Browse all books

Books with author Margaret Atwood

  • The Handmaid's Tale

    Margaret Eleanor Atwood

    Paperback (Vintage Books, June 1, 1996)
    The Republic of Gilead offers Offred only one function: to breed. If she deviates, she will, like dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire - neither Offred's nor that of the two men on which her future hangs...
  • Princess Prunella and The Purple Peanut --2002 publication.

    atwood-margaret

    Hardcover (Key Porter Books,2002, )
    None
  • Oryx and Crake

    Margaret Atwood

    Hardcover (Random House Large Print, May 6, 2003)
    A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker PrizeMargaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.
  • The Handmaid's Tale

    Margaret Atwood

    School & Library Binding (Turtleback Books, March 16, 1998)
    FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. A look at the near future presents the story of Offred, a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead, once the United States, an oppressive world where women are no longer allowed to read and are valued only as long as they are viable for reproduction.
  • The Handmaid's Tale

    Margaret Atwood

    Paperback (Anchor / Random House, Jan. 1, 1998)
    The Handmaid's Tale by Atwood,Margaret. [1998] Paperback
  • The Handmaid's Tale

    MargaretAtwood

    Paperback (AnchorBooks, March 31, 1998)
    Title: The Handmaid's Tale <>Binding: Paperback <>Author: MargaretAtwood <>Publisher: AnchorBooks
  • Handmaid's Tale

    Margaret Atwood

    Paperback (Ballantine Books, Aug. 27, 1996)
    "Splendid."NEWSWEEKIt is the world of the near future, and Offred is a Handmaid in the home of the Commander and his wife. She is allowed out once a day to the food market, she is not permitted to read, and she is hoping the Commander makes her pregnant, because she is only valued if her ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she was an independent woman, had a job of her own, a husband and child. But all of that is gone now...everything has changed."Deserves the highest praise."SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE From the Paperback edition.
  • The Penelopiad: The Myth of Penelope and Odysseus

    Margaret Atwood

    Hardcover (Canongate Books, Aug. 16, 2005)
    The Penelopiad : the Myth of Penelope and Odysseus
  • The Handmaid's Tale

    Margaret Atwood

    Hardcover (The Folio Society, Jan. 1, 2012)
    New in publisher's shrinkwrap
  • Alias Grace by Atwood, Margaret

    Margaret Atwood

    Paperback (Virago, March 15, 1800)
    Will be shipped from US. Used books may not include companion materials, may have some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include CDs or access codes. 100% money back guarantee.
  • The Handmaid's Tale

    Margaret Atwood

    Paperback (McClelland & Stewart, Jan. 1, 1999)
    Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now...
  • Oryx and Crake

    Margaret Atwood

    Audio CD (Books on Tape, May 6, 2003)
    A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker PrizeMargaret Atwood€™s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative sh