Books released in this month

?
Age
-
Grade
PK+

Emmy Kastner

Nerdy Babies: Weather

Board book (May 5, 2020)

Nerdy Babies is a series that will ignite curiosity in even the youngest readers and encourage them to ask questions and explore the world around them.

In Nerdy Babies: Weather, follow our intrepid babies into the eye of the storm. Experience sunshine, wind, rain, and other weather patterns. Plus, learn about how we predict the weather in this simple text written in question and answer format.

With bright artwork by Emmy Kastner, Nerdy Babies is a series that the …

More
?

Morgan Jerkins

Wandering in Strange Lands: A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots

Hardcover (May 12, 2020)

“One of the smartest young writers of her generation.”―Book Riot

From the acclaimed cultural critic and New York Times bestselling author of This Will Be My Undoing―a writer whom Roxane Gay has hailed as “a force to be reckoned with”―comes this powerful story of her journey to understand her northern and southern roots, the Great Migration, and the displacement of black people across America.

Between 1916 and 1970, six million black Americans left their rural homes in the South for …

More
?

John E. Douglas, Mark Olshaker

The Killer Across the Table: Unlocking the Secrets of Serial Killers and Predators with the FBI's Original Mindhunter

Paperback (May 26, 2020)

The legendary FBI criminal profiler, number-one New York Times bestselling author, and inspiration for the hit Netflix show Mindhunter delves deep into the lives and crimes of four of the most disturbing and complex predatory killers, offering never-before-revealed details about his profiling process, and divulging the strategies used to crack some of America’s most challenging cases.

The FBI’s pioneer of criminal profiling, former special agent John Douglas, has studied and interviewed many of America’s most notorious killers—including Charles Manson, ”Son …

More
?

Gene Luen Yang, Gurihiru

Superman Smashes the Klan

Paperback (May 12, 2020)
The year is 1946, and the Lee family has moved from Chinatown to Downtown Metropolis. While Dr. Lee is eager to begin his new position at the Metropolis Health Department, his two kids, Roberta and Tommy, are more excited about being closer to the famous superhero Superman!

Tommy adjusts quickly to the fast pace of their new neighborhood, befriending Jimmy Olsen and joining the club baseball team, while his younger sister Roberta feels out of place when she fails to … More
?

David Sheff, Simon & Schuster Audio

The Buddhist on Death Row: How One Man Found Light in the Darkest Place

Audible Audiobook (May 5, 2020)

The number one New York Times best-selling author of Beautiful Boy explores the transformation of Jarvis Jay Masters, who became one of America's most respected Buddhist practitioners during his two decades in solitary confinement in San Quentin.

Jarvis Jay Masters' early life was a horror story whose outline we know too well. Born in Long Beach, California, his house was filled with crack, alcohol, physical abuse, and men who paid his mother for sex. He and his siblings were split …

More
?
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Coco Simon

A Sprinkle of Friendship

Paperback (May 5, 2020)
Allie and Sierra struggle to run the ice cream shop on their own in this tenth delicious book in the Sprinkle Sundays series from the author of the Cupcake Diaries series and Donut Dreams series!

It’s summertime and everyone wants ice cream! That’s great for business, but with Tamiko on vacation with her family in Japan, that leaves just Allie and Sierra to handle the insanely busy ice cream shop. Trying to cover Tamiko’s job on top of their own … More
?

Sanae Ishida

Animal Friends to Sew: Simple Handmade Decor, Toys, and Gifts for Kids

Paperback (May 5, 2020)
Sew adorable animal-themed projects for kids' room decor, handmade toys, and wearable accessories.

Create beautiful handmade animal friends for the whole family: a darling whale teether, adorable fox baby slippers, stackable animal blocks, a sweet lion throw pillow, or a fuzzy sheep backpack! Perfect for gifting, these one-of-a-kind handmade treasures are sure to be cherished. Inspired by the beautiful simplicity of Japanese and Scandinavian design, these projects will delight the creator as much as the recipient.

15 beginner-friendly projects with … More
?
Age
3-7
Grade
PK-2

Anna Kang, Christopher Weyant

It Is Not Perfect

Hardcover (May 12, 2020)

Two fuzzy creatures are happily putting the finishing touches on their sandcastle when each of them thinks of something that would make it even better. As they work furiously to incorporate each new change, their tiny sandcastle becomes an over-the-top palace…but is it really perfect?

This latest book in the beloved series featuring the pals from Theodor Seuss Geisel Award winner You Are (Not) Small reminds us that perfection is in the eye—and heart—of the beholder.

More
?

Jan Berenstain, Mike Berenstain, Zonderkidz

The Berenstain Bears Very Beary Stories: 3 Books in 1

Audible Audiobook (May 26, 2020)

Now in an audio edition, this collection of Level 1 I Can Read stories from the Berenstain Bears Living Lights library is sure to delight emergent readers and listeners, as well as parents and caregivers looking for trusted characters and stories that teach important life lessons. As they practice early listening skills, children will gain invaluable lessons about sharing, caring, and helping others, all while having a joyful time in Bear Country.

Together for the first time, The Berenstain Bears …

More
?

Tobly McSmith

Stay Gold

eBook (May 26, 2020)

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony just wants to fly under the radar during senior year. Tired from all the attention he got at his old school after coming out as transgender, he’s …

More
?
Age
2-5
Grade
PK-K

Caryad

My Big Wimmelbook―My Busy Day

Board book (May 12, 2020)
Welcome to Wimmelworld—a land of few words, yet endless entertainment—for curious kids age 2 to 5!

In these one-of-a-kind picture books, every page is bursting with life—and tons to discover! Children as young as age 2 have a blast pointing out recognizable things, while older kids can follow the star characters from page to page, telling their stories along the way.

How? Wimmelbooks are virtually instruction-free, inviting kids to make their own way through the busy Wimmelworld they encounter, and … More
V
Age
8-12
Grade
3-7

Michele Weber Hurwitz

Hello from Renn Lake

Hardcover (May 26, 2020)
The environmental activism of Hoot meets the summer friendship of Lemons in this heartfelt story about community, conservation, and standing up for the things you love.

Annalise Oliver's family has owned and run lakeside cabins in Renn Lake, Wisconsin, for generations. This summer, she gets to help out while her younger sister focuses on being an actress and her best friend is babysitting rambunctious twin boys. It's the perfect opportunity for Annalise to work and spend more time by her … More
Find More in Readling App

Find

Scan bar-codes and find more about a book

Browse

Browse and discover "just right" books

Log

Log and track reading progress (app only)

Know

Know reading performance (app only)