Browse all books

Books in A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 13 series

  • The Bad Beginning: Or, Orphans!

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist

    Paperback (HarperCollins, May 8, 2007)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESThis middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."
    V
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events Lemony Snicket 13 Books Collection Pack Set

    Lemony Snicket

    Paperback (Egmont, Feb. 13, 2016)
    Inside of each book on the first page, in the name block, a name of the owner is written.
  • The End

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist, Michael Kupperman

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Oct. 1, 2006)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESLike an off-key violin concert, the Roman Empire, or food poisoning, all things must come to an end. Thankfully, this includes A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. The thirteenth and final installment in the groundbreaking series will answer readers' most burning questions: Will Count Olaf prevail? Will the Baudelaires survive? Will the series end happily? If there's nothing out there, what was that noise? Then again, why trouble yourself with unfortunate resolutions? Avoid the thirteenth and final book of Lemony Snicket's international bestselling series and you'll never have to know what happens.
    V
  • The Grim Grotto

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist, Michael Kupperman

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Sept. 21, 2004)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESWarning: Your day will become very dark—and possibly damp—if you read this book.Plan to spend this spring in hiding. Lemony Snicket is back with the eleventh book in his New York Times bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events.Lemony Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to provoke suspicion and despair in readers the world over. In the eleventh and most alarming volume yet in the bestselling phenomenon A Series of Unfortunate Events, the intrepid siblings delve further into the dark mystery surrounding the death of their parents and the baffling VFD organisation.
    V
  • The Miserable Mill

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist, Michael Kupperman

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, April 1, 2000)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESI hope, for your sake, that you have not chosen to read this book because you are in the mood for a pleasant experience. If this is the case, I advise you to put this book down instantaneously, because of all the books describing the unhappy lives of the Baudelaire orphans, The Miserable Mill might be the unhappiest yet. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Paltryville to work in a lumber mill, and they find disaster and misfortune lurking behind every log. The pages of this book, I'm sorry to inform you, contain such unpleasantries as a giant pincher machine, a bad casserole, a man with a cloud of smoke where his head should be, a hypnotist, a terrible accident resulting in injury, and coupons. I have promised to write down the entire history of these three poor children, but you haven't, so if you prefer stories that are more heartwarming, please feel free to make another selection.With all due respect, Lemony Snicket
    V
  • The Slippery Slope

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist, Michael Kupperman

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Sept. 23, 2003)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESLike bad smells, uninvited weekend guests or very old eggs, there are some things that ought to be avoided.Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent, and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to alarm its distressed and suspicious fans the world over. The tenth book in this outrageous publishing effort features more than the usual dose of distressing details, such as snow gnats, an organised troupe of youngsters, an evil villain with a dastardly plan, a secret headquarters and some dangerous antics you should not try at home. With the weather turning colder, this is one chilling book you would be better off without.
    V
  • The Ersatz Elevator

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist, Michael Kupperman

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Feb. 16, 2001)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESIn their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe.In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    V
  • The Complete Wreck

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Oct. 13, 2006)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESSome boxes should never be opened.For the first time, the complete A Series of Unfortunate Events is available in one awful package!We can't keep you from succumbing to this international bestselling phenomenon, but we can hide all thirteen books in a huge, elaborately illustrated, shrink-wrapped box, perfect for filling an empty shelf or deep hole.From The Bad Beginning to The End, this box set, adorned with Brett Helquist art from front to back, is the only choice for people who simply cannot get enough of a bad thing!
    V
  • The Austere Academy

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist, Michael Kupperman

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Aug. 8, 2000)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESAs the three Baudelaire orphans warily approach their new home Prufrock Preparatory School, they can't help but notice the enormous stone arch bearing the school's motto Memento Mori or "Remember you will die."This is not a cheerful greeting and certainly marks an inauspicious beginning to a very bleak story just as we have come to expect from Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events, the deliciously morbid set of books that began with The Bad Beginning and only got worse.
    V
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #1-4 Netflix Tie-in Box Set

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Oct. 24, 2017)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESDon’t be fooled by the new, Netflix-inspired book covers of the first four books in this New York Times bestselling series.The events recounted in this four-book box set (which includes The Bad Beginning, The Reptile Room, The Wide Window, and The Miserable Mill) are sure to depress you. If you cannot stomach stories that find misfortune continuously befalling the three charming Baudelaire orphans, I recommend you make another reading selection. The terrible tale of the Baudelaire’s bad luck starts with The Bad Beginning, and it all gets worse from there.Some boxes should never be opened.
    V
  • The Wide Window

    Lemony Snicket, Michael Kupperman

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, Feb. 2, 2000)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESDear Reader,If you have not read anything about the Baudelaire orphans, then before you read even one more sentence, you should know this: Violet, Klaus, and Sunny are kindhearted and quick-witted, but their lives, I am sorry to say, are filled with bad luck and misery. All of the stories about these three children are unhappy and wretched, and this one may be the worst of them all. If you haven't got the stomach for a story that includes a hurricane, a signalling device, hungry leeches, cold cucumber soup, a horrible villain, and a doll named Pretty Penny, then this book will probably fill you with despair. I will continue to record these tragic tales, for that is what I do. You, however, should decide for yourself whether you can possibly endure this miserable story.With all due respect,Lemony Snicket
    V
  • The Trouble Begins: A Box of Unfortunate Events, Books 1-3

    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist

    Paperback (Katherine Tegen Books, Oct. 20, 2020)
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES Lemony Snicket’s unhappy tale of the unlucky Baudelaire siblings begins with The Bad Beginning. In this short bothersome book alone, the three orphans encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast. Should you not mind deadly serpents, slippery salamanders, lumpy beds, large brass reading lamps, lng knives, and terrible odors, then proceed with caution to the second book in the miserable series, The Reptile Room. Readers unbothered by inclement weather, hungry leeches, and cold cucumber soup will want to continue with the third installment, The Wide Window. Others will not. If you’ve got the stomach to wade through the first three tragic tales in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, then this troubling collection might be the one for you. Several loathsome extras, including a compilation of unsettling quotations and a very disturbing portrait, await those who successfully complete the wretched journey. You’ve been warned!
    V