Browse all books

Books published by publisher Putnam

  • Lord of the Flies

    William Golding

    Hardcover (Putnam, July 1, 1959)
    14.5 Million copies sold to date The classic, startling, and perennially bestselling portrait of human nature-now available as a Premium Edition with a stunning new cover and re-set, easy-to-read text.
  • A Royal Duty

    Paul Burrell, Patrick Demarchelier

    Hardcover (Putnam, Oct. 25, 2003)
    A former butler for Princess Diana who became her trusted confidant recalls his ten years of service to the princess, separating the truth from the myths of her life to offer his insights into her years as a member of the royal family.
  • The Cat Who Went Underground

    Lilian Jackson Braun

    Hardcover (Putnam, March 22, 1989)
    Qwill and his cats vacation in Mooseville, but when the carpenter he hires disappears, he begins to investigate what may be a serial killer's plan to wipe out the area's woodworkers
  • The Tommy Knockers Hardcover

    Stephen King

    Hardcover (Putnam, March 15, 1987)
    good story
  • Heretics of Dune

    Frank Herbert

    Hardcover (Putnam, April 1, 1984)
    Thousands of years after the death of God Emperor Leto II, the Bene Gesserit and the Bene Tleilax struggle to direct the future of Dune, now called Rakis
  • Stranger in a Strange Land

    Robert A. Heinlein

    Hardcover (Putnam, Jan. 3, 1991)
    Valentine Michael Smith, born and raised on Mars, arrives on Earth stunning Western culture with his superhuman abilities
  • Three Complete Novels: The Cat Who Saw Red / The Cat Who Played Brahms / The Cat Who Played Post Office

    Lilian Jackson Braun

    Hardcover (Putnam, Sept. 15, 1993)
    Reporter-turned-sleuth Jim Qwilleran and his two feline sidekicks become embroiled in a trio of deadly mysteries, in an omnibus volume containing The Cat Who Saw Red, The Cat Who Played Brahms, and The Cat Who Played Post Office.
  • The Cat Who Sang for the Birds

    Lilian Jackson Braun

    Hardcover (Putnam, Feb. 2, 1998)
    The twentieth offering in the consistently popular mystery series brings columnist Jim Qwilleran and his two prized pussycat sleuths, Koko and Yum Yum, out from their apple barn and on the case of arson at a new art center. 200,000 first printing.
  • Turtle in the Sea

    Jim Arnosky

    Hardcover (Putnam, July 22, 2002)
    A poignant story of a sea turtle mother who lays her eggs late one night, this is also a subtle story about how important it is for mothers to take care of themselves for their children's sake. Dramatic and perfect for beginning readers, this book tells of near misses with sharks, boats, storms and nets-all the things a turtle mother must battle in order to stay alive. The turtle mother will not stay to see her eggs hatch, because that is the turtle way. But by ensuring her own survival, she gives her children the gift of life.
  • Dune Messiah

    Frank Herbert

    Hardcover (Putnam, March 15, 1969)
    Science fiction
  • Honey... Honey... Lion! A Story from Africa

    Jan Brett

    Hardcover (Putnam, Aug. 25, 2005)
    The African plains provide a stunning environment for Jan Brett's latest animal adventure. For as long as anyone can remember, the honeyguide bird and the African honey badger have been partners when it comes to honey:Honeyguide finds the honeycomb, Badger breaks it open, and they share the sweetness inside.But this day, Badger keeps all the honey for himself. Foolish Badger!In no time, Honeyguide leads Badger on a fast chase. Badger thinks it's for honey; but Honeyguide has a surprise waiting for her greedy friend.As they swim across a pond, push through a thicket of reeds, leap over a huge anthill, a menagerie of exotic animals passes the news along in a kind of animal Bush Telegraph. Finally Badger faces a lift-the-flap page, revealing the twist that teaches Badger a lesson. Can you guess who's under that flap?Honey . . . Honey . . . Lion! will surely become a family favorite for readers of all ages.
  • Flying saucers: Top secret

    Donald E Keyhoe

    Hardcover (Putnam, Jan. 1, 1960)
    CONTENTS: Encounter above the Atlantic; the Killian Case; Round One; The Hoax; The Captain Ruppelt Record; The Inquiry Begins; Frame-up; November Crisis; Checkmate; From a Nearby World; the Armstrong Theater Battle; The Airliner Chase; Abandon That Course!; The New Search; Signals from Space; The Lost Civilization; Riddle at Lackland Field; The Warnings; Tug-of-War; The Hidden Reports; The Key; epilogue.