Browse all books

Books released in this month

  • The Awakening of Malcolm X

    Ilyasah Shabazz, Tiffany D. Jackson

    Hardcover (Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), Jan. 5, 2021)
    The Awakening of Malcolm X is a powerful narrative account of the activist's adolescent years in jail, written by his daughter Ilyasah Shabazz along with 2019 Coretta Scott King-John Steptoe award-winning author, Tiffany D. Jackson.No one can be at peace until he has his freedom.In Charlestown Prison, Malcolm Little struggles with the weight of his past. Plagued by nightmares, Malcolm drifts through days, unsure of his future. Slowly, he befriends other prisoners and writes to his family. He reads all the books in the prison library, joins the debate team and the Nation of Islam. Malcolm grapples with race, politics, religion, and justice in the 1940s. And as his time in jail comes to an end, he begins to awaken -- emerging from prison more than just Malcolm Little: Now, he is Malcolm X.Here is an intimate look at Malcolm X's young adult years. While this book chronologically follows X: A Novel, it can be read as a stand-alone historical novel that invites larger discussions on black power, prison reform, and civil rights.
    Z+
  • The Berenstain Bears Learn About Heaven

    Mike Berenstain

    language (Zonderkidz, Jan. 12, 2021)
    Encourage children to ask big questions in this new, inspiring story from the Berenstain Bears Living Lights collection.Something has been on Sister Bear’s mind lately … heaven. Sister asks all the usual folks she knows just might have the answers—from Lizzy Bruin to Grizzly Gran to Cousin Fred. She wonders where heaven is, what it is like, and how you get there. Does she get the answers she is looking for? Or will Preacher Brown explain it all on Sunday?The Berenstain Bears Learn About Heaven:Is an inspiring book from the bestselling The Berenstain Bears brandGently encourages children 4-8 to ask big questions about heavenIs a welcome addition to the popular Zonderkidz Living Lights series, with over 8.5 million copies sold since 2008
  • Stick Dog Chases a Pizza

    Tom Watson

    Paperback (HarperCollins, Jan. 26, 2021)
    Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books, Tom Watson’s hilarious series continues, and Stick Dog and his friends are on a funny quest for pizza!In the follow-up to Stick Dog and Stick Dog Wants a Hot Dog, Stick Dog returns with the same crazy crew. This time these canine friends have discovered a newfangled flavor—and it's even more delicious than hamburgers and hot dogs. It's pizza! They won't be satisfied until they get some slices of their own.But it won't be that easy. There's a kitten to rescue, a plan to make, and the messiest—and most dangerous—game of catch they've ever played. Pizza is on the menu, but only if their mission succeeds.With hilarious text and stick-figure drawings, reluctant readers will eat this one up! Other favorites in the series include Stick Dog Dreams of Ice Cream, Stick Dog Crashes a Party, and many more!
  • Into the Heartless Wood

    Joanna Ruth Meyer

    eBook (Page Street Kids, Jan. 12, 2021)
    The forest is a dangerous place, where siren song lures men and women to their deaths. For centuries, a witch has harvested souls to feed the heartless tree, using its power to grow her domain. When Owen Merrick is lured into the witch’s wood, one of her tree-siren daughters, Seren, saves his life instead of ending it. Every night, he climbs over the garden wall to see her, and every night her longing to become human deepens. But a shift in the stars foretells a dangerous curse, and Seren’s quest to become human will lead them into an ancient war raging between the witch and the king who is trying to stop her.
  • Baculum

    Christina Bauer

    language (Monster House Books, Jan. 26, 2021)
    “Lincoln is timeless, commanding, dangerous and sultry” – Jypsy, GoodreadsAs King of the Thrax, Lincoln leads the most powerful demon fighting force in the after-realms … yet he cherishes nothing more than his Angelbound love, Myla. All of which is why Lincoln loses his freaking mind when a demon horde targets his pregnant wife. So. Not. Happening. Sometimes, a warrior just needs to ignite his baculum sword and kick a ton of evil ass. “Getting to understand Lincoln’s point of view is fantastic” – Haddie’s HavenANGELBOUND LINCOLNStories from the perspective of Mister The Prince1. Duty Bound2. Lincoln3. Trickster4. Baculum5. Angelfire“Lincoln’s the kind of character you can't not love” – Antonella’s Book WorldAuthor’s Note To Readers: This book takes place between Angelbound Origins Book 3 ACCA and Book 4 THRAXAuthor’s Note to Self: Why do I write things out of sequence? Wasn’t THRAX published a while ago? To which I say to myself: self, this is how our gift works. Just be happy it does. And go eat more cookies. We like those.
  • A Thousand Perfect Notes

    C.G. Drews

    Paperback (Orchard Books, Jan. 12, 2021)
    An emotionally charged story about the power of dreams, and how passion can turn to obsession.Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother. He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken. But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music - because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence.When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it?Thrilling and powerfully written, this is an explosive debut for YA readers which tackles the dark topic of domestic abuse in an ultimately hopeful tale.
  • Unicorn Academy #10: Freya and Honey

    Julie Sykes, Lucy Truman

    Paperback (Random House Books for Young Readers, Jan. 5, 2021)
    From Frappuccinos to pool floats, unicorns are EVERYWHERE! Chapter book readers will flock to the Unicorn Academy series, where every girl gets a unicorn to call her own.Freya wants to make the perfect birthday present for her unicorn, Honey. If Honey loves her present enough, maybe she and Freya will finally bond. But Freya's friends need help planning the best party ever, and Freya doesn't have time to do both. Then someone tries to ruin the party before it can even happen! Can Freya finish Honey's present in time, and save the party?
  • TBH #7: TBH, No One Can EVER Know

    Lisa Greenwald

    Hardcover (Katherine Tegen Books, Jan. 12, 2021)
    With a Valentine’s Day dance, snooping parents, and way too many secrets, these four BFFs have a lot to deal with in the seventh book in this hilarious series told entirely in text messages, emojis, and passed notes, perfect for fans of Invisible Emmie and the Dork Diaries series. It’s no secret that Victoria’s mom can be OTT overprotective! But lately her anxiety has been too much to handle. So even though Victoria is helping plan the school’s Valentine’s Day dance, she might not be allowed to go!To be honest, she’s going to need lots of help from her BFFs to mend this mother-daughter relationship—and it may mean sharing her most embarrassing secret ever! The question is: Can you take back a secret once you’ve shared it?
  • Wasting Away

    Scarlett Haven

    language (, Jan. 29, 2021)
    Blurb is coming soon!This is book 3 of 4 in the West Raven Academy Series. It’s a full length novel. It is slow burn, fast paced, action packed, clean, YA, mystery, spy, academy romance.Other books in this series:Losing Grip (Book 1)Fighting Fate (Book 2—coming soon!)Wasting Away (Book 3—coming soon!)Taking Risk (Book 4—coming soon!)More series in this world:West Raven AcademyEast Raven AcademyAfter SpyThe Princess of Spy SchoolBayside AcademyNew Hope Academy
  • The Warrior's Curse

    Jennifer A. Nielsen

    Paperback (Scholastic Inc., Jan. 5, 2021)
    The stunning third book in Jennifer A. Nielsen's New York Times bestselling Traitor's Game series!Simon and Kestra are hurtling down paths ever farther from each other as the battle for control of Antora rages.Simon, newly king of the Halderians, is pressed on all sides by royal duties. Harlyn Mindell is his betrothed and intended queen, but Simon can't give up hope for a life with Kestra.Kestra, exiled, feels her magic growing -- and despite everyone's warnings, she knows she must embrace it. That power is the key to the kingdom's future.Both still strive to defeat the evil Lord Endrick, but danger awaits them on the murky road forward. And is a common enemy enough to help them survive -- or to carry them back to each other?Jennifer A. Nielsen delivers breathtaking twists and shocking revelations in an epic and action-packed third installment of The Traitor's Game.
  • Redefined: Confronting the Labels That Limit Us

    Arden Bevere

    Paperback (Revell, Jan. 19, 2021)
    Millennials might endure negative labels from older generations--lazy, broken, entitled, lost--but the most damaging labels are the ones we use on ourselves. Words are powerful. Even when they aren't true, they can begin to shape our perceptions of ourselves and the decisions we make. Yet the only labels that really matter to this, the largest and most diverse generation yet, are the ones with which God originally designated us. What does he call our generation? Sons and daughters.We are called to change the world and make a huge impact for the kingdom, but we can't do that if we allow ourselves to believe the limiting labels we hear every day. Instead, Arden Bevere calls you to- know what it means to be a son or daughter of God- see how God uses the seemingly negative things in our lives for good- take control of our thoughts and words and replace them with God's thoughts and words- find freedom from addiction, fear, doubts, regrets, and moreYour life is not an accident, a disappointment, or an inconvenience to God. It's time to redefine, embrace, and walk in your true identity as his beloved child who will do great things in his name. Let Arden Bevere, a positive voice in this generation, show you the way.
  • One of the Good Ones

    Maika Moulite, Maritza Moulite

    Hardcover (Inkyard Press, Jan. 5, 2021)
    The Hate U Give meets Get Out in an honest and powerful exploration of prejudice in this stunning novel from sister-writer duo Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine.ISN’T BEING HUMAN ENOUGH?When teen social activist and history buff Kezi Smith is killed under mysterious circumstances after attending a social justice rally, her devastated sister Happi and their family are left reeling in the aftermath. As Kezi becomes another immortalized victim in the fight against police brutality, Happi begins to question the idealized way her sister is remembered. Perfect. Angelic.One of the good ones.Even as the phrase rings wrong in her mind—why are only certain people deemed worthy to be missed?—Happi and her sister Genny embark on a journey to honor Kezi in their own way, using an heirloom copy of The Negro Motorist Green Book as their guide. But there’s a twist to Kezi’s story that no one could’ve ever expected—one that will change everything all over again.Praise for the Moulites’ debut novel, Dear Haiti, Love Alaine“I couldn’t put Dear Haiti, Love Alaine down!” —New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory“An enchanting and engrossing novel full of wit and laughter.” —Edwidge Danticat, author of Breath, Eyes, Memory“Remarkable, funny, and whip-smart.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street, National Book Award finalist“Maika and Maritza Moulite have created quite the masterpiece.” —NPR.org“Alaine’s sarcastic quips…are worth the price of admission alone.” —HYPEBAE“A beautiful story from start to finish.” —Buzzfeed