions and figuring out how things work. “A good introduction to observation, data, and trying again,” said Kirkus Reviews of the first book in the series. Cece loves being an Adventure Girl almost as much as she loves science, which is why she can’t wait for her troop’s camping trip. Nature is full of science for Cece to explore!Along with her friends, her mom, and her dog, Einstein, Cece learns how to pitch a tent, set up a campsite, and document landmarks on the trail. Then thunder booms in the distance! Working together, the girls use meteorology and math to determine the location of the storm; engineering to build a shelter; and technology and math to calculate the length of the trek back to the campsite. After all that teamwork, Cece’s mom gives them an Adventure Girl surprise!Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, author and illustrator of the New York Times–bestselling Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History, Cece Loves Science and Adventure is just right for curious kids and anyone who loves to explore the great outdoors. Includes a glossary.
    M
  • Baby Loves the Five Senses: Smell!

    Ruth Spiro, Irene Chan

    Board book (Charlesbridge, Aug. 18, 2020)
    Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners.Accurate enough for experts, yet simple enough for baby, this clever board book explores the science of smell. Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations complement age-appropriate language to encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two as well.
    J
  • Baby Loves the Five Senses: Touch!

    Ruth Spiro, Irene Chan

    Board book (Charlesbridge, Aug. 18, 2020)
    Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners.Accurate enough for experts, yet simple enough for baby, this clever board book explores the science of touch. Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations complement age-appropriate language to encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two as well.
    J
  • Baby Loves the Five Senses: Taste!

    Ruth Spiro, Irene Chan

    Board book (Charlesbridge, Aug. 18, 2020)
    Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners.Accurate enough for experts, yet simple enough for baby, this clever board book explores the science of taste. Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations complement age-appropriate language to encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two as well.
    J
  • Cece Loves Science

    Kimberly Derting, Shelli R. Johannes, Vashti Harrison

    Hardcover (Greenwillow Books, June 19, 2018)
    Cece, a budding and inquisitive scientist, and her equally curious best friend, Isaac, conduct experiments to see whether Cece's dog, Einstein, will eat his vegetables.
    K
  • Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!

    Ruth Spiro, Irene Chan

    Board book (Charlesbridge, Sept. 24, 2019)
    Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners.Baby loves the five senses! Accurate enough for experts, yet simple enough for baby, this clever board book explores the science of sound and hearing. Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations complement age-appropriate language to encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two as well.
    K
  • Baby Loves the Five Senses: Sight!

    Ruth Spiro, Irene Chan

    Board book (Charlesbridge, Sept. 24, 2019)
    Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners.Baby loves the five senses! Accurate enough for experts, yet simple enough for baby, this clever board book explores the science of vision, light, and color. Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations complement age-appropriate language to encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two as well.
    K
  • Baby Loves Scientists

    Ruth Spiro, Irene Chan

    Hardcover (Charlesbridge, Oct. 15, 2019)
    Babies who love science can be anything! Move over Wonder Woman and Superman--here come Aerospace Engineer and Particle Physicist!Baby loves to explore the world of science! What's next for Baby after learning about physics, engineering, computers, and the natural world? Becoming a scientist of course!In this fun look at several scientific careers, parents and children can talk about different science fields and the everyday heroes that work in them. Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations complement age-appropriate language to encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two as well.
    K