Browse all books

Books with author Margaret McNamara

  • The Three Little Aliens and the Big Bad Robot

    Margaret McNamara, Mark Fearing

    Board book (Schwartz & Wade, Aug. 7, 2018)
    A solar system adventure with Aliens and robots!GREEP BOINK MEEP! The three little aliens are happily settling into their new homes when the Big Bad Robot flies in to crack and smack and whack their houses down! A chase across the solar system follows in this out-of-this-world version of the classic Three Little Pigs tale. Margaret McNamara (How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin?) and Mark Fearing (The Book that Eats People) have created a humorous and visually stunning story that kids will adore--and that will introduce them to the planets and the solar system. And with an abridged text, this board book version is perfect for even the youngest readers.
    M
  • First-Grade Bunny

    Margaret McNamara, Mike Gordon

    Paperback (Simon Spotlight, Feb. 1, 2005)
    New readers will love this sweet tail about a bunny joining Mrs. Connor's classroom!A visitor is coming to Mrs. Connor's class—a bunny! Her name is Sparky and everyone wants to take care of her. Except for Reza. He doesn't want to admit it, but he's afraid of bunnies. So Mrs. Connor gives him a special job, and Reza begins to realize that maybe bunnies aren't so scary after all.
    L
  • The Apple Orchard Riddle

    Margaret McNamara, G. Brian Karas

    Hardcover (Schwartz & Wade, July 9, 2013)
    Mr. Tiffin and his students from the perenially popular How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin? are back in this picture book about a school trip to an apple orchard! In this playful, humorous, and child-friendly classroom story, the students learn a lot about apples and apple orchards—including how apples are harvested, how cider is made, and what the different varieties of apples are—while trying to solve a riddle. The book also celebrates how some children learn differently than others. Margaret McNamara and illustrator G. Brian Karas bring us another fun and educational picture book.
    M
  • The Three Little Aliens and the Big Bad Robot

    Margaret McNamara, Mark Fearing

    eBook (Schwartz & Wade, Sept. 27, 2011)
    Introduce kids to the planets and solar system in this fractured fairy tale retelling of the classic The Three Little Pigs. Parents and children alike will adore this out-of-this-world story, which is set in outer space!GREEP BOINK MEEP! The three little aliens are happily settling into their new homes when the Big Bad Robot flies in to crack and smack and whack their houses down! A chase across the solar system follows in this humorous and visually stunning book from Margaret McNamara (How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin?) and Mark Fearing (The Book that Eats People). The endpapers even include a labeled diagram of all the planets.
    M
  • The Fairy Bell Sisters #3: Golden at the Fancy-Dress Party

    Margaret McNamara, Julia Denos

    Paperback (Balzer + Bray, Sept. 3, 2013)
    For fans of Rainbow Magic Fairies and Disney Fairies comes the third book in the Fairy Bell Sisters, a magical and utterly charming chapter-book series about Tinker Bell's little sisters, by Margaret McNamara.In Golden at the Fancy-Dress Party, Goldie travels to the mainland for Queen Titania's annual fancy-dress competition. But the mainland is so different from Sheepskerry Island—her host fairies are rather unfriendly and even play a mean trick on Goldie when they realize she has trouble reading. And Goldie feels out of place without her sisters by her side. She will have to use her creativity and quick thinking to turn the party from disaster to success.Julia Denos once again graces this delightful text with her girly and energetic illustrations.
    N
  • The Fairy Bell Sisters: Lily and the Fancy-dress Party

    Margaret McNamara

    Paperback (HarperCollins Children's Books, Aug. 1, 2013)
    Paperback.Pub Date:2013-08-01 Pages:144 Language: Publisher:HarperCollins UK Do you believe in fairies Join Tinker Bells sisters on a magical adventure.Inspired by Tinker Bell. from the book Peter Pan. by J. M. BarrieBefore Tinker Bell flew to Never Land and met Peter Pan she lived on Sheepskerry Island with her fairy sisters Clara. Lily. Rosie. Silver and Squeak the baby. The young fairies go to fairy school and love tea parties. dressing up and exciting adventures.Lilys dressing-up dreams have come true shes going to Queen Titanias annual fancy-dress competition. Shes always dreamed of meeting the fashionable town fairies on the mainland. and nows her chance!But not everywhere is like Sheepskerry Island. and some fairies are less friendly than others. Without its ehrs Fairy Bell sisters to help its ehrs. Lily 's adventure spells trouble. How can she turn a dressing up the ...
  • A Poem in Your Pocket

    Margaret McNamara, G. Brian Karas

    Hardcover (Schwartz & Wade, Jan. 27, 2015)
    Usher in National Poetry Month with Mr. Tiffin and his students, stars of the hugely popular How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin? and The Apple Orchard Riddle. Once again, Margaret McNamara sets her playful, child-friendly story in the classroom, and this time, poetry—from metaphors to acrostics to haiku—is the name of the game. The focus here is on Elinor, whose confidence falters as she tries to write something "perfect" for Poem in Your Pocket Day and impress a visiting poet. G. Brian Karas's accessible, adorable illustrations add to the fun.Includes a list of Mr. Tiffin's tips for celebrating Poem in Your Pocket Day."A nimble introduction to poetry as well as a sensitive look at the perils of perfectionism." —The New York Times"Pair this book with the works of Shel Silverstein, Paul B. Janeczko, Jack Prelutsky, Douglas Florian, or Robert Louis Stevenson." —School Library Journal, Starred
    N
  • Fall Leaf Project

    Margaret McNamara, Mike Gordon

    Paperback (Simon Spotlight, Oct. 1, 2006)
    The first-graders of Robin Hill School love to look at all the different fall leaves. When they hear that in some states the leaves don't change color, they come up with a plan to share fall with other first-graders.
    H
  • The Garden Project

    Margaret McNamara, Mike Gordon

    Paperback (Simon Spotlight, June 22, 2010)
    The kids in Mrs. Connor’s class decide to turn an old sandbox into a garden filled with yummy vegetables. But not everyone is excited about the garden—or the veggies. Can the class convince Neil to join in the fun and taste the delicious treats that finally grow?
    I
  • The Three Little Aliens and the Big Bad Robot

    Margaret McNamara, Mark Fearing

    Paperback
    paperback book
    M
  • The Fairy Bell Sisters #2: Rosy and the Secret Friend

    Margaret McNamara, Julia Denos

    Paperback (Balzer + Bray, April 23, 2013)
    Margaret McNamara tells the stories of Tinker Bell’s little sisters in her charming chapter-book series, the Fairy Bell Sisters. Readers of the Disney Fairies and Rainbow Fairies series will adore these magical fairy tales.In the second book in the series, Rosy and the Secret Friend, it’s summertime, and the island cottages are taken over by the Summer People. The fairies are supposed to stay in hiding, away from the big, scary humans. But one Summer Child, Louisa, is sick and lonely. Kindhearted Rosy knows just what to do to make her feel better. Soon Rosy and Louisa are secret friends! How can Rosy keep such a big secret from her very own sisters?Whimsical illustrations by Julia Denos make these books a magical read.
    O
  • The Pumpkin Patch

    Margaret McNamara, Mike Gordon

    Paperback (Simon Spotlight, Sept. 1, 2003)
    Level 1: Starting to Read • Simple stories • Increased vocabulary • Longer sentences Mrs. Connor's first-grade class is going on a field trip! They're headed to the pumpkin patch to pick out pumpkins. Katie dreams of finding the perfect pumpkin. But the one she chooses isn't perfect at all. It's too small! But then her father shows her that wonderful things often come in small packages.
    I