Browse all books

Books with author Richard O. Smith

  • The World Beneath: The Life and Times of Unknown Sea Creatures and Coral Reefs

    Richard Smith

    eBook (Apollo Publishers, Sept. 10, 2019)
    Meet the world's most fascinating sea creatures—see the lives and curiosities of colorful fish and coral reefs—this spectacular volume has more than 300 color photos and extraordinary text from a leading marine biologist and underwater photographer, and the international expert on seahorses.In this richly informative volume, brimming with new discoveries and more than three hundred colorful images of jaw-dropping fish and coral reefs, you'll swim in the Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian Oceans; you'll be dazzled in the Coral Triangle and amazed in Triton Bay. Up close you'll meet the Cenderawasih fairy wrasse, with its florescent yellow streak; the polka-dot longnose filefish; and the multicolored seadragon. There are scarlet-colored corals, baby-blue sponges, daffodil crinoids, and all sorts of mystifying creatures that change color at the drop of a hat. The whale shark is almost larger than life and the author's beloved pygmy seahorse, unless photographed, is almost too tiny to see.The wondrous creatures inside are charmers and tricksters and excel in the arts of seduction and deception, and you'll have the rare chance to see and delight in their antics. You'll also learn what they eat, how they play, and how they care for one another, live on one another, and mimic others when they're afraid. There is also compelling insight into the naming process, which sea creatures are facing extinction, and how we can help them before it's too late.
  • The World Beneath: The Life and Times of Unknown Sea Creatures and Coral Reefs

    Dr. Richard Smith

    Hardcover (Apollo Publishers, Sept. 10, 2019)
    Meet the world's most fascinating sea creatures—see the lives and curiosities of colorful fish and coral reefs—this spectacular volume has more than 300 color photos and extraordinary text from a leading marine biologist and underwater photographer, and an international expert on seahorses. In this richly informative volume, brimming with new discoveries and more than three hundred colorful images of jaw-dropping fish and coral reefs, you'll swim in the Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian Oceans; you'll be dazzled in the Coral Triangle and amazed in Triton Bay. Up close you'll meet the Cenderawasih fairy wrasse, with its florescent yellow streak; the polka-dot longnose filefish; and the multicolored seadragon. There are scarlet-colored corals, baby-blue sponges, daffodil crinoids, and all sorts of mystifying creatures that change color at the drop of a hat. The whale shark is almost larger than life and the author's beloved pygmy seahorse, unless photographed, is almost too tiny to see. The wondrous creatures inside are charmers and tricksters and excel in the arts of seduction and deception, and you'll have the rare chance to see and delight in their antics. You'll also learn what they eat, how they play, and how they care for one another, live on one another, and mimic others when they're afraid. There is also compelling insight into the naming process, which sea creatures are facing extinction, and how we can help them before it's too late.
  • CARNIVORE

    Richard Smith

    language (Richard Smith, Aug. 6, 2015)
    A popular fossil field in Arizona has been visited by hundreds of Paleontology students from all over the world for more than half a century. Now, the state of Arizona, utilizing its National Guard, has locked down the area, prohibiting access to the sight.The locals have heard rumors about the strange thing discovered in the field, and how six students from the University of Arizona have gone missing. They also heard that one of the students escaped and spoke of seeing a creature that has been extinct for over 65 million years.Nineteen year old David Baker had one goal in life now. He was determined to get back to the field and save his friends.
  • The Unbeatables

    Richard O. Smith

    eBook (Signal Books, Jan. 19, 2015)
    Shy boy Amadeo reigns supreme at table football in his local café. Taking on all comers he is one of “the unbeatables” with his loyal team of tiny foosballers. But there’s another “unbeatable” in town. Aggrieved by his only ever defeat at the hands of Amadeo in a foosball match when they were kids, Flash the town bully returns to seek revenge. Not only does he destroy the foosball table, but he challenges Amadeo to a game of actual football. Amadeo has never played real football - and Flash, with his insatiable quest for glory, has subsequently risen to become the world’s most famous soccer star. With the future of the village at stake and his foosballers scattered, the situation looks hopeless for Amadeo. Unless he can recruit the help of his eccentric fellow villagers and the girl he loves, Lara, to take on the world’s best football team captained by his nemesis Flash. And unless the foossballers can be reunited. “It’ll be like Barcelona against a non-league team with an injury crisis,” predicts Lara. What nobody predicts, however, is how Amadeo’s foosballers will affect the game… The Unbeatables novel is the ultimate fantasy football story. Expanding upon the original movie, the novel includes additional adventures and characters. Written for young adults (and not so young adults), the book is a scintillating, action-packed 90 minutes of end-to-end incident, comedic flair, goalmouth scrambles and dubious off the ball challenges on the ethos of the modern game. Praise for The Unbeatables: “The witty dialogue and banter makes for some very funny moments, while the digs at the excesses of modern footballers will ring true to followers of the Beautiful Game.” - Radio Times“The Unbeatables is great fun for young and old.” - Daily Express“Nice jokes at the expense of FIFA, overpaid prima donna footballers and slimy agents.” - Daily Mail“Lively and consistently funny.” - Irish Times“An utterly charming gem. Deft one-liners. Back of the net!” - Irish Independent
  • The Darziods' Stone

    Richard Smith

    language (Rukia Publishing, March 31, 2017)
    If you like the Tunnels Series by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams then take a look at this...A special stone hidden in a quiet cove in Cornwall more than 200 years ago, is the object of a desperate search by two opposing factions. When Harry and his school friends discover a code whilst holidaying in the cove, they assume it will lead them to hidden treasure. But dark forces, with seemingly supernatural powers, are working against them. The teenagers soon find themselves caught up in a deadly battle, and will be lucky to escape with their lives, let alone get their hands on the treasure.
  • A Sweet, Wild Note: What We Hear When the Birds Sing

    Richard Smyth

    eBook (Elliott & Thompson, April 13, 2017)
    A Guardian ‘Readers’ Choice’ Best Book of 2017Birdsong is woven into our culture, our emotions, our landscape; it is the soundtrack to our world. We have tried to capture this fleeting, ephemeral beauty, and the feelings it inspires, for millennia.In this fascinating account, Richard Smyth asks what it is about birdsong that we so love. Exploring the myriad ways in which it has influenced literature, music, science and our very ideas of what it means to be British, Smyth’s nuanced investigation shows that what we hear says as much about us, our dreams and desires, as it does about the birds and their songs.At a time when our birdsong is growing quieter, with fewer voices, more thinly spread, A Sweet, Wild Note is a celebration of the complex relationships between birds, people and the land; it is also a passionate call to arms lest our trees and hedgerows fall silent.
  • The Shark's Window

    Richard Smith

    language (, Sept. 7, 2015)
    The old aquarium had been abandoned for years, but Beverly, Pete and Butch knew that something sinister still lurked in the huge, waterless tank. They had heard stories for years, and now the three 15 year olds were determined to uncover the truth about the legend of the ghost shark."The Shark's Window," is a fast paced story about three curious teens who discover much more than they bargained for in the quest to solve a local mystery. Spanish treasure, hidden temples, ghosts and gangsters combine in a story that ultimately leads the three teens deeper and deeper into a dangerous web of suspense and intrigue.
  • Second Sight

    Richard Smith

    language (, April 7, 2018)
    September 1940, and the world is at war. Britain stands alone, and the fate of the world might just rest on the actions of one girl, Emily Cartwright. In tragic circumstances Emily discovers that she has the power to see the future. Sensing danger, her father sends her away to Exeter, hoping to keep her from the clutches of those he fears would use her abilities for ill - be they the Nazis or even the British government.Emily soon discovers that Exeter is a city full of mysteries of its own; Unexplained disappearances, an innocent man wrongly imprisoned, and a strange series of underground passages. Together with her friend Jack, she begins to investigate the murder of a local girl when they stumble upon a dark secret that puts their lives at risk.Second Sight is a thrilling, heart-stopping page turner which will leave you breathless. Fans of Philip Pullman, Markus Zusak and Suzanne Collins will love this book.
  • IB Design Technology Standard & Higher Level

    Richard Smith

    Spiral-bound (OSC Publishing, Aug. 22, 2011)
    IB Design Technology Standard & Higher Level
  • The Unbeatables

    Richard O. Smith

    Paperback (Not Avail, )
    None
  • The Cheeky Monkey

    Richard Smith

    eBook (Austin Macauley Publishers Ltd, June 18, 2018)
    So you think you’re a cheeky monkey? Have a look at this book and see if you’re really cheeky or not!
  • Fuzzy Jones and the Great Pumpkin Deliverance

    Richard Smith

    eBook
    The citizens of Winklethorpe are in terrible danger. Young scientist and inventor, Fuzzy Jones, has tried to warn them but who listens to kids? Scorned by all but a few trusty friends, Fuzzy crafts an audaciously cunning plan. With the clock ticking, can he and his friends complete the great pumpkin deliverance, saving the villagers from certain doom?For fans of classic children's adventure stories, this uproarious tale will make you laugh until you cry - or at least giggle a bit - as Fuzzy bumbles his way through one ridiculous adventure after another.