Browse all books

Books with author Steve Breen

  • Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    Paperback (Puffin Books, Sept. 13, 2016)
    Violet is a science-loving girl inventor with a flair for the air! Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Rosie Revere, Engineer will love this classic underdog story by two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist Steve Breen.By the time she's two years old, Violet Van Winkle can engineer nearly any appliance in the house. And by eight she's building elaborate flying machines from scratch—mind-boggling contraptions such as the Tubbubbler, the Bicycopter, and the Wing-a-ma-jig. The kids at school tease her, but they have no idea what she's capable of. Maybe she could earn their respect by winning the blue ribbon in the upcoming Air Show. Or maybe something even better will happen—something involving her best-ever invention, a Boy Scout troop in peril, and even the mayor himself!"An engaging story of a spunky girl who follows her dreams . . . Violet is a terrific role model."--School Library Journal
    N
  • Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    Hardcover (Dial Books, March 13, 2008)
    By the time she?s two years old, Violet Van Winkle can fi x nearly any appliance in the house. And by eight she?s building elaborate fl ying machines from scratch?mind-boggling contraptions such as the Tubbubbler, the Bicycopter, and the Wing-a-ma-jig. The kids at school tease her, but they have no idea what she?s capable of. Maybe she could earn their respect by winning the blue ribbon in the upcoming Air Show. Or maybe something even better will happen?something involving her bestever invention, a Boy Scout troop in peril, and even the mayor himself! A classic underdog story full of humor and sweetness and retro pizzazz, Violet the Pilot is both endearing and adorable. It?ll fl y right into your heart.
    K
  • Violet the Pilot

    Steve Breen

    eBook (Dial Books, March 13, 2008)
    By the time she?s two years old, Violet Van Winkle can fi x nearly any appliance in the house. And by eight she?s building elaborate fl ying machines from scratch?mind-boggling contraptions such as the Tubbubbler, the Bicycopter, and the Wing-a-ma-jig. The kids at school tease her, but they have no idea what she?s capable of. Maybe she could earn their respect by winning the blue ribbon in the upcoming Air Show. Or maybe something even better will happen?something involving her bestever invention, a Boy Scout troop in peril, and even the mayor himself! A classic underdog story full of humor and sweetness and retro pizzazz, Violet the Pilot is both endearing and adorable. It?ll fl y right into your heart.
  • Stick

    Steve Breen

    Paperback (Puffin Books, April 2, 2009)
    From the pulitzer prize winning illustrator and the author of Violet the Pilot, this is the story of Stick, a frog about to have a BIG adventure.Stick is a frog who likes to do things on his own—with no help from Mom. But one day he gets carried away . . . literally. His tongue accidentally sticks to a dragonfly, and off he's pulled across the swamp and into the big city of New Orleans, causing havoc along the way. When he finds himself stranded at the seashore, will he finally be ready to ask for help?"A fun, filled-with-thrills romp."--School Library Journal
    WB
  • Woodpecker Wants a Waffle

    Steve Breen

    Hardcover (HarperCollins, June 14, 2016)
    One day Benny the woodpecker awakens to the best tummy-rumbling smell ever and discovers it’s something called waffles. He must taste them!He pecks on the door of the waffle house, but he gets the boot.He tries to sneak in, but he gets swept away.Each time Benny tries, he just can’t seem to get to those delicious waffles. The other forest animals laugh at him: “Woodpeckers don’t eat waffles!” they say. But Benny has a brilliant plan. . . .Steve Breen has created a delightful picture book with pitch-perfect humor and tons of visual gags that will keep readers coming back for more! Now a Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of 2016!
    F
  • Stick

    Steve Breen

    eBook (Dial Books, March 1, 2007)
    From the pulitzer prize winning illustrator and the author of Violet the Pilot, this is the story of Stick, a frog about to have a BIG adventure.Stick is a frog who likes to do things on his own—with no help from Mom. But one day he gets carried away . . . literally. His tongue accidentally sticks to a dragonfly, and off he's pulled across the swamp and into the big city of New Orleans, causing havoc along the way. When he finds himself stranded at the seashore, will he finally be ready to ask for help?"A fun, filled-with-thrills romp."--School Library Journal
  • Stick

    Steve Breen

    Hardcover (Dial, March 1, 2007)
    After stretching out his sticky tongue to grab hold of a passing dragonfly and ending up airborne, Stick the frog finds himself on a wild journey that takes him to the big city of New Orleans, and so he now must look for help from the locals to get him back home where he belongs.
    H
  • Woodpecker Wants a Waffle

    Steve Breen

    language (HarperCollins, June 14, 2016)
    One day Benny the woodpecker awakens to the best tummy-rumbling smell ever and discovers it’s something called waffles. He must taste them!He pecks on the door of the waffle house, but he gets the boot.He tries to sneak in, but he gets swept away.Each time Benny tries, he just can’t seem to get to those delicious waffles. The other forest animals laugh at him: “Woodpeckers don’t eat waffles!” they say. But Benny has a brilliant plan. . . .Steve Breen has created a delightful picture book with pitch-perfect humor and tons of visual gags that will keep readers coming back for more! Now a Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of 2016!
  • The Secret of Santa's Island

    Steve Breen

    Hardcover (Dial Books, Oct. 1, 2009)
    How do Santa and the elves relax after they've delivered all of the Christmas Eve gifts? When Sam McGuffin hears the sound of reindeer hooves on Christmas Eve, he can?t resist sneaking out the window and into the back of Santa?s sleigh. He wants to see what the North Pole is really like. But the sleigh isn?t headed to the North Pole that night. It?s destined for Santa?s Island, a top-secret, out-of-this-world vacation paradise. And now Sam is about to receive the ultimate gift from Santa?a day of unforgettable amusements with Santa and his elves?all because he?ll say something to Santa that no other kid has ever thought to utter: ?Thank you.?
    K
  • A Perfect Mess

    Steve Breen

    Hardcover (Dial Books, Aug. 23, 2016)
    Readers who love Olivia and Little Elliot, Big City will fall head over heels for this sweet little rhino who always makes a big mess Henry McHenry is one messy rhino, but he tries his best to stay clean for a very important day. He jumps over a mud puddle (and splashes his friend), passes on a gooey jelly donut (just in time for a glob to land on his neighbor), and even manages to shake the ink from his leaky pen (all over his classmates). And while Henry is still neat and tidy at the end of the day, his classmates are anything but . . . This irresistible school story from Pulitzer Prize–winning cartoonist Steve Breen is all about finding happiness in imperfections and being yourself . . . especially on class picture day!
    K
  • Stick

    Steve Breen

    Library Binding (Paw Prints 2009-07-10, April 9, 2009)
    Stick is a frog who likes to do things on his own? with no help from Mom. But one day he gets carried away . . . literally. His tongue accidentally sticks to a dragonfly, and off he?s pulled across the swamp and into the big city of New Orleans, causing havoc along the way. When he finds himself stranded at the seashore, will he finally be ready to ask for help?
  • Pug and Doug

    Steve Breen

    Hardcover (Dial Books, Jan. 10, 2013)
    Step aside, Bert and Ernie, the new odd couple is here! Pug and Doug are best friends. They both love doughnuts, bird watching, and polka music. They are also very different. Doug has a big imagination. Pug…not so much. When a misunderstanding between the friends hurts Doug’s feelings, Pug must find a way to set things right. This charming and hilarious odd-couple friendship story is perfect for best buddies who usually, but don’t always, see eye-to-eye.
    K