Browse all books

Books with author DAVID SOLOMON

  • My Brother Is a Superhero

    David Solomons

    Paperback (Puffin Books, June 27, 2017)
    The award-winning #1 international bestseller that's perfect for fans of The Last Kids on Earth and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Luke Parker was just your average comic book fan until his boring, teacher’s pet, helps-old-ladies-across-the-street brother Zack got turned into a superhero. Luke can’t believe the unfairness of it all—he’s the one with the encyclopedic knowledge of everything from Ant-Man to Wolverine! At least he can help Zack—aka Star Guy—with all the important parts of becoming a superhero, like using his newfound powers and deciding whether or not to wear a cape. But when Star Guy gets into super-size trouble, it’s up to Luke—and his intrepid neighbor, Lara—to rescue his big brother and, with a little luck, help him save the world.* “A non-stop action-packed, laugh-out-loud winner of a story.” —School Library Journal, starred review“A loving tribute to the genre consumed with capes, masks, supervillains, and great responsibility.” —Kirkus Reviews"Readers will enjoy the deadpan narration that reveals the unexpected difficulties of being a modern-day superhero.” —Publishers Weekly
    S
  • My Cousin Is a Time Traveller

    David Solomons

    Paperback (Nosy Crow Ltd, June 27, 2019)
    Luke is surprised to learn that his cousin is a time traveller. He s even more surprised when she tells him that the machines are becoming intelligent and he must help her stop them taking over the world. It couldn t come at a worse time Zack has decided to give up his superpowers and live life as a normal teenage nerd. So Luke must swallow his irritation and rise to the challenge yet again ...My Cousin is a Time Traveller is the fifth instalment of Luke's laugh-out-loud adventures. From the author of My Brother Is a Superhero, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and the British Book Industry Awards Children's Book of the Year."[David Solomons] represents the best in contemporary comic writing for children." - The Guardian
  • My Gym Teacher Is an Alien Overlord

    David Solomons

    Paperback (Puffin Books, June 27, 2017)
    Luke may not have superpowers but that's not going to stop him from trying to save the world in the sequel to internationally bestselling My Brother Is a Superhero! When Luke's annoying older brother became a superhero instead of him, Luke thought he couldn't get any more disgruntled-- until his friend Lara became a superhero, too. Now Luke's feeling totally left out; even his best friend gets mad at him when Luke's attempts at crime-solving without superpowers go terribly awry. So when Luke discovers an alien plot to overthrow the world, he's got nobody to turn to who'll listen...nobody but his sworn enemy. In this hilarious sequel to My Brother is a Superhero, Luke will have to put on his big-boy Daredevil underpants and find out what heroes and villains are truly made of.Perfect for fans of The Last Kids on Earth and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. "In a slightly meta and very funny turn, Luke takes advantage of them: his encyclopedic knowledge of comic books gives him a strategic edge over the ETs. Wildly funny." —Kirkus Reviews
    S
  • My Gym Teacher Is an Alien Overlord

    David Solomons

    eBook (Viking Books for Young Readers, July 19, 2016)
    When Luke's annoying older brother became a superhero instead of him, Luke thought he couldn't get any more disgruntled-- until his friend Lara became a superhero, too. Now Luke's feeling totally left out; even his best friend gets mad at him when Luke's attempts at crime-solving without superpowers go terribly awry. So when Luke discovers an alien plot to overthrow the world, he's got nobody to turn to who'll listen...nobody but his sworn enemy. In this hilarious sequel to My Brother is a Superhero, Luke will have to put on his big-boy Daredevil underpants and find out what heroes and villains are truly made of.
  • My Arch Enemy Is a Brain in a Jar

    David Solomons

    eBook (Nosy Crow, )
    None
  • Penguins!

    David Salomon

    Paperback (Random House Books for Young Readers, Oct. 10, 2017)
    Penguin lovers and young nonfiction fans will enjoy following one penguin couple through their efforts to raise a family of chicks in this engaging Step into Reading Science Reader.Did you know that penguins have feathers but don’t fly? Or that their eggs are guarded by the daddy penguin? Or that they dive in the ocean for their food? Discover these facts and more, along with brilliant photographs of chinstrap penguins in Antarctica, in this captivating nonfiction leveled reader. These unusual birds will waddle into children’s hearts while they decode the simple text. Great for confident or reluctant readers. Step 2 Readers use basic vocabulary and short sentences to tell simple stories. For children who recognize familiar words and can sound out new words with help.“The Step into Reading series makes integrating reading into the curriculum so much easier. The nonfiction titles are perfect for teaching reading and language arts skills, while covering science and social studies content simultaneously!” —Lisa Laake, second-grade Language Arts teacher
    L
  • My Brother Is a Superhero

    David Solomons

    Hardcover (Viking Books for Young Readers, July 21, 2015)
    Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime Book Box – a children’s subscription that inspires a love of reading.Behind every great superhero is a very angry younger brother.Luke Parker was just your average comic book fan until his boring, teacher’s pet, helps-old-ladies-across-the-street brother Zack got turned into a superhero. Luke can’t believe the unfairness of it all—he’s the one with the encyclopedic knowledge of everything from Ant-Man to Wolverine! At least he can help Zack—aka Star Guy—with all the important parts of becoming a superhero, like using his newfound powers and deciding whether or not to wear a cape.But when Star Guy gets into super-size trouble, it’s up to Luke—and his intrepid neighbor, Lara—to rescue his big brother and, with a little luck, help him save the world.
    S
  • My Arch-Enemy Is a Brain In a Jar

    David Solomons

    Paperback (Nosy Crow Ltd GBS TBS, March 15, 2018)
    New
  • My Evil Twin Is a Supervillain: By the winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize

    David Solomons

    Paperback (Nosy Crow Ltd, March 15, 2017)
    When Luke is confronted with Stellar, his superpowered twin from another dimension, he is highly suspicious. No one travels through time and space without a plan, and that plan is usually EVIL. So what does Stellar want? And why is he so UNBELIEVABLY IRRITATING? From his superhero hair to his rocket-powered shoes, Stellar is up to no good, and Luke must BRING HIM DOWN! 'My Evil Twin Is a Supervillain' is the third instalment of Luke's laugh-out-loud adventures. From the author of 'My Brother Is a Superhero', winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and the British Book Industry Awards Children's Book of the Year.
  • Doctor Who: The Maze of Death

    David Solomons

    Paperback (BBC Children's Books, Nov. 7, 2019)
    None
    Q
  • My Brother is a Superhero

    David Solomons

    eBook (Nosy Crow, July 2, 2015)
    Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2016Luke is a comic-mad eleven-year old who shares a treehouse with his geeky older brother, Zack. Luke's only mistake is to go for a wee right at the wrong time. While he's gone, an alien gives his undeserving, never-read-a-comic-in-his-life brother superpowers and then tells him to save the universe. Luke is massively annoyed about this, but when Zack is kidnapped by his arch-nemesis, Luke and his friends have only five days to find him and save the world...
  • Penguins!

    David Salomon

    eBook (Random House Books for Young Readers, Oct. 10, 2017)
    Penguin lovers and young nonfiction fans will enjoy following one penguin couple through their efforts to raise a family of chicks in this engaging Step into Reading Science Reader.Did you know that penguins have feathers but don’t fly? Or that their eggs are guarded by the daddy penguin? Or that they dive in the ocean for their food? Discover these facts and more, along with brilliant photographs of chinstrap penguins in Antarctica, in this captivating nonfiction leveled reader. These unusual birds will waddle into children’s hearts while they decode the simple text. Great for confident or reluctant readers. Step 2 Readers use basic vocabulary and short sentences to tell simple stories. For children who recognize familiar words and can sound out new words with help.“The Step into Reading series makes integrating reading into the curriculum so much easier. The nonfiction titles are perfect for teaching reading and language arts skills, while covering science and social studies content simultaneously!” —Lisa Laake, second-grade Language Arts teacher
    L