Browse all books

Books released in this month

  • Merle of Nazareth

    Mike Nawrocki, Luke SĂ©guin-Magee

    eBook (Tyndale Kids, April 6, 2021)
    The Dead Sea Squirrels are back! Mike Nawrocki brings his signature humor and storytelling expertise to the newest installment in the beloved series.Merle and Pearl have been squirrelnapped and taken to Israel. Even though Michael, Justin, and Sadie have just started 5th grade, they convince their parents that a trip to Israel will be an educational experience, especially since Michael's mom is a teacher and can help them keep up with their schoolwork. Nazareth is the first stop for Merle and Pearl’s squirrelnapper. The kids are able to track Merle and Pearl to Nazareth, the town where Joseph and Mary lived before the birth of Jesus. Then the squirrels learn that the black-market artifact collector will be moving them to Bethlehem and manage to leave a clue for the kids as to where they are going. Will the kids find Merle and Pearl in time, or will the squirrelnapper get away again?
  • The Great Peach Experiment 1: When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Peach Pie

    Erin Downing

    Hardcover (Pixel+Ink, April 6, 2021)
    The first book in a new middle grade series about a bumbling family of geniuses on a road trip to reconnect.The Peaches are a family of real and true geniuses, looking forward to a summer ya know, math, business, geology. But when it's discovered that one of their mom's inventions from before she passed away has sold, NOW the Peaches are millionaires, too! Dad, instead of blowing it on fun stuff, buys a food truck. He's determined that the Peach family is going to bond, and honor Mom who loved fun and adventure, by traveling around selling peach pies. Which no one knows how to make....
  • Induction

    RaShelle Workman

    language (Polished Pen Press, llc, April 20, 2021)
    The Wolf Blood Academy gave me an ultimatum. Either attend and take my place in the pack or my family suffers the consequences.I played my part and became part of the pack, but it’s all deception. Isn’t it? My friends say I sold out, but Legacy House is where I belong. Until several from my house wind up dead. Determined to find out who’s behind the murders, I uncover secrets that were best left buried, including evidence that suggests someone I care about might be the killer. I don’t know who to trust and I find myself confiding in the unlikeliest ally._________Wolf Blood Academy Series:Iniation (1/2021)Induction (2/2021)Inheritance (3/2021)
  • These Feathered Flames

    Alexandra Overy

    Hardcover (Inkyard Press, April 20, 2021)
    Three Dark Crowns meets Wicked Saints in this queer #ownvoices retelling of “The Firebird,” a Russian folktale, by debut author Alexandra Overy.When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are decided at a young age. While Izaveta remained at court to learn the skills she’d need as the future queen, Asya was taken away to train with her aunt, the mysterious Firebird, who ensured magic remained balanced in the realm.But before Asya’s training is completed, the ancient power blooms inside her, which can mean only one thing: the queen is dead, and a new ruler must be crowned.As the princesses come to understand everything their roles entail, they’ll discover who they can trust, who they can love—and who killed their mother.
  • There Was a Silly Unicorn Who Wanted to Fly

    Ken Geist, Eric Barclay

    Hardcover (Orchard Books, April 6, 2021)
    Follow this silly unicorn who tries all she can to FLY, in this hilarious read-aloud twist on There Was an Old Lady!.There was a silly unicorn who wanted to fly.I don't know why, but she wanted to fly.So she gave it a try...So begins this humorous twist on the beloved rhyme "There Was an Old Lady", following one little unicorn who wants to take flight. Will swallowing a bee help her fly? Or a butterfly? Or an owl? With bouncing, rhyming text that follows a familiar rhythm, an adorable unicorn front-and-center, and a magical rainbow surprise, this charming twist on a classic rhyme is sure to delight young readers!
  • Tag Team

    RaĂşl the Third III

    Hardcover (Versify, April 13, 2021)
    Luchadores El Toro and La Oink Oink are the perfect tag team as they clean up together in this playful and visually stunning early reader! Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie, comic book fans, and kids looking to practice both Spanish and English.
  • Training Day

    RaĂşl the Third III

    Hardcover (Versify, April 13, 2021)
    Readers will fall in love with Raúl the Third’s unique visual style as Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! Perfect for readers of Elephant and Piggie, comic book fans, and kids looking to practice both Spanish and English.
  • Dustborn

    Erin Bowman

    Hardcover (HMH Books for Young Readers, April 20, 2021)
    Delta of Dead River sets out to rescue her family from a ruthless dictator rising to power in the Wastes and discovers a secret that will reshape her world in this postapocalyptic Western mashup for fans of Mad Max and Gunslinger Girl.
  • From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry: The Killing of Vincent Chin and the Trial that Galvanized the Asian American Movement

    Paula Yoo

    eBook (Norton Young Readers, April 6, 2021)
    A groundbreaking portrait of Vincent Chin and the murder case that took America’s Asian American community to the streets in protest of injustice.America in 1982. Japanese car companies are on the rise and believed to be putting American autoworkers out of their jobs. Anti–Asian American sentiments simmer, especially in Detroit. A bar fight turns fatal, leaving Vincent Chin—a Chinese American man—beaten to death at the hands of two white men, autoworker Ronald Ebens and his stepson Michael Nitz.From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry is a searing examination of the killing and the trial and verdicts that followed. When Ebens and Nitz pled guilty to manslaughter and received only a $3,000 fine and three years’ probation, the lenient sentence sparked outrage in the Asian American community. This outrage galvanized the Asian American movement and paved the way for a new federal civil rights trial of the case. Extensively researched from court transcripts and interviews with key case witnesses—many speaking for the first time—Yoo has crafted a suspenseful, nuanced, and authoritative portrait of a pivotal moment in civil rights history, and a man who became a symbol against hatred and racism.
  • Where Secrets Lie

    Eva V. Gibson

    eBook (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, April 20, 2021)
    Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers, this seductive and intense thriller unfolds in interwoven timelines of two summers as three friends are torn apart by buried secrets and star-crossed attraction…then pulled back together by tragedy.Amy Larsen has spent every summer with her cousin Ben and their best friend Teddy in River Run, Kentucky, loving country life and welcoming the break from her intensive ambitions and overbearing mother—until the summer she and Teddy confront the changing feelings and simmering sexual tension growing between them, destroying the threesome’s friendship in a dramatic face-off. One year later, Amy returns to River Run dreading what she might find. But when Teddy’s sister disappears, Amy, Ben, and Teddy agree to put aside their differences to search for her. As they dig deeper into the dark history of their small town, all three friends must unearth the truths that tie their families to tragedy, cope with their own toxic upbringings and beliefs, and atone for the damage done to each other and themselves. Told in two interwoven timelines—the summer where everything changed, and the summer that changes everything—Where Secrets Lie is a seductive thriller as dark as it is enthralling.
  • Robinson Crusoe

    Daniel Defoe, Robert Ingpen

    Hardcover (Palazzo Editions, April 1, 2021)
    The adventures of Robinson Crusoe begin when he leaves his parents’ house in York to search for adventure at sea. This leads to a thrilling tale of pirates, slavery, daring escapes and strange people. But it is when he is shipwrecked on an island after a terrible storm that he faces his greatest test. It is not enough to survive; he must thrive, using all his knowledge and skills. From its first publication in 1719, the adventures of Robinson Crusoe have continued to enthrall and inspire readers of all ages.
    P
  • The Infinity Courts

    Akemi Dawn Bowman

    eBook (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, April 6, 2021)
    Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about a teen girl navigating an afterlife in which she must defeat an AI entity intent on destroying humanity, from award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman.Eighteen-year-old Nami Miyamoto is certain her life is just beginning. She has a great family, just graduated high school, and is on her way to a party where her entire class is waiting for her—including, most importantly, the boy she’s been in love with for years. The only problem? She’s murdered before she gets there. When Nami wakes up, she learns she’s in a place called Infinity, where human consciousness goes when physical bodies die. She quickly discovers that Ophelia, a virtual assistant widely used by humans on Earth, has taken over the afterlife and is now posing as a queen, forcing humans into servitude the way she’d been forced to serve in the real world. Even worse, Ophelia is inching closer and closer to accomplishing her grand plans of eradicating human existence once and for all. As Nami works with a team of rebels to bring down Ophelia and save the humans under her imprisonment, she is forced to reckon with her past, her future, and what it is that truly makes us human. From award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman comes an incisive, action-packed tale that explores big questions about technology, grief, love, and humanity.