Browse all books

Books published by publisher Live Oak Media

  • Sammy Keyes and the Kiss Goodbye: Sammy Keyes, Book 18

    Wendelin Van Draanen, Tara Sands, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, June 14, 2019)
    In the final mystery of this series, one of the bad guys has finally caught up with the skateboarding sleuth of Santa Marina and worse, landed her in the hospital out cold. This time Sammy’s family and friends must solve the crime - who did this to her and why? In a heartwarming, fitting finale the people whose lives she has impacted over the years come together to help uncover the truth and save their beloved Sammy.
  • Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs / Pickles to Pittsburgh

    Judi Barrett, Jerry Terheyen, Linda Terheyen, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, Jan. 12, 2009)
    Two tall tales about the tiny town of Chewandswallow, featuring immense foodstuffs and distinct characters, are included this delightful collection.
  • Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief

    Wendelin Van Draanen, Tara Sands, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, Jan. 18, 2008)
    The debut mystery that kicked off the popular series about a live-wire girl detective, this Edgar Allan Poe Award-winning story takes place in Sammy's neighborhood - right across the street from her grandmother's apartment, in fact. While looking out the window with her grandma's binoculars, Sammy witnesses a crime across the street at the Heavenly Hotel. What's worse, the thief saw her spying! As Sammy attempts to find the burglar who has made several other hits in the neighborhood, she finds herself trying to keep him from uncovering her - or worse, the police discovering that she's living illegally with her grandmother in the seniors-only housing! A modern-day Nancy Drew, the saucy, smart Sammy Keyes is a sleuth whose escapades entertain and inspire teens.
  • 'Henry and Mudge Under the Yellow Moon' and 'Henry and Mudge in the Sparkle Days'

    Cynthia Rylant, Sucie Stevenson, Live Oak Media

    Audible Audiobook (Live Oak Media, Dec. 30, 2007)
    Best friends Henry and Mudge find autumn a great season for sharing jack-o-lanterns and ghost stories, and for enjoying a visit from Aunt Sally at Thanksgiving. In Henry and Mudge in the Sparkle Days, the wonders of winter are explored with great delight by Henry and his big red dog - the first snowfall, Christmas Eve dinner, a walk in the night. Simple stories with perfect kid appeal, these thoughtful adventures provide a memorable experience.
  • The Marvelwood Magicians

    Diane Zahler, Sarah Zimmerman, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, Nov. 8, 2019)
    A dynamic, exciting circus setting is the backdrop of this engaging fantasy featuring a fantastic cast of characters whose extraordinary talents are cleverly presented in an unforgettable mystery and coming-of-age story.
  • Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack

    Wendelin Van Draanen, Tara Sands, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, June 26, 2017)
    In this 15th book about the irrepressible Sammy Keyes, she deals with the zaniest character to come out of her town yet - Justice Jack, Santa Martina's very own superhero. Dressed in spandex and a mask, he drives around on a dirt bike hoping to fight crime. Though everyone else seems taken with Jack, Sammy's not so sure and now that she has a real mystery to solve her detective skills are pushed to the limits by Jack's antics. As usual, Sammy's personal drama adds to the excitement in this wacky and wily adventure.
  • Sammy Keyes and the Killer Cruise

    Wendelin Van Draanen, Tara Sands, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, Dec. 5, 2018)
    To celebrate her 14th birthday, Sammy’s newly found, long-lost father takes her and best friend Marissa on a cruise. As Sammy navigates her feelings about this new relationship, she and Marissa become involved in another family’s bizarre drama which includes the mysterious disappearance of the wealthy matriarch and suspicious activity by the greedy heirs. The 17th mystery in the wildly popular series combines exciting high-seas adventure with the touching emotional journey of this irresistible teen sleuth.
  • Sammy Keyes and the Cold Hard Cash

    Wendelin Van Draanen, Tara Sands, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, June 26, 2017)
    In her latest mystery, Sammy Keyes feels responsible for the death of an old man whom she discovers on the fire escape and who, with his dying breath, begs her to take his wads of cash and throw them away!
  • 28 Days: Moments in Black History That Changed the World

    Charles R. Smith, full cast, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, March 2, 2017)
    Winner, 2017 APA Audie Awards - Young Listeners Narrators: Dion Graham, William Jackson Harper, Zainab Jah, January LaVoy, Robin Miles, Lizan Mitchell, Jonathan Earl Peck, Carter Woodson Redwood. The 28 days of Black History Month are commemorated with descriptions of the men, women, and events that have been vital in defining our understanding of African American history. From Crispus Attucks to Barack Obama, Harriet Tubman to Malcolm X, Althea Gibson and Arthur Ashe, the entries move chronologically from 1770 to the present and encompass all walks of life, from the armed forces and performing arts through sports and civil rights activism. Spectacular poetry and prose celebrate these important individuals and decisions that framed our country's history. A final 29th day challenges listeners to make their own historical contributions.
  • Sammy Keyes and the Night of Skulls

    Wendelin Van Draanen, Tara Sands, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, June 26, 2017)
    In this 14th title in the popular series, Sammy is hoping for a fun Halloween for a change. But dressing up as zombies and cutting through the cemetery assures that the teenage sleuth and her pals are soon immersed in a satisfyingly suspenseful adventure full of secrets and surprises - not the least of which is a trick-or-treat bag with human skulls!
  • Anansi Goes Fishing

    Eric A. Kimmel, Janet Stevens

    Paperback (Live Oak Media, March 1, 1993)
    Anansi the Spider likes to eat fish but is much too lazy to catch one himself—so he decides to trick Turtle into catching one for him. When Anansi asks Turtle to teach him how to catch fish, Anansi thinks tricking Turtle into doing all the work for him will be easy. But Turtle is not as easily fooled as Anansi thought. Young readers will light in Janet Steven’s bright and lively illustrations and laugh watching Anansi’s plan backfire. Based on tales originating in West Africa and familiar in Caribbean culture, the five-book Anansi the Trickster series is full of slapstick humor and mischief. Eric A. Kimmel's imaginative energy combined with Janet Steven' expressive illustrations create the perfect silly stories for fun-loving kids.
  • Anansi and the Moss Covered Rock

    Eric A. Kimmel, Jerry Terheyden, Live Oak Media

    Audiobook (Live Oak Media, Feb. 22, 2008)
    Anansi the Spider is the master trickster, and his shenanigans are humorously presented in these fantastic narratives based on West African folktales. In Anansi and the Moss Covered Rock, the clever Anansi uses a magic rock he finds to pilfer food from his animal friends. What he doesn't realize is that the shy Little Bush Deer is observing his antics, and ultimately tricks the trickster! Rhythmic text helps build the suspense to a satisfying and delightful conclusion. After eating his way into Elephant's melon and getting stuck, Anansi decides his only way out is to trick his friends into believing that the melon can talk. Elephant is delighted to share his special melon with the other animals, especially King Monkey. When the melon insults the King, however, mayhem ensues, much to Anansi's glee. Snappy and fresh, this playful tale is a perfect listen.