Browse all books

Books published by publisher Harcourt Childrens Books

  • How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse: How to Train Your Dragon, Book 4

    Cressida Cowell, David Tennant, Hachette Childrens Books

    Audible Audiobook (Hachette Childrens Books, April 22, 2010)
    Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III was a Viking hero - dashing, brave, and ever so clever. But even Viking heroes have to begin somewhere.... Can Hiccup find the antidote to deadly Vorpentitis and fight the Doomfang? Can he brave the axe of Norbert the Nutjob and be the Hero yet again?
  • Mr. Mistoffelees With Mungojerrie and Rumpelteazer

    T. S. Eliot, Errol Le Cain

    Library Binding (Harcourt Childrens Books, March 1, 1991)
    Two poems from "Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats" follow the adventures of three cats in the drawing rooms of fashionable London
    X
  • The Napping House

    Audrey Wood, Don Wood

    Board book (Harcourt Children's Books, Sept. 1, 2000)
    This beloved and bestselling book from Audrey and Don Wood has been delighting children--and sending them off to bed with laughter and sweet dreams-for years. The infectious cumulative rhyme of The Napping House has made this book a classic. Now here is the new sturdy edition just right for tiny hands, making them a must for every family's board book collection.
    I
  • The Bones of Fred McFee

    Eve Bunting, Kurt Cyrus

    Hardcover (Harcourt Children's Books, Sept. 1, 2002)
    In this rhythmic story, an unsuspecting brother and sister bring a toy skeleton home from the harvest fair. They name it Fred McFee and hang it from a sycamore tree. Soon, eerie things begin to happen: The rooster disappears. The hens won't lay. Most terrifying of all, Fred's bones dance clickety-clack as night winds howl. And then on Halloween night, Fred McFee vanishes! Eve Bunting's gleefully ghoulish tale is sure to become a Halloween classic.
    N
  • Bear by Himself

    Geoffrey Hayes

    Hardcover (Harpercollins Childrens Books, Oct. 1, 1982)
    With worlds to explore in his own backyard, a bear pauses to enjoy the pleasures of smelling the rain, talking to a river, and doing nothing at all
  • Otis

    Janie Bynum

    Hardcover (Harcourt Children's Books, April 1, 2000)
    Otis is a little pig with a big problem. He doesn't like mud. His mama and papa are convinced he will someday love the stuff, but Otis isn't so sure. And in the meantime, he's lonely. It's not easy being the only pig in the county who hates getting dirty. Will Otis ever find a friend? • From a winner of the Benjamin Franklin Award for Best Children's Picture Book • Children's Book-of-the-Month Club Selection • In the spirit of "Ferdinand the Bull," introduces an endearing character who does not like the very thing he's supposed to love • Junior Library Guild Selection
    K
  • The Reindeer Christmas

    Moe Price, Atsuko Morozumi

    Library Binding (Harcourt Childrens Books, Oct. 1, 1993)
    After designing and building a sleigh to help Santa deliver his Christmas presents, Santa's elves seek an answer to the problem of who or what will pull the sleigh.
    K
  • Hey Duggee: Little Library

    Hey Duggee

    Board book (BBC Childrens Books, Nov. 22, 2016)
    Budding little Squirrel Club members will love this adorable collection of four mini board books. Each one tells the story of a different Squirrel Club badge, and stars Duggee, Tag, Roly, Norrie, Happy and Betty from the smash-hit, BAFTA-winning Cbeebies cartoon. Woof!
    F
  • Trupp: A Fuzzhead Tale

    Janell Cannon

    Hardcover (Harcourt Children's Books, April 24, 1995)
    Trupp, a young Fuzzhead, decides to venture into the world. With a cheeky raven for a companion, Trupp rambles through the city, going virtually unnoticed by humans--that is, until they are confronted by a homeless woman who sees Trupp for who he really is. Before Trupp can decide whether to stay or run away, this unusual woman realizes that he could use a little help. “Fans of Stellaluna, Cannon’s exceptional debut book, will approach her second with high expectations--and those will be met.”--Publishers Weekly
    N
  • Hoodwinked

    Arthur Howard

    Hardcover (Harcourt Children's Books, Sept. 1, 2001)
    Mitzi is a witch who likes creepy things. So when she decides to get a pet, she wants the creepiest pet possible. But the bats she tries are too batty, the toad does nothing but eat bugs, and the warthogs . . . well, that’s a whole other story. Mitzi is in despair. She wants a creepy pet that is fun--and that will share her secrets. It seems too much to hope for, until one rainy night when something unexpected scratches on her door. . . . With gentle humor and a touch of magic, Arthur Howard reveals how true friendship sometimes turns up in the most surprising places.
    K
  • Potato Joe

    Keith Baker

    Hardcover (Harcourt Children's Books, June 1, 2008)
    This fresh adaptation of the classic "One Potato, Two Potato" nursery rhyme is a counting adventure and rollicking good time rolled into one. Spunky leader Potato Joe and his nine spuds pals count up to ten and back down again, all while playing games and meeting up with other garden friends. With its playful tone and hilariously expressive potatoes, Potato Joe is a spud-tastically fun read-aloud, and a perfect companion to Keith Baker's previous nursery rhyme interpretations, Big Fat Hen and Hickory Dickory Dock.
    L
  • Pocahontas

    Joseph Bruchac

    Hardcover (Harcourt Children's Books, Aug. 1, 2003)
    In 1607, when John Smith and his "Coatmen" arrive in Powhatan to begin settling the colony of Virginia, their relations with the village's inhabitants are anything but warm. Pocahontas, the beloved daughter of the Powhatan chief, Mamanatowic, is just eleven; but in spite of her age, this astute young girl acts with wisdom and compassion, and plays a fateful, peaceful role in the destinies of two peoples. Drawing from the personal journals of John Smith, Joseph Bruchac, winner of the American Book Award for Breaking Silence, reveals an important part of history through the eyes of two historic figures.
    Y